We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$127
View Deal
Free cancellation until 14/03/21
Official Site
US$127
US$85
View Deal
SAVE US$42
Free cancellation until 14/03/21
Hotels.com
US$127
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/21
eDreamsUS$127
Expedia.comUS$127
designhotels.comUS$127
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
45
9
12
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
45
9
12
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small bath products hip hotel passing through town happily stay here again short stay marriott property lovely room hotel lobby location is great front desk staff cabana closet freeway pool staycation linens
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2020

I booked this hotel based on reviews of location, staff and rooms. Looking at the photos it was very appealing. Imagine my surprise driving up realizing this is not a hotel, it’s a motel. Nowhere in the pictures are any of the outside of the rooms showing each with its own door - they are all of the pool/common areas and room interiors. Upon check-in the person checking me in seemed annoyed and did not greet me like other Marriott properties, i.e. did not ask if I had stayed before, did not outline hotel features like pool hours, fitness center, bike availability, coffee in the am, etc. Seeing how close the property was to the freeway I asked for a quieter room and was told “all rooms are quiet”, and “I put you in XXXX overlooking the pool will that be ok?” I had never been so had no idea if that was quiet or not. Well, it was not. The rooms are noisy, but as a plus they have comfortable beds and multiple pillows, so you have extras to put over your head to help drown out the freeway noise. The hotel offers free coffee in the am, something I discovered from another guest when I went to order breakfast. I also found a small sign in the room that indicated they have hot pots available for use. I asked the same woman who checked me in about borrowing one and the response was “other guests might be using them so I will need to check if we have one” – ok, that would be appreciated. I tried to use link emailed for check-out but my bill was wrong (breakfast credit not applied) so I went down to inquire and again same woman who checked me in was there and she fixed but no apologies for the error, or anything I may expect from a Marriott property personnel.
As a plus, the hotel had 2 bikes for use – first come first served with no time limit for checkout, which was nice. The pool area is large and give the cool weather there was no issue social distancing. Fitness center (which I learned about via the website) had brand new very updated equipment.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gwennethmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina Moore, Owner at The Tuxon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Hi Gwennethmn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I apologize for the issues you experienced. We are continuing to find new ways to improve as a team and these comments help us find which areas matter the most to our guests! I again want to apologize as it seems we missed giving you important information during the check-in process, that would have helped during your 2 night stay. I am happy to hear you were able to utilize the complimentary bikes we have on property, but am saddened to hear your room was noisy making it hard to relax. Please know we will work hard to correct these issues in the future. I do hope we get the chance to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2020

Very comfortable bed and clean room. Everything was great. Common areas are very nice and the employees are very friendly. The location is a bit rough but can be easily overlooked. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: December 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rortiz2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina Moore, Owner at The Tuxon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Hi rortiz2929!

Thank you so much for your AWESOME feedback! We are so stoked you enjoyed the hotel and our team! Please let me know when your travels bring you back to The Tuxon, I would love to buy you a drink!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2020

Very nice new hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff, the room was just the right size with excellent updated features including large flat screen TV with smart features And very comfortable bed

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina Moore, Owner at The Tuxon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2020

Hi Dave S!

Thank you so much for your awesome feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed the room and our staff! We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we did! Please visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2020

Cool clean relaxed atmosphere
Friendly staff very helpful
Nice style and decor well accessorized
Good food(dinner and breakfast
Fun bar
Enjoyed heated pool
Good value
Nice retro fit of old motel
Very comfortable

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LACarter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina Moore, Owner at The Tuxon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2020

Hi LACarter3!

Thank you so much! We are so happy you enjoyed the hotel and it's awesome amenities! We only wish you could've hung out longer! Hopefully we will see you again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020 via mobile

When checking in to the hotel, the check in desk and the bar/restaurant are in the same space.
I was somewhat concerned to see a group of several people all sitting together at the bar without masks, chatting and drinking.
This my friends is what causes the unrelenting spread of the Covid virus.
I mentioned my concerns to the young woman who was checking me in and I believe also the bartender.
She seemed to have a cavalier attitude about it all.
If it hadn’t been so late and I hadn’t been so exhausted I would have left immediately, but I couldn’t face getting back on the road at that point.
The property is a former motel that was fixed up to be cool and hip. It was ok. The bed was comfortable and it had a big tv in the room. I don’t understand why the shower doesn’t have a door on it. The bathroom floor got a bit flooded which I cleaned up with the towels. In my humble opinion this is totally ridiculous and pointless.
The place needs to be throughly cleaned inside and out.
I appreciate the effort and work that was put into this former motel (motel 6?) to create a groovy place and with some care, concern and good taste could be a viable alternative to the big impersonal hotels.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank w0rldtraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina Moore, Owner at The Tuxon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2020

Dear W0rldtraveler08,

I am so sorry to hear about your experience here at The Tuxon, we work very hard to ensure our guests feel safe and at home. I am very sad to hear we let you down. I would love to discuss further with you if you would please give me a call at 520-372-2853 or email me directly at cmoore@focushospitality.net.

Thank you
Christina Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews