We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bliss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Desert Trails was just right for us. Near a downtown (20 minutes) but a the end of a rural road. Sophisticated home base (great breakfasts, very comfortble bed, working fireplace, small pool) with the attractions that brought us to Tucson next door (a stable, with the horses visible through our window; hiking in Suarjo national park almost accross the street.) Add to this John's humorous, balanced personality and you have a great retreat in the desert.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
58
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed for one week in the Mica Room. The Mica Room is a spacious, well appointed accomodation and our favorite amenity was the fireplace. John and Steffi are fantastic hosts. Every morning is a pleasant surprise because breakfast is unique and delicious. They are also a wealth of knowledge on things to see and do in the area. The proximity to the Saguaro National Park and Catalina Mountains is convenient while amenities in the city are still nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandsMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

This was our 2nd stay in as many years with the good people at Desert Trails (DT). DT is at the far eastern end of Speedway in Tucson, in a very quiet area with horses just to the north. The only sound during the evening is the howl of coyotes (speaking, apparently, a different language from those at home). The bedrooms/bathrooms are immaculate, likewise the common rooms. Windows open for cross ventilation, in cooler weather the heater(s) are quiet and efficient. Adequate area for parking. The food is excellent in portion size, quality and flavour - freshly prepared, in our case, by John. An very good supply of books (should you need one) and videos (can't think why, in Tucson, you'd need one). A very nice pool-side sitting area and a window seat for bird watching (great to watch the hawks hunting). Close enough to Davis-Monthan AFB for access in about 20-minutes and to all the great restaurants (try Cushing Street Grill in the historic downtown and for really good Cajun 'Don's Cajun' up the hill off Tanque Verde - a bit rough around the edges but filled with USAF pilots and really good food [who would have thought that cabernet sauvignon would go so well with alligator/]

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vittorio_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had a great 2-night visit with John & Steffi. Both were so hospitable and friendly. We felt like we were at home. John is an amazing cook and had the most delicious breakfast for us. The eggs with green chilis was my favorite! Super convenient to hiking and Houston's horseback riding. They had great input on restaurants and the area. We stayed in the Mica room which was great! Loved the fireplace and the room itself was super cozy. Next time I am in Tucson (and I plan to be) I will certainly arrange to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerVAVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed in the Mica Room. As previous reviews have stated, this is a large, lovely room. The bathroom is luxurious with its walk-in shower/tub & double sink + heater. The bed was very comfortable. The location is very quiet & near the park for hiking. John & Steffi are great hosts. John was very helpful with suggestions on where to go, including maps & books. They have a book in which guests can write restaurant reviews - very helpful. John's breakfast were delicious. We also loved the baked apple. We enjoyed watching the birds as we ate breakfast. This B & B is a gem.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
18.0 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#26 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
3.3 km away
Tanque Verde Ranch
Tanque Verde Ranch
#29 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
7.5 km away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast
20.1 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
16.1 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast

Property: Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
Address: 12851 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85748
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of the Sonoran desert from the comfort of a unique, fired-adobe territorial situated on acreage bordering Saguaro National Park East. Different delicious full breakfast everyday and complimentary snacks, fruit, and beverages. Hiking, birding, wildlife viewing and horseback riding within walking distance; dining and shopping within 15-20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Trails Bed And Breakfast Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing