We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,460)
Filter reviews
1,460 results
Traveller rating
854
440
98
43
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
854
440
98
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews masonic temple state house the club lounge front desk capitol building beautiful hotel valet parking cheesecake factory rhode island amtrak station valet staff rooms are large coffee maker brown university mini fridge federal hill fitness center
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,460 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

This hotel is a renovation of an old Mason Hall. Almost all of the rooms are of equal size with limited design and a less than inspiring rectangular shape that one would find in any downscale apartment building. The amenities are good, and the views facing the State House are spectacular. Be sure to dine off-site since the restaurant downstairs is sub-par with a limited menu and very poor service.

Room tip: Rooms facing the State House are best.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGW135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear GGW135,

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. As you mention, the hotel is housed in a building originally designed to be a Masonic Temple, with construction beginning in the 1920's. The building sat abandoned for 80 years, during which time it was listed on the National Historic Register. As such, when developers decided to breath life into the building, no changes to the exterior façade could be made. The hotel was designed around the original exterior windows. We love this unique feature of our hotel as it results in 46 different room configurations -- some with 12' ceiling height, some with oversized bathrooms, some with a grand entry, etc. Our regular guests enjoy trying these different room configurations and finding one that fits them perfectly.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy this feature of our hotel, or the experience in our restaurant. Please feel free to contact me directly and to discuss either issue further.

Best regards,

Kimberly Greene
kgreene@tpghotelsandresorts.com
410-919-5001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

The Renaissance Providence is located almost right next to the train station and a few blocks away from the bus station/convention center. The hotel is also located near the Providence Mall(a very large mall with everything). In short, the Providence Mall location wise is ideally situated for any Providence adventure.

The hotel itself is also a historic building-- it was an incomplete masonic temple, and the lobby and the conference room areas are magnificent(and evoke a temple like feel). The rooms are extremely spacious and modern, and the shower pressure was ideal after a long and hot day spent walking around Providence. We only stayed here for one night so we did not get to appreciate the other facilities in this hotel, but if you're ever visiting Providence to check out Brown University(20min walk) or the Rhode Island State House(arguably a hidden gem), this is the place to be!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear James H,

Thank you for your recent visit at the Renaissance Providence Hotel for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay. I'm glad that you found our location convenient. Even though you were not able to explore the hotel fully, were you able to explore the area? If not, you can visit us again and we are happy to share with you the must-visit attractions as well as some hidden treasures in the area.

Warm regards,

Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Before you walk in take a look around. The view of the State House is spectacular. Walk through the doors and take in the lobby, including the floor with the emblem of the Free Masons. The rooms are much larger than expected in a historical building. Ask for a view of the State House. In the evening the bar in the basement has a wonderful lounge area and the staff were great. Before you leave be sure to go for a walk or run along the waterfront.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CanadiantravelsNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear CandiantravelsNB,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Renaissance Providence Hotel. Our locations is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our hotel. We are so lucky to have a property in the heart of Providence (and one with such a rich history) with a very strategic location that brings our guest just a few steps away from must-see attractions and modern-day conveniences.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Kimberly Greene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

This was a beautiful hotel right outside the major mall and just down the street from the downtown corridor. It was really nice, clean and modern inside with a very historic feel outside. The room we had was fantastic. It was a deluxe double queen room and was very spacious with a fantastic bathroom.

The only achilles heel was the lounge was closed for the weekend and they gave us a couple vouchers to eat in the main dining room. Our service was so slow and bad it was ridiculous. Probably a fluke and easily overlooked for the rest of the charm, care and character of this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelleraroundthewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Travelleraroundthewo,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Renaissance Providence Hotel -- and thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that our restaurant dining experience did not meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in training our staff.

Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Kimberly Greene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Our family really enjoys the Marriott Renaissance properties. Staff was great, rooms are large, clean and quite. Great location. If you drive here you can valet w the hotel or park down the hill at the public garage. This garage is the most well run garage I have ever seen. It is connected to a large indoor mall. First two hours are free and it was $20 for the night. If visiting Providence stay at the Renaissance.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SeaDart23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear SeaDart23,

Thank you for staying with us again. We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in our hotel and our staff. Rest assured that are always striving to make us deserving of your loyalty.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Best regards,

Kimberly Greene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews