We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Great For Families”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Stayed at the Discovery Lodge with our family at the end of July this year and had a fantastic time. The corner room we had was larger than normal rooms which made for a great time with extra space. While staying there, you are walking distance away from downtown Estes Park, Our Lady of the Mountains Catholic Church, the bus station and Safeway grocery store. After hiking mountains in the morning most days, it was nice to come back to our room and the grounds. There is a nice playground/swing set for kids, horseshoe game which my family really enjoyed, and a nice path around the lodges. For golfers out there, you are right near the course and can see it from your window. Spectacular views of the Front Range. Only downside was that the WiFi was spotty so we had to use the main computer at the Lodge Office for printing off plane tickets, etc. Had a wonderful time here and we will definitely be returning upon our next visit to the beautiful mountains.

Room Tip: Corner rooms (506) is larger than normal. Makes it great for family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lauren_Travels94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

Estes park lodging can be very expensive. While I would never expect to pay this much for a comparable hotel in a different location, this is a good value for the area. The rooms are clean. Note, there is no air conditioning, but they provide a fan. Good location, can walk to several places, and very close to RMP entrance.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

The hotel is conveniently located, although you do need to drive if going into town to shop or eat. It is an easy walk to the visitor center if you want to take a shuttle to the park. The room was large, with a view of the mountains. The lack of air conditioning is not a problem since it cools off at night, and they supply a fan if you need it. The place does have a "lodge" feel, with a playground, fishing pond, and horseshoe pit on the center grounds. There were many families staying there. Our only problem was that the bathroom door was difficult to close completely.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This lodge is a little pricey for what you get, Room was not ready upon arrival at 1pm, we had to wait until after 3pm to check into our room. Room has no air condition at all but they do provide floor fans in every room. I probably will not stay here again as it is to pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with my three children and we really enjoyed our stay. When we first checked in we were concerned about a smell in our room and they changed our room without asking any questions. We were very comfortable with our new room! The beds were comfortable and the kids loved fishing in the pond (being your own pole). Our last night there we saw a herd of elk grazing on the lawn and the kids sat on the play structure and had a great view of the majestic creatures. The staff were all very nice. We'd come back in an instance.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
185 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
2.9 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
1.4 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: €53 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing