We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Kohala Burger and Taco
Ranked #2 of 2 Quick Bites in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Located just a short distance from the glorious white sand beaches of the Kohala Coast, Kohala Burger and Taco is an affordable and friendly spot with a feel good, nostalgic flair. We serve 100% local grass fed beef and fresh, sustainably caught fish in burgers and tasty tacos. Daily specials, Milk Shakes and kids meals, too! Stop in for an Authentic Dole Pineapple Whip! This tasty Soft Serve Treat was once only available at Disney Parks and at the Dole Plantation on Oahu. KBAT has got it!
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

This hidden gem of a place filled our bellies with delicious tacos. Cute little hole in the wall with amazing food and wonderful service!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Wendi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Aloha and Thank you for taking the time to post a review, based on your feedback, it inspires us to work even harder to earn that last star.
KBAT Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

This is a casual burger and taco joint that provides far better fare than the resort we were staying at (Mauna Kea). The food is made to order, very fresh and served with a smile. Go early for dinner or late for lunch. Try the fish tacos or fresh fish sandwich. The french fries are good too.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LizzieB971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Aloha, Lizzie
Thank you for your review! we really do appreciate it! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

You don't necessarily come here for the ambiance, but once you try the food, you'll be hooked!
We stopped here & had fish & chips, AMAZING!
Then we just had to visit again, and tried the burger....OMG.....
Fun place, and really good food!!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mikeyrod27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Aloha Mikeyrod27!
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your food! Our goal is to make every customer happy by the time they leave! Thank you again! Hope to see you guys soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Kohala Burger and Taco has been known for excellent fish tacos for a long time. Unfortunately the quality of their flagship fish tacos has dropped since my previous visits while the price has increased substantially- a pair of medium sized fish tacos is about $18, rather pricey even if the fish is fresh. I also find a bit unsettling serving fish tacos with sides of onion rings, coleslaw or fries... it really undermines the taste of a mexican dish. At this point in time the Mexican fare at Brewhouse in Waimea or Los Tres Mex in Waikoloa Village is both superior and cheaper.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jog4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Aloha Jog4fun,
Thanks for the feedback. Kohala Burger and Taco is not a Mexican restaurant. If you are looking for great taco deals, try our Taco Tuesday where we offer 2 Grass fed Beef Crunchy Tacos for only $6.99.

As far as quality goes???? we still use the same island made tortillas, same house made salsas, same shredded cabbage mix. Seems the only thing that has changed is the price...and yes FRESH LOCAL LINE CAUGHT MARKET FISH prices have increased over the past 7 years so has everything else since the recession when we opened.

I would encourage folks to try and compare the food quality and service at either or both of the locations you listed.

Mahalo
Chef Cary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

After a morning at Spencer Beach, we headed over to Kohala Burger and Taco. We ordered the Beach Style fish tacos, and they were fresh and very tasty....probably the best we had on the island. The tacos are a decent size so we shared an order. We got them to go and went back to the beach for a nice picnic lunch on the water.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Gypsydahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Aloha and Thank you for taking the time to post a review, based on your feedback, it inspires us to work even harder to earn that last star.
KBAT Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kohala Burger and Taco also viewed

Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kohala Burger and Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing