We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful classic seafood”

Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 836 Restaurants in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located on the River in downtown Providence, Hemenway’s is Rhode Island’s premiere seafood address. Aspiring to bring you the freshest and highest quality fin-fish, shellfish and mollusks in the United States while delivering genuine hospitality in a relaxed, social atmosphere. Hemenway’s offers an award-winning wine list, customized private dining for up to 45 guests, seasonal al fresco dining and full menu service in the bar area.
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Being from the Midwest, I always like to have seafood when visiting either coast, so when I was in Boston visiting family we decided to have dinner in Providence. Saw Hemenway’s oh a top-10 list and gave it a try. We were not disappointed! Tried the Rhode Island clam chowder (delicious and different) and had the roasted whole yellowtail snapper catch of the day and it was terrific! As a dirty martini fan I also highly recommend the “Hot and Dirty” martini!

Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobey S, General Manager at Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Jeff,
Thank you for giving us a try and I am very happy we did not disappoint. We love when visitors come to our city and try some of our fare. We hope that you have more reason to return to New England and can join us again.
Gratefully,
Tobey Sanborn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We were attending the theater and decided to have dinner first. We had an AMAZING experience at Hemenway’s!! Diane, our service gave us the best server experience I have had in decades. The food was out of this world. We will definitely be returning and asking for Diane.

Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobey S, General Manager at Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear David,
Glad you enjoyed your experience here and that Diane was able to make it more special. That's quite a compliment! I'll be sure to thank her personally. Hope you enjoyed the show too. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Gratefully,
Tobey Sanborn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Cannot say enough about this place. Service was over the top excellent (ask for Diane- she’s WONDERFUL!)

Food was amazing from apps to dessert.
I had seafood casserole, dining. Companion had grilled swordfish- both were perfect.

It was a true five star experience !
And they have valet parking!

Thank yankeegirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobey S, General Manager at Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear yankeegirl66,
You can keep saying wonderful things about us - we don't mind :)
Thank you for the truly kind review and I'm very glad Diane was able to make your meal special. We hope you join us again in 2018.
Gratefully,
Tobey Sanborn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Lobster at it’s finest! Everything top shelf! If you are looking for an awesome seafood restaurant, look no further. Baked Alaska for dessert was amazing and French press coffee to boot! Wonderful restaurant!

Thank 430debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobey S, General Manager at Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dera 430debbie,
Glad you enjoyed your dinner with us and that everything from the lobster to the coffee exceeded your expectations. We hope you can come back and join us again.
Gratefully,
Tobey Sanborn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Excellent dining experience. Wait staff was attentive and helpful.
Food was fabulous...
How,can you go wrong with a Hemenways bakes stuffed lobster!

Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobey S, General Manager at Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Marlene,
I'm glad you enjoyed your Christmas get together at Hemenway's. We love spreading the holiday cheer. Thanks for the review too. Hope we see you again in 2018.
Gratefully,
Tobey Sanborn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing