We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
248
22
7
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
22
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird feeders heather cottage baked chocolate chip cookies fall river entrance hot cider warm cookies prairie dogs big horn sheep ground squirrels abundant wildlife home away from home inches of snow front window four miles free firewood wood burning fireplace our favorite place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Best lodging in Estes Park! The staff is all so friendly and helpful- it's like coming home every time we return. The cabins are clean and neat with tasteful mountain decor, big windows, and great views. The location is perfect,only a mile from the Fall River entrance to RMNP and away from the bustle of downtown Estes. There is plenty of room to roam about the property and you can hike up on McGregor Mountain right from your cabin. On this visit we stayed in the Cedar Lodge Suite with our grandsons (age 7 & 9) and they loved having their own private space upstairs. They also enjoyed the freshly baked cookies in the office everyday. Wildlife often visited on the property, including herds of elk, deer, wild turkeys, big horn sheep, and many beautiful birds. Just down the road was a moose. If you are looking for a friendly, well-kept, peaceful place to stay with gorgeous views then you will enjoy McGregor Mountain Lodge.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank pjneslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smudge00, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks for the awesome review! We sure appreciate you staying with us and are so happy you had such a great time! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

I stayed two nights at the McGregor Mountain Lodge and look forward to returning. It is close to downtown Estes Park and even closer to the entrance to the Rocky Mountain National Park! Surrounded by quiet and nature, I saw Elk, Moose and countless birds during my stay.
I rented a Columbine cabin and it was comfortable, very clean, working fireplace and excellent heat (it was winter when I stayed). The staff are very friendly and helpful. All cabin appliances (TV, refrigerator, stove, etc.) worked as promised and again, I can't emphasize enough how clean it was.
I'll be returning as this was a lovely place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank 304lynnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smudge00, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks for the glowing review! We certainly appreciate it! It's always a joy to see our guests have a wonderful experience with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Spent 4 days here and was able to relax and unwind even after an almost 2 day drive from Texas to get here. Weather was cold, but we were able to experience the NP. Loved the snow and snowshoeing fun. We were in cabin 1 and it was perfect. Large windows in all directions made us feel like we were almost outdoors. Fireplace was great and burned well. Great mountain cabin atmosphere. Nice kitchen and bath. Owners and all employees were super helpful. Have breakfast at theNotchtop Restaurant near Safeway! Want to go back next winter!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dclark3202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hey guys! Thanks so much for staying with us over the long weekend. And thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. It seems that February and January were a bit lighter on the snow side of things, but last night snowed in the park and we always can expect some more snow in the later part of March into April and even May! So glad you got out into the park for some snowshoeing adventures. I always think that winter is indeed my favorite time to be here...less people, amazing vistas, and having the park basically to yourself to explore it under a magic blanket of white.

We certainly hope to see you all again soon, until then, may you all have a lovely start to your spring.

Chris, Michael, Bridgette, Ellen, Carlos, Steve, Claire and Ray! The pups too.....of course!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved the lodge we stayed in, not too much or less. If you leave you come back to a well cleaned lodge. Super cozy and the view was breathtaking! No noise whatsoever, having our privacy was very peaceful. Even beautiful in the winter time. Can’t wait to go back!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rhondaarene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay here at the lodge. We always say, one of our biggest assets is our location. Being just a 10 min drive from downtown Estes Park, and about a 3 min drive into the park, we are lucky to be on the sunny slopes of McGregor to melt off the winter snows, and warm the inside of your cabin. Our location also affords many of the park residents (that being Elk, Big Horn Sheep, Fox, Coyotes, and the occasional Black Bear) to amble right past your front door.

We all wish you the best for an amazing spring and hope to see you here again with us!

Chris, Michael, Bridgette, Ray, Carlos, Steve, Claire, Ellen and of course..the four-legged greeters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely cabins and lodge. Cabins are comfortable and clean with real wood fireplaces. Even some that are pet friendly. This is our go to place when we are in Estes. Elk frequent along with marmots. Reasonable pricing for what you get, especially in the winter.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisinEstes, Owner at McGregor Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks Heather for taking the time to write a response. A few more months of winter here and soon we'll be jumping right into spring with the Memorial Day weekend just around the corner. We do love all our visits from the Elk, Deer, Big horn sheep, Marmots, Chipmunks, Birds, coyote, fox and even the occasional black bear (we had one break into a cabin this summer in search of goodies!)

Hope we get to see you again soon before the busy busy summer gets rolling!

All the best,
Chris, Michael, Bridgette, Ray, Carlos, Steve, Ellen, Claire and the puppy doggies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews