We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Local comfort food”

Duran Central Pharmacy
Ranked #48 of 1,921 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: In business since 1942, Duran Central Pharmacy is one of the oldest commercial establishments in Albuquerque. The pharmacy has grown considerably over the years, reflecting changes in the health and medical fields. The original soda fountain has grown into a small restaurant, serving New Mexican food and is famous in the area for its red and green chile. Duran's offers a wide variety of products from all over the world - from medicinal herbs to imported chocolates and fancy soaps to trendy gadgets. In addition, there is no better place for a genuine New Mexican enchilada or green chile cheeseburger!
Reviewed 1 February 2018

I am an out of towner visiting with a family and they insisted on coming to Duran's for brunch. A bit of a whole in the wall place attached to an eclectic drug store and gift shop. Basic, down home food served in an environment from out of the 50s. Six of us eating and looking at everyone's reaction, anything you order is going to be very good, especially the breakfast burrito. Everyone who ordered the burrito took a to-go bag since there was so much food. I had the combination plate. Taco, enchilada, tamale. Very good, basic but I am not sure I would know a great, basic taco enchilada and tamale so there are no frills here or fusions or experimenting with combinations of flavors. Everyone raves over the red sauce (chili sauce)since it is apparently the authentic way to serve it. Chips and salsa served with every meal and I recall one I liked a lot the other had too much onion taste. The quacamole was very good. the place was packed and many standing in line to be seated on this late Sunday morning. I assume no reservations taken so time you visit well. Earlier is better than later for brunch/lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkV709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona G, Owner at Duran Central Pharmacy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thanks for your positive review. Thank you for visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2018

A lunch counter in a pharmacy - frozen in time like a Norman Rockwell painting. It looks preserved and not like some recent replication. Points are earned just by the visuals that create a pleasant atmosphere. Have been there three times and ordered the same thing each time it is so good. A bowl of hot green chile with small mountain of lean pure white shredded chicken that is served with an excellent blanket sized warm tortilla. Some day I will try something else, but why? Service is friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveHereNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona G, Owner at Duran Central Pharmacy, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

I am glad we have been able to deliver a great experience for you. Thanks for the positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We went there for dinner after arriving in town. It’s a little diner located inside the pharmacy. Food is excellent! Staff is friendly and prices can’t be beat. Would definitely recommend for a quick meal.

Thank 6Street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona G, Owner at Duran Central Pharmacy, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thank you for giving us a try! We are happy to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Caron (my wife) and I went to This Duran Central Pharmacy as we were given a gift card for this place. Though we have lived here in this area for over 30 years, I never heard of Duran Central Pharmacy. The restaurant part of the pharmacy is very small; perhaps less than ten tables, However, this gave the place a very friendly atmosphere and I'm certain it attracts regulars. There is even a sign that tells you to sit anywhere. Our waitress was as pleasant and friendly as any we have ever experienced. The menu was small which made the selection easy. There was nothing special about the food. It was not at all bad, but certainly nothing special except for the homemade tortillas and tortilla chips! And, they were quite tasty! This place just had the old fashioned feel of the local pharmacy that was prevalent decades ago. I can tell you this much, though it only got three stars from us, we most certainly will be back. The stars reflect the average food for selection and flavor but the experience was delightful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona G, Owner at Duran Central Pharmacy, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Hi Mark,
Thanks for coming in. We use high quality, fresh ingredients and our chile is made in-house everyday. We hope you will find satisfaction in your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

This place is within easy walking distance of the Old Town plaza area & we stopped in for lunch on the advice of a friend. When we asked the waitress for a recommendation on what to eat, she told us to put the menu away & she'd "fix us up" with a sampling of her favorites & for us not to worry about the price, she'd take care of us! And she did just that. We had a couple of appetizers & then a "sampler platter" of about 3 different things from the regular menu. It was all very good. We'd eat there again.

1  Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona G, Owner at Duran Central Pharmacy, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Hi Teresa,
Thanks for coming in! We are glad you had a good experience. Please come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duran Central Pharmacy also viewed

 

Been to Duran Central Pharmacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing