We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The amazing and dedicated mixology-master of Hotel Congress” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Historic Hotel Congress

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Historic Hotel Congress
Ranked #52 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The amazing and dedicated mixology-master of Hotel Congress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have been to Hotel Congress several times and Barbara has not only been unfailingly gracious to me ever time I've been in there. On one particular occasion, when she asked me how I liked her Cosmo, I did admit that it was too sweet for my taste. The next drink was PERFECT. We ended up having a great conversation about the differences in various drinks, and I had myself a great time. Even when it's been at its busiest, Barb has gone out of her way, even backed up five deep at the bar, to catch her customers' eyes and make sure they knew she would be with them as soon as humanly possible.

Barb is part of the heart and spirit not only of Hotel Congress, but the whole downtown scene. If she weren't there, it wouldn't be either the same, or as much fun.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    87
    32
    16
    23
See reviews for
23
93
40
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I live in Tucson and hadn't visited Congres in several years because of a bad experience I had with a bartender there. However, thru the urging of some friends I decided to give it a go again this past Monday. Barb was my bartender and I have to say the service was extraordinary!! She makes the BEST lemmon drop martinis!! The music was awesome and we all had the best time! My experience this time by far surpassed the bad experience I have had in the past. I will be returning and bringing my friends with me! I hope Barb is working again because I loved the service with a smile!! Thanks again Congress!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I just spent a week at the Hotel Congress and wish every hotel was this neat. And I mean NEAT! Clean and Hip! I am a normally anxious 45 year old female traveler and I felt very comfortable and safe there. The staff was personal, professional, fun and accommodating. As far as the details go: The rooms have a ceiling fan and a window you can open for fresh air. All the rooms are on the second floor reached from a grand staircase, so there's no waiting for or riding on elevators. I loved the quality old fashioned furnishings and found the bed to be very comfortable. There are a few bottles of free water in your room when you arrive and between the wonderful Cup Cafe, the Tap Room and the lobby bar, you can always get any food or drink you may need. It felt like a bed and breakfast but with privacy. If you want a "luxury" hotel with stupid television, mass produced decor and overdone bedding than this is not the hotel for you, but if you like eclectic and efficient comfort then you won't find better!

Room Tip: Call ahead and talk to the staff to select a room that is best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

In the month of January, My friend and I went to Hotel Congress on a Thursday night. I never had a negative experience at this location until this one night. A particular bartender, Barabra, gave me the most disrespectful, stubborn, rude, customer service ever! Never in my 24 years of life I've ever experienced that.

When I first arrived, I ordered myself a $7 dollar drink. Later that night, my friend asked me to order her a drink, so then she gave me the money for her order. I went to the same bartender, barbara. She noticed my presents because I was clearly in her view. There were two orders before me so I patiently waited until i realzed she started picking up other people orders who arrived after me. I started to think she wasn't realizing my presents, so i made a gesture and continued waiting. A lady came up by my side who was about to say her order until i immediatly interupted her and said " wait, i have been waiting for you( barbara) to take my order." Finally, barbara awknowledge me with a comment " i know your waiting, i'll evetually get to you." Then she proceeded to take the lady order. This young lady didn't understand why she(barbara) was treating me like this and offered to order my drink. I declined and decided to talk to management, however, the owner was busy.

Her actions and words killed my night, and my motivation to hang out there anymore. She treated me like crap, and with no sense of equality. My friend assumed it was because I didn't leave a tip for her.

This made me think, even though i didn't leave a tip for Barbara that night, she should know better that she REPRESENTS Hotel Congress and CUSTOMER SERVICE should be priority, unfortunatly not. I would not want to have someone work in my business who lost the genuine value of hospitality.

The owner of hotel congress responded to my voicemail the next day, he just apologized, would handle the sitution with Barbara internally and felt the need to "make-it-up." However, I declined his "make-it-up" offer because I just felt there was no need to fix what was damaged.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blanka_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed one night at the Hotel Congress two months ago and will never stay there again. My company had booked their holiday party there. After the party was over, the staff would not let me or my colleagues use the restroom off the cafe....they said "Party's over, leave" The rooms were small and antiquated...that maybe what some people are looking for but not me. No TV and no shower...only a bath. The no alcohol in the room policy is a farce. I received a bottle of wine and bottle of liquor as holiday presents at the party. Hotel employees saw the bottles in my room and confiscated them. They would not let me watch as they disposed of the alcohol...I believe they took it home for themselves. As for the pours in the hotel bar, they might be the worst ever. For the price you pay, you don't even get an ounce of alcohol. Finally, hotel employees were smoking dope near the dumbsters at the rear of the hotel. Never again

Room Tip: Don't take a room above the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaraHC, Manager at The Historic Hotel Congress, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear LizzyF,

Thank you for your feedback. Your experience described is very disappointing to us. We are looking into this situation and are discussing with staff and management ways to better serve our clientele. Clearly we had a breakdown in communicating to you exactly what liquor law dictates to us, what house rules were being enforced and how we balance this with basic guest experience. I can only tell you that we agree that this wasn’t handled correctly, and we are sorry. You are also correct that our rooms are from another era, but we actually pride ourselves on this. No question, this is not for everyone, but I feel confidant to say that if you had a great time that evening you might have regarded them differently. We are very sorry you had this experience and we are working hard to correct it.

Sincerely,
Dara Oseran
Hotel Congress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.8 km away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
2.7 km away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#57 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.5 km away
Arizona Riverpark Inn
Arizona Riverpark Inn
#80 of 128 in Tucson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Hotel Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Hotel Congress

Property: The Historic Hotel Congress
Address: 311 E Congress St, Tucson, AZ 85701-1811
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Historic Hotel Congress 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Congress is listed on the National Historic Hotel Registry. We pride ourselves on the many unique features we offer that you'd be hard-pressed to find elsewhere. This historic Tucson hotel transports you back in time. Some cynical city-slicker types might notice the absence of a television in any of our 40 rooms and feel slighted. But it's intentional - we strive to maintain the Hotel's original ambiance - from the iron bed to the vintage radio, from the comforting rumble of the nearby iron horse to the retro-style phone that actually connects to a switchboard at the front desk. All rooms are uniquely designed offering an original experience every time and unlike most historic hotels, all rooms have private bathrooms, free high speed internet, and a private guest lounge.The lounge offers our patrons a large-screen television with unlimited channels as well as free computer access. You can also enjoy the exclusive outdoor patio, where you can soak-up the Tucson sunshine year round. We have new upgrades for our guests, to ensure an amazing experience during your stay at Hotel Congress. *Bike Program - We now have bicycles that our guests are able to check out to explore Tucson during their stay! We recommended guests to bike the Santa Cruz River Trail, and the Train Trail behind Maynards Market and Kitchen. Let us help you explore Downtown Tucson in a new way! *Snacks from local vendors - Enjoy some treats from our local vendors. Every room has a tray filled with a variety of snacks that are available to purchase. We have: Cactus candy, Rbar Energy Bar, Spunlight Cotton Candy, Green Valley pecans, Essentia Ionized Water, POPPED Artisan Popcorn, Cerreta Candy Co., and the Kobito Hangover and Love Kits. *Guest Room Internet - We now provide super high speed wireless Internet in our guest rooms that is 10x faster than before! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Congress Hotel Tucson
The Historic Hotel Congress Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing