We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,165)
Filter reviews
1,165 results
Traveller rating
677
358
97
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
358
97
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brown university great location the financial district complimentary breakfast valet parking the breakfast area yogurt within walking distance historic building a great stay college hill corner room would stay again business center shuttle service per night nice room
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1,165 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This hotel sits directly in downtown Providence! Perfect for first time visitors, as it is super convenient! The staff is professional and friendly, and, the breakfast, is just right!!!!! The rooms are as you would expect, and excellent for the money!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eventsbythirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate the 4 star review. Please let us know if there was anything we could have done better to exceed your expectations and receive a 5 next time we see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Only a couple blocks from the convention centers and Federal Hill, no shortage of excellent places to eat and shop nearby, all within walking distance. The check in process was smooth and quick and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was a standard 2 Queen room and was decent size, clean and the beds were very comfortable. Slept great there. Bathroom was god sized but water pressure in the shower was pretty weak. Free breakfast was good as well with all the typical fare, well supplied and maintained and kept clean and orderly. We used the valet parking, which cost an extra $28/day but there was no street parking nearby that could be counted on and the nearby parking garage charged $20 a day so easier to just go with the valet. Worked out great, they were very timely and super helpful. Fitness center was in the basement, good sized and fairly well equipped but seemed a little dark and out of the way, no view or windows. Nice hotel, we'd certainly consider it again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WEGL185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

The hotel is so centrally located to so many things Providence has to offer. I am glad we were able to accommodate all of your needs. We sure hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

I used digital key for the first time. I'm not a fan. Getting regular keys was not a problem. Unlike other hotels, this property has a 24/7 coffee bar in their lobby as well as fresh fruit and fresh cookies. The hot breakfast included was convenient the banana bread was excellent. The room was spacious and quiet. My only disappointment was that there is no restaurant or room service at this location. (my reason for 4 stars) However, the location is convenient to get to many different restaurants anywhere downtown and most are in walking distance. I would definitely return. The staff was super friendly especially Bob (engineering) who welcomed me and my best friends with a smile and a hand shake....thanks for making us feel welcome as soon as we entered the building. Nice touch Bob!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 03 are not connecting and far away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnarocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

We are grateful you chose to stay at our property, thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We recently visited the Hampton Inn for a wedding that was held close by and the hotel was a very relaxing spot. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The hotel staff was great. The valet was a little moody but he was also busy. The breakfast buffet was conveniently located and yummy. The elevator was dated and creaked every time I took it which was very scary but no delay so all and all it appeared to be safe. I would recommend this hotel for a brief couples stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 701nataliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Great location, dated rooms but great staff. We chose this hotel mostly for location and it did not dissapoint. Close to lots of restaurants plus close to RISD and Brown. Hotel is a bit old but did not bother me too much.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank sunsplashtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher_French, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us! The building was built in 1927 and was originally a bank and then converted into a church. It was renovated into a hotel in the late 2000's and has been thriving ever since! We are excited to announce that we will be conducting some guestroom renovations this winter into early next year! Please make sure to come back and visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews