We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
26
10
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
10
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spent a week plan to return pots and pans rocky mountain national park woods deer cabin rmnp bedroom picnic porch appliances stove
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016

I am stunned to read the review titled "A Pit From Hell". I've never written a review before, but am compelled to do so, as we are currently vacationing in cottage # 12 and it is charming. Yes, it is older and rustic, but that adds to the charm. It is exceptionally clean and well maintained. The rooms are nice sized and very bright and cheerful. We have a nice porch and deck with furniture and a picnic table, as well as a gas grill. Lots of wildlife to enjoy, also. I couldn't disagree more with the previous review!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pmattke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeM684, Owner at Machin's Cottages in the Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016



I was very pleased to read the review from the guest who was staying in Cottage 12. I am very glad she liked the cottage, and I was stunned, as she was, to read the review titled " A Pit from Hell". Cottage 12 is one our smaller 2 bedroom cottages, and one of the few cottages that is not a separate unit. It is on the ground floor and Cottage 11 is on the second floor. Some of our cottages have better locations, and better views than others, but we believe that all of our cottages are very nice, and none can not be called " A Pit from Hell". Anyway, I appreciate very much the nice review the guest who was staying in Cottage 12 wrote.

Lee Machin



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Cabin # 12 looked nothing like the advertised brochure, period. It was dark, the carpet was dirty and needs to be replaced, the beds were unacceptable and my wife tripped over rolled back carpet entering the cabin. We walked in, looked around, walked out and told Lee the owner we would not stay there. Now, before you judge the writer let me say I was in the Infantry in "69 & '70, and former Drill Instructor. My wife and I hike all over the Rockies and Utah so we aren't cry babies. This place should be condemned. Also, it is not " in the park " as we were told. Had we had known that we would have looked at it a little harder before sending our reservation. Again, it should be condemned, you have been warned, don't make the same mistake we did.

Room tip: Choose anywhere or anything else. There is nothing good to say when you walk in, walk out and leave.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeM684, Owner at Machin's Cottages in the Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016



On TripAdvisors home page for Machin's Cottages there is a picture of a living room of a cottage. This is Cottage 12, and is the one this person would not stay in, and says it should be condemned. This picture was sent to TripAdvisor by a guest who was pleased with this cottage. As you can see in the picture there a very large windows to the South and the room is very bright. The kitchen - dinning area is on the South, and is also very bright. I am almost certain that the guest who sent this picture would not think that Cottage 12 should be condemned.

Our cottages are located on the East side of Rocky Mountain National Park. I guess this person did not see the Park entrance sign as he drove to our place.

Lee Machin





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Our good friend booked us four night here and we loved every minute. From first finding the road and then realising that it just was a collection of cottages at a dead end, the excitement mounted. Mr Machin was delightful. The cabin we had (11) was spotless, but like a trip back in time. We LOVED it. To play with the chipmunks, have deer watch us eat breakfast, sit and watch the sunset on the nearest mountain, to pack our bags and walk over the back of the cottages into Moraine Park- what could be better.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Pitball2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeM684, Owner at Machin's Cottages in the Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016



We are very pleased that these guests enjoyed Cottage 11. We are glad they had a great time walking to Moraine Park on the Rocky Maintain National Park trail that starts at the edge of our property. Our cottages are located in the Park on the East edge. The same day we got this very nice review, we got a review concerning Cottage 12 that was not nice. Cottages 11 and 12 are under the same roof. Cottage 12 is on the ground floor, and Cottage 11 is on the second floor. The person who wrote the review about Cottage 12 refused to stay in it and said it was a pit from hell, and it should be condemned If that is the case, I guess the whole building should be torn down, which would include Cottage 11, which these guests who liked very much. Well, I guess you can't please everybody, and at least the guests in Cottage 11 were pleased.

Lee Machin





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This was our first stay here and will not be our last. This is a hidden gem of a place in Estes Park. Mr. Machin has taken great care of this property , from the upkeep of the cabins and grounds to the over all stocking of the kitchens , books and cleanliness. The decor is a throw back to the 60's which makes for an enjoyable experience. This makes this property a great home base during your visit to the park. Loved it!

Room tip: We stayed in Cabin 10 . Great evening sun spot for relaxing on the front deck
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeM684, Owner at Machin's Cottages in the Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016



We are very pleased that these guests enjoyed their stay at Machin' Cottages in the Pines

Lee Machin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Our 3rd stay here and it was perfect. It's not on the heavily traveled main road (in fact, it is literally "at the end of the road") so it is truly relaxing. The cabins are older but are VERY well kept and have everything you need. (microwave, coffee maker, oven, stove, refrigerator/ freezer and all pots/pans and cooking utensils you could need). We saw deer, coyotes and several other critters just off our back porch. GREAT PLACE!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gbrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeM684, Owner at Machin's Cottages in the Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016


We appreciate very much that these guest stated that the cottages were older, but very kept. We spend much time and money every year to keep the cottages in very good condition. We are proud of of our place, and we spare no effort to have the cottages in tip top condition. We are pleased that these guests recognize this.

Lee Machin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews