We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Tavern in the Square - CLOSED

Tavern in the Square
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We enjoyed our meals. Nice atmosphere. Waiter was very helpful to the group. It was a beautiful day so the doors were all open and a breeze was coming through the restaurant

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WeLoveLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2018

This place has gone downhill at a rapid speed, we went in last weekend after not having gone in a while, and it was just terrible, pizza that had this gross dry sauce, menu advertised "sweet pizza", no it was not. Server was out to lunch and forgot to put in the order for the French fries, it's just not the place it used to be, we will NOT be going back, it may do well w/ the tourists in Salem during Fall, but that's about it, unreal.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Booked after wedding party eight months in advance. Talked with manager, Megan, when we arrived nothing was ready for us!! A hundred people with no seats, food or drinks and no managers to help!! Very disappointed...

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank nazzaro15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We stumbled upon Tavern in the Square one Saturday afternoon. We noticed the tables “inside”, but the big windows were open. It was a beautiful day so we decided to try it. I had a nice crispy fish sandwich and my husband had an ample eggplant sandwich, from their large menu. We loved sitting outside without really being outside. Our food was very good and our waitress was very attentive. A nice meal and great ambiance.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JanetandRon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Stopped here for lunch whilst on a day trip from Boston. All four of us ordered the fish and chips and were very pleased we did. The chips were nice, however the fish was really great. Not many in the restaurant, however the staff were very pleasant. If the other food was as good as the meals we had, then you will be very happy

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JimMDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing