We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not where you think nor is there any customer service”
Review of Wildwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wildwood Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not where you think nor is there any customer service”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We booked a suite with a private spa at Wildwood Inn. The advertising on their website said it is on the Fall River. IT IS NOT ON THE FALL RIVER!!! That is false advertising. They are far from it. You cannot even see the Fall River from Wildwood Inn. We got into Denver at 8:00, (got up to catch our flight at 3:00am), we rented a car and stopped for breakfast in Boulder. At 10:00am I called to see if they would clean our room right away and told them that we had been up at 3:00am. She told me just to drive on up and go straight to the Wildwood Inn and she would see if it was ready. We did just that and got there at 11:30am. I went in to inquire and she said it wasn't ready. I asked her if she could call us as soon as it got ready and she said she would. We were really disappointed at that point that they didn't have better customer service. We went to the Wheel Bar and had a cocktail. We asked the people there if they had ever heard of Wildwood Inn. They said they didn't know much about it. We told them what had transpired and that we would be staying at the bar until they called to notify us that the room was ready. At 3:00, (check-in time), she still had not called. We drove back and went in and inquired if we were too early to check-in. (There was a different person at the desk but the mean lady was there, too, on the phone). We let the lady know that we knew we could check in but were extremely unhappy with their customer service. We told her how we had been at the Wheel Bar waiting for the phone call that never came and had told several people that we were waiting for them to call. The lady on the phone dropped the phone on the floor and screamed: Refund them their money, they are not welcome here!!! We couldn't believe it. It was the weekend of the Autumn Gold Festival and most places were sold out! Thank God for a good person working at the Bear Claw that gave us one night then hooked us up with Estes Park Condo's.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindyyl, General Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
We do not advertise that our office is on the river, and since this is as far as this person got on our property after coming back to check in at the designated check in time of 3pm and we, deciding to refund her money and asking her to stay elsewhere, since she stated she had complained about us to numerous businesses around town because they could not check in any earlier than the Guaranteed check in time of 3pm. It is within our right to refuse service to people we do not feel comfortable having stay at our establishment. As far as being on Fall River? We own 6 suites on the river across the highway from our main property.(See the July 27th,2011 review on Trip Advisor). Once again another review without the true facts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    72
    22
    10
    28
See reviews for
88
211
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Called to make reservations the woman I spoke to had no customer service skills. They have rediculous minimums that are not disclosed to you on the website and are not accomodating at all! I would think long and hard before spending money at this location it may look beautiful on the outside but you will experience nothing but an negative and regretful experience.

They may claim to family owned and operated but the owners are out to nickle and dime you and all in all there are hundreds of better locations to spend time in Estes Park with out the headache of dealing with the WIldwood Inn.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. Spend you money on a beautiful trip that doesn't include this locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank disgruntledBride149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindyyl, General Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
This lady called us inquiring about accommodations for September 2011 and after being told that we first of all require a 3 night minimum, and to book a specific suite number she would have to book a 5 night stay or more.(THESE POLICIES ARE SHOWN ON OUR WEBSITE) She got mad and hung up on the owner, who spent about 20 minutes trying to explain everything to this lady. Then she called back and said there was nothing on our website on any of these policies and She was told where the information is disclosed on our site. She has never been to this property at all so the statement that says she stayed her in September 2011 is not true. And again another review with false statements and incorrect information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We recently stayed here for a romantic weekend. The Jewel studio room was great with the hot tub on the balcony. The limo package was amazing and everything that was promised on the website. Lots of wildlife close by... There was even an elk just below our balcony the first morning! All in all a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runnerharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindyyl, JilLayne Anderson, Innkeeper at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
We are happy to hear you had a great stay and even got to see one of "The Boys". We have about 6 large bull elk that call Wildwood Inn home and come around quite often. They are a wonderful sight to see. We hope you can plan a return visit with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The bed was terrible, not internet connection, the office is not open at normal hours and we had no hot water! Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindyyl, General Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Our office hours are 9am to 8pm 7 days a week. I guess this person does not consider this "NORMAL". The hot water problem that was experienced was fixed in ONE HOUR after the fact was reported to us.. This guest choose not to stay around until it was resolved. The internet is a free service and as such we do not have technical support staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Another great stay at Wildwood Inn. Great place, very clean, terrific location between town and the park, peace and quiet, lots of wildlife, great service, etc. We will be back next year. Can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtwalsh367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindyyl, General Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us and will look forward to your next visit!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.6 km away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.1 km away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#13 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.3 km away
Fawn Valley Inn
Fawn Valley Inn
#32 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#14 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.5 km away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#43 of 78 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.5 km away
Aspen Winds on Fall River
Aspen Winds on Fall River
#7 of 78 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Inn

Property: Wildwood Inn
Address: 2801 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and experience the beauty of the majestic surrounding mountains and river, the abundant wildlife, and the star studded nights away from the congested areas of Estes Park. With six acres of private mountainside land and Rocky Mountain National Park adjoining, you can let your spirits soar and your children explore. When choosing one of our river condos, you will experience the calming of the beautiful Fall River as well as fishing just steps from your door. Give us a call and join the many couples and families who return year after year. We know you’ll want to become a repeat guest too! The Younglund Family & Staff, Spacious up scale suites, studios and vacation homes. Private deck hot tubs, steam baths, fireplaces, playground, hiking, open year around, AAA, Friendly hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing