We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 45 Tucson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Desert Trails was just right for us. Near a downtown (20 minutes) but a the end of a rural road. Sophisticated home base (great breakfasts, very comfortble bed, working fireplace, small pool) with the attractions that brought us to Tucson next door (a stable, with the horses visible through our window; hiking in Suarjo national park almost accross the street.) Add to this John's humorous, balanced personality and you have a great retreat in the desert.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed for one week in the Mica Room. The Mica Room is a spacious, well appointed accomodation and our favorite amenity was the fireplace. John and Steffi are fantastic hosts. Every morning is a pleasant surprise because breakfast is unique and delicious. They are also a wealth of knowledge on things to see and do in the area. The proximity to the Saguaro National Park and Catalina Mountains is convenient while amenities in the city are still nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jandsMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This was our 2nd stay in as many years with the good people at Desert Trails (DT). DT is at the far eastern end of Speedway in Tucson, in a very quiet area with horses just to the north. The only sound during the evening is the howl of coyotes (speaking, apparently, a different language from those at home). The bedrooms/bathrooms are immaculate, likewise the common rooms. Windows open for cross ventilation, in cooler weather the heater(s) are quiet and efficient. Adequate area for parking. The food is excellent in portion size, quality and flavour - freshly prepared, in our case, by John. An very good supply of books (should you need one) and videos (can't think why, in Tucson, you'd need one). A very nice pool-side sitting area and a window seat for bird watching (great to watch the hawks hunting). Close enough to Davis-Monthan AFB for access in about 20-minutes and to all the great restaurants (try Cushing Street Grill in the historic downtown and for really good Cajun 'Don's Cajun' up the hill off Tanque Verde - a bit rough around the edges but filled with USAF pilots and really good food [who would have thought that cabernet sauvignon would go so well with alligator/]

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vittorio_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had a great 2-night visit with John & Steffi. Both were so hospitable and friendly. We felt like we were at home. John is an amazing cook and had the most delicious breakfast for us. The eggs with green chilis was my favorite! Super convenient to hiking and Houston's horseback riding. They had great input on restaurants and the area. We stayed in the Mica room which was great! Loved the fireplace and the room itself was super cozy. Next time I am in Tucson (and I plan to be) I will certainly arrange to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerVAVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed in the Mica Room. As previous reviews have stated, this is a large, lovely room. The bathroom is luxurious with its walk-in shower/tub & double sink + heater. The bed was very comfortable. The location is very quiet & near the park for hiking. John & Steffi are great hosts. John was very helpful with suggestions on where to go, including maps & books. They have a book in which guests can write restaurant reviews - very helpful. John's breakfast were delicious. We also loved the baked apple. We enjoyed watching the birds as we ate breakfast. This B & B is a gem.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.3 km away
Tanque Verde Ranch
Tanque Verde Ranch
#24 of 129 in Tucson
682 reviews
18.0 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,002 reviews
20.8 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
2.0 km away
SunCatcher Bed & Breakfast
23.6 km away
The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12851 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85748-7136
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: €114 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of the Sonoran desert from the comfort of a unique, fired-adobe territorial situated on acreage bordering Saguaro National Park East. Different delicious full breakfast everyday and complimentary snacks, fruit, and beverages. Hiking, birding, wildlife viewing and horseback riding within walking distance; dining and shopping within 15-20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Trails Bed And Breakfast Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing