We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paris, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Bruce and Loretta were great. From the time we checked in to check out. We stayed 2 nights in the new condos. Full size fridge, full oven, microwave, dishwasher, king size bed, DVD player, flat screen TV etc. Our room was right on Fall River which was covered in snow! We could still hear the water in the river running even though it's winter and there isn't much runoff this time of year...still it's nice to listen to running water. As other reviews said it's a very short walk to downtown Estes. Bruce was there for breakfast every morning for neighborly conversation. We felt like we were a part of their family. Everyday we saw Elk all over the property. One morning an Elk walked right through the parking lot. They have an indoor pool and a hot tub. In the breakfast loft they have a huge wall mounted flatscreen...it's huge! They also have puzzles and board games for families. Nice place and we will be going back in spring or fall.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    253
    71
    19
    4
See reviews for
397
534
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Murphy's river lodge is a great small vaction getaway! From the moment we arrived the service was outstanding. The management on site makes sure that everything you could ever want and need is there for you and if not will do what they can to help. They offer a free breakfast in the morning very much the same style you would expect to see at a large hotel chain. The pool is like an escape to another place once you enter the door, and complete with a great hot tub will keep you swimming and relaxing for hours on end as you completely loose track of time. I can't say enough about how friendly the staff and especially the manager. This place is a must stay if you wanna get away and relax! I highly recomend the condo room 105 it has a full kitchen and a great fireplace!!! We look forward to coming back many more times!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firedude049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, CO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We just spent 2 nights at Murphy's River Lodge in Estes Park. 2 blocks west of downtown Estes, it was easy to walk to downtown and enjoy the shops. We stayed in a King condo with full kitchen and fireplace. The pool is heated to a perfect temperature, the hot tub was wonderfully hot. The beds were very comfortable. Staff was wonderful. Breakfast looked nice but we decided to eat at a restaurant in town instead. We saw elk right across the street from our front door. DEFINITELY our go-to place in Estes from now on!

Room Tip: 1. Bring your own Duraflame log for the fireplace. You cannot burn wood. You can buy a log at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkg813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Well I returned to Murphy's River Lodge for a New Year's Eve celebration. I had a great time and this again is my favorite place to stay in Estes Park. I recently stayed here in August of this year and had to return. The atmosphere was again outstanding and the one thing I forgot was how comfortable the beds are here. I slept like a baby and enjoyed the quiet time at the facility. I plan on returning again throughout the years to come. The staff was again friendly and helped my stay be soothing and comfortable. Thank you to Murphy's River Lodge for starting the year out great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I take 'mini-getaways' as often as we can and finding Murphy's River Lodge was an absolute dream. The management and staff were extremely friendly. Our room was absolutely heavenly. The overall experience was amazing....and we look forward to doing it many more times in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
3.1 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.3 km away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
2.1 km away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.1 km away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.2 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing