We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, homey atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm, homey atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Susan Banner makes you feel very much a part of her (and Lucy's) family during your stay. Her breakfasts are perhaps the best that we have had in the many B&Bs we have stayed in over the years. The property has a lovely back courtyard, and is conveniently situated near the University of Arizona. There are a few casual restaurants within walking distance, and the sites of Tucson are easily accessible by car.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    24
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
99
45
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We recently stayed for four nights at the Sam Hughes Inn and found it perfect for our needs. I won't repeat things already said, except to say I agree with the rave reviews. We stayed in Tombstone, which is set apart from the main house - a perfect choice for us. We were welcome to sit around the courtyard, bring back lunch or dinner or just enjoy a book and a cold beer on the comfy chairs. It was truly an oasis.......... Would most definitely stay there again if we return to Tucson.

Room Tip: Tombstone is not large, but is quiet and set apart from the main house. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaMBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Susan Banner, the proprietress of the delightful Sam Hughes Inn (a bed & breakfast in Tucson, AZ just a few blocks from the University of Arizona), is a willowy figure with the warmest of touches. Her beautiful B&B, which I visited (direct from New York City) 23-27 March 2012, is a cool, quiet respite during the day and a cosy, soothing home in the evening, with a glorious, spacious garden in the back with lounging chairs and plenty of shade trees. My room, facing 7th Street, was a sweetly outfitted single, and my sister and her boyfriend stayed in another room, a double with a huge bed and couch, which faced the garden. Susan also maintained a large, light-filled living room with plenty of books, and a computer room -- with even more books. At breakfast, the dining room provided a sidetable of hot drinks and creal, and Susan made excellent, light egg-veggie dishes. She accommodates special dietary needs/restrictions, encourages enjoyment of the food, and makes this B&B a excellent place for any traveller. I would strongly recommend the Sam Hughes Inn. I found it utterly faultless, and my own mother said she craves the chance, next time her 5 kids come to town, to stay at Susan's B&B and let her offspring stay in the family house instead.

Room Tip: The garden access is tremendous. The B&B's residential location and proximity to the Univers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

My partner and I recently spent a week at the Sam Hughes Inn - combining a family visit with a vacation escape from New England's winter. What a treat! Each day we began our mornings sitting on a patio bench by the luscious sunken garden, sipping fresh brewed coffee and watching the hummingbirds bathe in the fountain. Susan's breakfasts, served promptly at 8:30, were always spectacular. The inn is situated in an historic neighborhood where an evening stroll allows for an opportunity to take in the lovely Southwest architecture. It's central location was perfect - just a short drive to nearly everywhere in Tucson and walking distance to several restaurants as well as the University of Arizona. Our room was spacious, VERY tastefully decorated and the bed was quite comfortable. A special part of our trip was meeting Susan's dog, Lucy. Susan had some GREAT dining suggestions and we're so glad we went to a couple of her favorite spots. A gracious host, comfortable and beautifully decorated environment, fantastic food. In short - a perfect vacation experience. We will definately return next year!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandon, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Best B&B experience ever: quiet but central historic neighborhood, gourmet breakfasts (dreamy blueberry scones), beautiful rooms, gracious host. Large, well-stocked, comfortable library for wireless internet work, colorful, tiled en-suite bathrooms, shady yard with a pergola and benches by a fountain in a sunken garden. You can walk a few blocks to the university, as well as to the neighborhood bar and shops, including Rincon Market, a small local grocery with bakery, salad bar, deli. I very happily moved away from Tucson 20 years ago, but if I could live here, I would move back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zita I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.1 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.8 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#58 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.7 km away
Tucson University Park Hotel
3.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2020 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85719
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam Hughes Inn is a 1930's California Spanish styled bed and breakfast with red tiled roof, original oak floors and Art Deco architectural details, located in the residential Sam Hughes Historic District next to the University of Arizona. Lush mature foliage surrounds house and walled fountain garden. Walk to campus, bus, restaurants & University Medical Center. Only minutes by car to local attractions, downtown & airport. Four bedrooms/four baths with high speed wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing