We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
41
38
6
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
38
6
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews port aransas private beach fully stocked kitchen living room family memories sea wall bob hall pier pots pans these condos ocean front north padre national seashore the location is perfect the holiday inn swimming pool every morning short drive
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We sprung for a ocean view and I'm sure glad we did. The wall facing the ocean was completely windows and offered a gorgeous view of the ocean. You can also sit out onto the balcony and enjoy the sound of the waves crashing. The furniture was nice and island themed (our dining table was essentially a dolphin statue with a glass top; very cool) Having a kitchen to do a little cooking ourselves was one of the reasons we chose this place over the Holiday Inn down the street and it was nice to have the kitchen (and all the pots/pans/silverware) needed to cook for ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank EricWRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is our 2nd stay on the property and enjoyed every minute. Never had any trouble with the WiFi,cabana or noise. We love that you can walk down 10 steps and then a few feet and you are in your chair with a cold one in your hand.I don't enjoy that you can now drive your car on the beach but that's the city, liked it when you didn't have to worry about crazy drivers. Our condo was clean and every morning someone was their to give you fresh towels and pick up your trash. All the staff members I meet were friendly and helpful.(young gentlemen even offered to help me carry my cooler down the stairs). But sadly this maybe our last visit...I can't stand seaweed and it was everywhere. From where we live I can drive a few more hours the opposite direction and be on cleaner beaches.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GigiTX8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is our 3rd year staying at the Island House. You cannot beat the location. We stayed oceanfront this time and it was amazing (2nd floor). They have all the amenities and you don't ever have to leave the beach! And they are cheaper than most competitors, especially during the first few weeks of May.

We had a few problems with our condo this trip that we never had before. The microwave quit working one evening and they asked my husband to reset the breaker, which he did because the person could not leave front desk and we needed to finish cooking our food. Microwave started working again once it cooled down. We ordered a cabana and chairs for one day and it was 12:30 before they could set it up (seashore people had to clean off the seaweed, an isolated occurrence). No one from the office called to let us know or offer a discount for unused time so we were dressed and ready for the beach for several hours but couldn't use it. The wifi never worked after 9pm even with an ethernet cable and there was one evening of very loud music from a neighbor but that ended by 10pm. When office was notified of internet issues, they said they would have someone check on it the next day (was always working during the day). I think someone is streaming movies or playing video games with the internet at night.

The front desk is nice, but it seems like new management doesn't know how to handle guest issues and the policy that the front desk person cannot leave the desk is not a good policy. Not everything can wait until the next day.

The old management company seemed to be more willing to please the guests and more on top of things. We had extended our stay for an extra day and then changed our mind within 24 hours. We were originally told by the front desk girl that it was their policy not to allow us to apply that to our reservation for the next year, and no way it could be cancelled. The manager never came out of her office to deal with disgruntled customers (I was not the only one). Later on, a manager did call our room and said we could apply the unused reservation to a future date next year.

I miss the old management. I think somebody needs to go room by room in this place and fix/replace things that are broken or not working. Also, people in the office need to be proactive with handling guest requests and the manager needs to come out of the office to handle bigger problems and not make the young girl at the desk handle disgruntled customers. If they aren't going to replace things, they need an after-hours maintenance guy to fix things when they break in the evening.

We will give this place one more try next year and see how it goes. If it is still this bad next year we will pay more for a different location in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Casey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed during a long weekend in April with a large HS band group (200+). The condos are fully furnished and all you have to bring is the food for meals. It is a "U" shaped property with the pool located inside the "U". The beach is literally right outside the patio doors thus the location is what you're paying for. Some of the rooms have some a little wear being so close to the salt spray environment but not a deal breaker. Maintenance and housekeeping staff are always present to fix and clean. The office personnel are friendly and helpful. I would recommend this property to individuals, families and groups.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TXflatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have spent the last 4 Feb's here and have no hesitation in recommending it. It has just about everything ( a large and warm pool, daily parties, very friendly people, clean facilities, etc.) The staff are friendly, experienced and quickly respond to any request. Plus their coffee in the morning is free and excellent! So, if you are looking for a day, week or monthly adventure on the Gulf of Mexico step out of your door. You can comb the shore for ocean shells, enjoy delicious sea food overlooking the bay in nearby restaurants, fish, golf or do nothing (my favorite) as the spirit moves you. We love it here. You will too. Tom & Mary Eggleston

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teggie2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews