We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,798)
Filter reviews
1,798 results
Traveller rating
978
466
214
90
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
978
466
214
90
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking outdoor pool bluefin grille the concierge lounge bluefish shuttle service front desk staff this past weekend upon check brown university the entire staff new england federal hill fitness center rhode island aqua downtown
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,798 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent staff
Pleasant Experience
Professional
Clean
Excellent Service
Food was great

Located just near downtown (perfect location). The hotel is clean and provides great hospitality. The hotel event planner Nicole understood exactly what we needed to make our event a great success. She was very helpful. The staffs were very helpful & professional.

They have packages that will meet your needs.

Overall experience was awesome.I'll recommend this hotel to everyone looking to host any special event. You won’t regret it.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Grizzel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Grizzel R,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. We are so happy that you had an amazing dining experience, loved our service and that you found our location to be perfect. We will recognize Nicole for her amazing service. Thank you for recommending the Providence Marriott Downtown to others for their meeting and event needs.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Want to comment on my check in as I travel frequently and am a regular Marriott guest. Christina has been greeting me now for some time and I have to admit it is very nice to be remembered and acknowledged. She understands that I am arriving late on Sunday's and sometimes into the AM on Monday but she has my room key ready and is always very pleasant. Realizing that I may be the only or one of few people that check in late at night like that it is great that she has always been there and has always made that a easy painless part of my trip.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms have a good view depending on which block of rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank r0bertriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear r0bertriley,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and for your loyalty to Marriott. We will certainly recognize Christina for her amazing service and for helping to make your arrival to the hotel so memorable. We look forward to serving you next time.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We haven't stayed at this Providence hotel in a number of years, but thought we'd take advantage of the pool, since it's been a hot fall. Usually stay at the Renaissance hotel, down the hill. The marriott downtowner is 35,000 points a night and not worth it. Everything was worn and substandard for Marriott. Our first indication was the banner in lobby stating new rooms coming soon. Hallway carpets torn, wallpaper hanging off room walls, no USB ports to charge phone, icemakers broken on entire floors. Should not be in this category of hotel until revamp is done. Pool had heavy algae in one corner, I wouldn't go in. Front desk "tried to help" gave me some cube charger for iPhone, it wouldn't stay on, even though it seemed charged. Called for ice, twice, never delivered. Wanted to use shuttle to downtown restaurant, waited for it to return to hotel. Supposed to run on half hour, front desk called driver, no answer. We called Lyft. Shuttle arrived , rude driver, making comments under his breath. My husband is a platinum elite member and travels and stays only at Marriotts. We won't be visiting this one anytime soon. Website needs to adjust point level until redone.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lisa D,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. We also thank you for your loyalty to Marriott. We apologize for the issues you encountered. The Providence Marriott Downtown is typically known for extraordinary service. From your comments, it appears we dropped the ball. There is no excuse for this but I will tell you that we will use your feedback as an immediate training tool for our team. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the future to see the exciting changes we have made. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please contact Ashley, Guest Relations Supervisor, at afontes@marriottprovidence.com.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is great. The man at the front desk who checked us in was very friendly. The room they gave us was a 2 double beds and I asked for something with one large bed and he was able to change it with no problem since the room was available. The room was nice and spacious although the the bathroom was pretty small. I wouldve preferred if they didn’t have the shower/tub combo.The tv wasn’t the greatest, many of the channels didn’t work so we had to go down to the bar and was able to sit there and watch the game without being harassed to buy a drink. The bartender who is there on Sunday’s was very friendly as well. The pool area is nice although the water was not the cleanest. The location is great. We had come to providence to go to a club which was no more than a 5 minute ride. The mall is also less than 5 minutes away. If it wasn’t for the dirty pool water, tv and small bathroom I would’ve given 5 stars

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shernice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Shernice J,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and that you chose the Providence Marriott Downtown for our amazing location. We are at the beginning stages of our renovation. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon so you can see the exciting changes we are starting to make. We look forward to serving you then.
Best regards,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We host 3-4 meetings a year at the Providence Marriott property. The sales and onsite event team members are always attentive to our needs, budget conscious and extremely accommodating.Special thanks to Lynne and her team!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Happiness258330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Happiness258330,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We will recognize Lynne and her team for their amazing service and attention to detail. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to serving you next time.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews