We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Reliable Golf Club Food and Drink

We visited the 49er Club for dinner when first in Tucson for a week's vacation, staying at the far... read more

Reviewed 12 February 2018
Jon B
,
Whitehall, Michigan
Pasta night

All you care to eat and half price bottles of wine...how can you go wrong! The place was packed... read more

Reviewed 13 September 2017
Denise S
via mobile
Read all 19 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Tucson
from US$54.35
More Info
from US$250.00
More Info
from US$20.00
More Info
from US$27.18
More Info
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
5
8
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
8
2
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2016

The 49er Country Club is open to the public. We have eaten there a number of times, and in general found the food mediocre, the service spotty, and the prices reasonable. Not too long ago, they began on Wednesday nights a "Pasta night", and judging by the response it's been quite popular. You arrive there and are seated in one of two spacious rooms, and are presented with two menus - the regular menu and the pasta menu. If you choose the pasta menu, you have the choice of soup or salad, garlic bread or french bread, and a pasta buffet. Wines are 50% off which is a great bargain. We like the Villa Pozzi Nero D'Avola which ordinarily is $22 but on pasta nights is $11. It's a hearty red and comes from Sicily. The salads, bread, and drinks are brought to the table. Once finished you walk up to the "buffet" line where there are two chefs ready to "cook" your pasta. You take a dish and select your toppings from a wide variety that includes chicken, bacon, sausage, olives, mushrooms, basil, etc. You can select as many and how much of each. You give your dish to the chef who cooks your toppings, adds whatever pasta you want (spaghetti, linguine, anger hair, tortellinis, etc.), and whatever sauce you want (bolognese, alfredo, etc). You can then ask for a couple of meatballs, and grated cheese. The whole process takes only a couple of minutes, and it's fun to watch the chefs toss the toppings in the air and catch most of them in the pan. The pasta is already pre-cooked, and the amazing thing is that it comes out "al dente". You get a huge dish of pasta that is enough for a couple of meals. All this for $13.95 so the price is very reasonable.
Most of the wait staff is quite pleasant but seems not to be trained in wine service. On three different occasions when I ordered the Nero D'Avola the waiter/waitress did not recognize the wine and I had to point it out on their wine list. One time the waiter brought the bottle of wine, opened the screw cap, and poured full glasses for the three of us. There was no showing of the label to make sure it was the correct choice, no pouring of a small sample for me to taste, and no pouring of half a glass portions.
The 49er Country Club is on the east side of Tucson, a bit of a drive. Parking is free and available, even with the many golfers and swim families that show up.
If you are looking for a gourmet meal this is not it. But if you're looking for a good dish (or two) of pasta, at a reasonable price, accompanied with a bottle of wine that is also very reasonably priced, in a casual but pleasant setting, give it a try on Wednesday nights.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank gdomino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We booked a tee time that came with range balls, 20% off lunch and supposedly cheap domestic draft. However, the latter was only the bud light etc versions did not apply to any of the drafts that can actually be considered beer. The food used to be great but now it is just average.
the golf course is tough and the green are rock hard, absolutely nothing will hold on them. This might be old style but it is very frustrating and not enjoyable. You have a great approach shot and it does not stay on the green (where it would on other courses).
They changed the tees around as it used to be a very long course. Now they have the red tees further forward. However, not on a tee box but rather just on the fairway, very hokey. Will not be back

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank victorian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Located in the majestic Tanque Verde valley, the Forty Niner Country Club is a mature neighborhood with large full trees providing shade and a natural inviting landscape, an up close encounter with multiple mountain ranges, and an overall riparian feel from the nearby Tanque Verde Creek. This is a must see in Tucson.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Regan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Went here for dinner, delightfully surprised at the extent and quality of the food. I had the cous cous salad and the ribeye, both were delish. Honey also had the ribeye, done perfectly, served with baby bok choy, my favorite.

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank vegazny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A few months ago I would have told you, this course has turned around and is in great shape. Now I am saying, stay away! It is in terrible shape. They burned the grass on the greens. Literally putted through dirt, dry spots and some grass. As we drove our carts, dust was frying. Not from wind, but the course was so dry and in ruins that dust was flying! I will say the food is good, bathrooms in the club house and on the course are clean, but right now the course is unplayable.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank GeneT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews