We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,205)
Filter reviews
1,205 results
Traveller rating
562
340
180
84
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
340
180
84
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee bar karaoke bar bolt coffee german restaurant bunk beds hipster hotel great design cool vibe cool hotel yoga mat rain shower luggage rack old fashioned old school queen room rooms are small donuts
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 1,205 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018

I live in Providence, but wanted a getaway for the night. The Dean is it. The king size room was wonderful, comfortable bed, just enough space, quiet. Bathroom well equipped and nice large shower. The staff was friendly and helpful. I love the decor which is simple and chic. I would recommend the Dean to anyone visiting Providence.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The staff was wonderful and accommodating for the two nights we were there. I had booked through Booking.com and the site had given me the wrong rooms. Their staff was very friendly in fixing the booking.

Room Tip: very neat elevator and hotel style
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

I support the idea of a great little boutique hotel in Downtown Providence as I am a RISD grad and was back in town for 2 nights. The hotel was okay - needs some thought on lighting and amenities, the air conditioner in the window was like those from home depot with a long extension cord along wall - really lowbrow. The bed frame was poorly built. The bathroom lighting needs some thought as only half the bathroom was lit well. A mini bar and safe would be good additions to the room. The TV remote did not work with the TV but only the Fios - so you had to get up to change the channels. I think this place could be great if they thought about the details a bit more. Nice staff at the front desk and valet and the coffee shop looked very cool. I wanted to love it but it was just so average and a disappointment

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soso N, Front Office Manager at The Dean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We hope the next time you have the opportunity to return to our charming city you are able to find accommodations more suitable for your preferences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

The Dean is not a comfortable experience. Everything here is difficult: the room offers no comfortable place to sit, the elevator requires too much effort to operate (if you don't have good upper body strength, you won't be able to open the cage door), and the coffee shop can't even bill your room.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 September 2018

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay given the points that you made. We wish you safe and happy travels in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Hotel is in a good location and has a ridiculous 'hipster' vibe about it.Sadly I wouldn't recommend it or stay here again.

We were put in a room next to a store cupboard one side and the lift the other side,constant noise all night.The whole hotel is wooden floors so you hear every noise. The room was adequate with only hooks to hang your clothes on. The bed was tiny....it was a double by English sizes and so uncomfortable.

Shower is absolutely horrific,I thought it was a glass cubical at first only to discover it was 2 thirds glass and one third shower curtain!....terrible design,water was scalding hot and there was no room to move without soaking the whole bathroom.

No coffee machine in the room which most budget hotels have,this is far from a budget hotel but maybe it's own coffee shop in the lobby explains that!

Good free wifi and lovely check in staff have to be mentioned but sadly everything else let it down.We only stayed one night and that was enough.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank danlou78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review as all feedback is helpful for us to improve to meet our standards. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Should you have an opportunity to visit our lovely city again, we hope you find accommodations more suitable for your preferences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews