We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel right across the street from the state house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice hotel right across the street from the state house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

This hotel is in a former Masonic Temple, right across the street from the state capital and a couple of blocks from the Amtrak station - very convenient. Our room was pretty small, but we had asked for a room facing the capitol building - opted for a queen with view over king without. Location was great - we didn't have a car, but it was easy walking distance to Federal Hill, Providence Place and Waterpark Place for Waterfire. Staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. It was a lovely hotel and probably the least expensive of any we've stayed at in Europe or the East Coast in the last 3 years.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperM0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    387
    84
    36
    20
See reviews for
328
370
65
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

We recently stayed at the Renaissance Providence during an end of summer trip to Rhode Island. On the whole this hotel has a great location and wonderful staff. The hotel is situated across the street from the State Capitol and within walking distance to downtown shopping and dining. The decor, as with most Renaissance hotels, takes the flavor of where the hotel is situated. In this case, it was a bit New England colonial, yet with a modern edge. Our room had everything we needed - nice bathroom, small fridge, etc., although with the tall ceilings and bold red and blue decor, I can't say it was particularly cozy if that is what you are looking for. The staff was very friendly, welcoming, and helpful whenever we interacted with them.
My one minor complaint has to be the lack of complimentary services. For a pricier hotel, I would expect that Free Wi-Fi would be a given. Its 2009, and this is not a new concept - Renaissance should get with the times a bit in this regard. Also, the $25/day valet only parking option is a bit steep. We had several out of town excursions planned that required the car, so all the additional valet tipping for requesting and returning our car really added up. On the plus side, I will say that the valets were fast and friendly and we never had to wait for our car.
On the whole I would definitely recommend the Renaissance Providence to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Providence or as a jumping off point for Rhode Island in general.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

July 25, 2009: The Renaissance is accommodating from the first phone call and carries through on service throughout your stay. The setting is beautiful inside and out, the rooms are really so much more than expected (view of State House is stunning) bathrooms are big, clean and lovely (better makeup lighting would be a definite improvement, however!). Our group thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had one small glitch, but Felix, the manager on duty, more than made up for it -- we were treated especially kindly and I saw the same treatment of other customers. Good breakfast at the Temple. Waterfire Exhibit was great! Have recommended this hotel highly to anyone and everyone. I'm a meeting planner and deal with every kind of hotel. This one stands out. Thank you to a wonderful staff! I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Like many others, we scored a great deal on Priceline for this hotel - but the experience was worth at least 3 times as much as what we paid. It was fantastic! The hotel was elegant, balancing the line between historic and modern, and relaxing. Since it was raining so badly outside, we spent the entire weekend in our room, and we ordered room service from the always-polite and eager-to-serve room service staff. Would I stay there again? In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdgeofExistence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

I am very picky about, well, everything. I like a nice hotel. Came here for a weekend getaway with my boyfriend. First let me say that we got the hotel ridiculously cheap through one of those 'name your price' websites (where you name the price and the stars for the hotel and they randomly book one for you based on your criteria) that being said, its hard to complain about anything. hotel is a restored temple which is pretty cool. impressive from the outside. the room was big enough, the bed was big and pretty comfortable (im VERY picky about the bed) but had a strange fitted sheet. multiple pillows and a good enough down comforter. everything was clean. tv was pretty big and a flat screen. umm-- no mini bar!! for a four star, i was surprised. give you coffee ingredients and a maker. small fridge- i recommend stocking it if youre there for a while. no dvd player- good list of movie options to buy though. for 15 bucks each. one window (i like windows) with a cool guy of the capitol building but there is decorative building blocking your view. the bathroom (i enjoy a nice bathroom) was clean.. sink area good. hair dryer. basic amenities. shower good enough but the water pressure- AWFUL. i had to stick my head under the shower faucet to REALLY get it wet. we were next to the elevator which i found to be weird but it was quiet at night. ALSO- no free internet. 11 bucks a day. thats just silly. parking is 25\day but they only charged us for one day for some reason. valet service is friendly- call ahead though as it takes a few minutes. really the hotel overall was nice enough, clean enough, and friendly enough. right next to the big mall with several options of more ''upscale'' chain restaurants if youre into that kind of thing (first night there didnt want to travel so we ate at cheesecake factory- yum!) honestly the only thing that really got to me is that you are JUST a little too far from anything to walk. maybe if it had been nicer weather and i felt like going for a WALK to get to dinner in the closest part of the city.. so it was annoying to have to drive only a few minutes to get somewhere and then deal with parking (hard) when we just wanted to go out and drink and not worry. if driving virtually anywhere but the mall is not a problem- i would recommend this hotel. but there are other hotels that are in the middle of more action.......

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NycLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#7 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing