We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place hosts very noisy parties...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“this place hosts very noisy parties...”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here for three nights to attend a conference. OK conference facilities and rooms, though internet access was flaky. Converient to Old Town, and only a 15 min cab ride from the airport.

All things considered, I will not use this hotel again if I can avoid it - especially on weekends. The Saturday night I spent there featured one or more extremely noisy parties, with excessively loud music and rowdy crowds shouting in the corridors well past midnigth. There are other hotels to choose from, and I don't see why anyone would risk a sleepless night by picking this one.

Room Tip: I thought a 6th floor room would be quiet. That was not the case, and I doubt it would have been mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZ_Happy_Trails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. Thank you for attending the conference and being our guest. We do have a large facility and with us being located in Old Town, we are often chosen to host many conferences. I do apologize about the noise caused by other guests. I can assure you that we are addressing this with our security staff so we can prevent further situations from occurring in the future. I am sorry this interrupted your stay.
We welcome the feedback as it helps us to fine tune our operation. We will work to correct the issues you encountered and hope that you will come back and visit us again. I'm sure you will find that your next stay will be extremely satisfying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    513
    174
    69
    54
See reviews for
303
509
114
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We won't return to the Hotel Albuquerque. Large property with conference facilities, attractively decorated in public areas with a Southwest motif, but room didn't measure up.

We arrived late at night (late arrival pre-arranged) and were given a room with the air conditioning set to 63 degrees -- in winter. After making the appropriate adjustments, we were then kept awake the rest of the night by the heat cycling on-and-off with a blower that was waaay too powerful and thus waaay too loud. We thought we were just lucky until the next morning when other guests confirmed the same issue in their rooms.

Additional points:

-- Having asked for a "quiet room" (see "late arrival" above), the rest of our floor was filled by some group of post-adolescents who seemed to believe congregating in the halls was the best available social alternative in Albuquerque. Maybe it is....

-- Walls were thin, so we could hear our neighbor entering and exiting the bathroom.

-- Internet connectivity was slow and spotty. Since we were on vacation, not a vital point for us, but another guest traveling on business said she would never come back because she couldn't reliably connect to her office.

-- There were some design elements of the bathroom that were awkward.

-- On the plus side, it's a two block walk from Old Town. But friends familiar with Albuquerque had questioned why we would want to be, and they were right. Clearly on a downward spiral: lots of tourist-trap jewelry and gee-gaws, 5 going-out-of-business sales, only one building of historical/cultural interest.

Friends recommended other places (not near Old Town) which we will try next time.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thayersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I appreciate you sharing your concerns with us and I would like to offer my apologies.
We have addressed the noise coming from the heating unit in the guest room. I have also discussed the guests congregating in the hall with our Security Director. We do not allow this and do our best to monitor and control any occurrences that may be disruptive to our guests.
You mentioned having problems with the Internet. I understanc this could be frustrating. Our provider is always available to work with our guests directtly when they encounter problems, however, they will be testing the service to ensure we are receiving the best connection possible. Thank you for letting us know.
With our location being apart of Old Town, the serene historical village is what Albuquerque and New Mexico are all about. We share that history with them with our unique decor, architecture and one of a kind interior design which is distinct and sets Hotel Albuquerque apart from all other hotels in the city. I'm sorry you did not find this to be a pleasant experience that it truly sets out to be. We are also conveniently located near other attractions that you might enjoy more such as museums, botanical gardens, scenic trails and the zoo.
I want you to know that your concerns have been heard and we appreciate the feedback. We would like to have you back as our guest and we hope that you will consider staying with us again. I'm sure we will meeti your expectations as our staff if prepared to do all they can to make your next stay most enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
60662
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Very scenic hotel. Unique asthetic for a good value. The location is great to walk to Old Town and browse around. Also some good walking/running trails nearby and the staff was helpful is giving directions. Overall staff was friendly and helpful. Gorgeous, spacious rooms. Q Bar on site is lively and fun, and it is connected so you can walk. A winery in walking distance for some tasting and a great meal. The hotel is near the airport and easy to find.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juddmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. Hotel Albuquerque is in a great location and I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of the nearby attractions such as the walking trails and winery. Old Town is the best and the cultural experience it offers is truly what New Mexico is all about. We portray many of those traditions throughout our hotel as well.

Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

In town for a conference, we stayed here because of the location. The hotel is good, with a decor that is quaint, if not overdone. You could film a Mexican movie set in the 40's in the cafeteria. The rooms are good, but with noisy window AC units. And my pet peeve: you have to crawl under the desk to connect your gadgets. Internet service is free, but unsteady. Food is good and staff are very friendly. So, it's good overall, but the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence at the reception ... Where did that come from? There is a case of ratings inflation

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My stay at the hotel Albuquerque was the worst stay in a hotel that i ever had the hotel was dirty they don't accomadate handicap people what so ever the staff was very rude and the food made me sick

Room Tip: The holiday inn is way better i dont suggest staying at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHtls, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
I apologize for the concerns you had during your stay at the Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town. We appreciate all feedback and i would be happy to discuss these items with you further. I can be reached by calling the Hotels main phone number. Regardless, we want you to know that your concerns will be addressed so that upon your next visit, we will more than meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,652 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,373 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
744 reviews
Hotel Chaco
#28 of 144 in Albuquerque
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Property: Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2007 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing