We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT BOTHER”

International Wildlife Museum
Ranked #24 of 300 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The International Wildlife Museum is dedicated to increasing knowledge of and appreciation for the diverse wildlife of the world, as well as explaining the role of wildlife management in conservation. Founded in 1988, the museum has over 400 kinds of insects, mammals and birds from all over the globe. Some of the collections are more than 100 years old and all the species found at the museum were donated by various government agencies, wildlife rehabilitation centers, captive breeding programs, zoos and individuals. The museum features a collection of animals from all over the world, along with dioramas re-creating the natural environment in which these animals live. Your visit is an excellent opportunity to see animals up close and gain a better understanding of their size and adaptive characteristics. The museum has many touchable specimens on display. All exhibits are indoors and the facility is wheelchair accessible and air-conditioned. Wildlife movies run hourly from 10am until 4pm.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“DO NOT BOTHER”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

no reason to stop here at all, the Desert Museum is 100 times better, this place is done on the cheap, the exhibits have old badly stuffed animals, very unprofessional, not well laid out, a lot of similar animals in different areas, very strange, not at all a professional museum, for $18 entrance fee it is a huge rip off, the lady at the front desk sucked me in to visiting, I was going to walk out, but she stressed at how wonderful it was, trying to keep her job I would guess, no reason to stop here at all, especially for the high price!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank kleeottorogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichW9090, Manager at International Wildlife Museum, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
The entrance fee to the International Wildlife Museum is NOT $18.00, and never has been. It is $8.00 for adults, less for children. There are discounts for seniors and military, etc.

I suspect the reviewer has never actually been to the International Wildlife Museum. I would be pleased take anyone who has questions about the museum on a tour of the facility and explain our programs.

Richard S. White, Director
International Wildlife Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    73
    10
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“just the right size”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

this museum is well done and is manageable to get around if you only have a couple of hours to spare

Helpful?
1 Thank imsavvy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewey, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Where Else Can You See Up Close Animals That Would Eat You”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I had gone out for a drive and found ourselves in the vicinity of the International Wildlife Museum. We had been by this place many times prior and kept saying next time we'll stop. WOW!! Where else can you get right up close with many, many animals that would probably eat you. Well worth the cost of admission.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank doni-lei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Get Stuffed! Top Notch Taxidermy”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Before I went to this venue I thought it was a dusty joint full of stiffs! Wrongo! Run, don't walk to the IWM. Loved it. Great learning experience and my toddler LOVED it too. Go figure. And it's on the way out to the desert museum. Make a day of it!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ilevare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Horses for courses”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

...as long as they're stuffed of course!!! I wandered in by mistake and, as the cost of admission was reasonable, I took the tour.

A busman's holiday for taxidermists but I must admit that I found the limit of the number of stuffed animals I can see before becoming downright bored!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jb012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed International Wildlife Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Wildlife Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing