We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi(Corpus Christi)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$148
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Staybridge Suites Corpus Christi(Corpus Christi)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$128
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel(Corpus Christi)
US$136
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$170
US$148
Hampton.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Padre Island(Corpus Christi)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$160
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Corpus Christi(Corpus Christi)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Corpus Christi(Corpus Christi)
US$183
US$169
Residence Inn
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Corpus Christi(Corpus Christi)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$107
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
39
37
6
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
37
6
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsport aransasprivate beachliving roomfully stocked kitchenfamily memoriessea wallpots pansthese condosbob hall pierheated poolnational seashoreocean frontnorth padrethe location is perfectevery morningthe holiday innshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is our 3rd year staying at the Island House. You cannot beat the location. We stayed oceanfront this time and it was amazing (2nd floor). They have all the amenities and you don't ever have to leave the beach! And they are cheaper than most competitors, especially during the first few weeks of May.

We had a few problems with our condo this trip that we never had before. The microwave quit working one evening and they asked my husband to reset the breaker, which he did because the person could not leave front desk and we needed to finish cooking our food. Microwave started working again once it cooled down. We ordered a cabana and chairs for one day and it was 12:30 before they could set it up (seashore people had to clean off the seaweed, an isolated occurrence). No one from the office called to let us know or offer a discount for unused time so we were dressed and ready for the beach for several hours but couldn't use it. The wifi never worked after 9pm even with an ethernet cable and there was one evening of very loud music from a neighbor but that ended by 10pm. When office was notified of internet issues, they said they would have someone check on it the next day (was always working during the day). I think someone is streaming movies or playing video games with the internet at night.

The front desk is nice, but it seems like new management doesn't know how to handle guest issues and the policy that the front desk person cannot leave the desk is not a good policy. Not everything can wait until the next day.

The old management company seemed to be more willing to please the guests and more on top of things. We had extended our stay for an extra day and then changed our mind within 24 hours. We were originally told by the front desk girl that it was their policy not to allow us to apply that to our reservation for the next year, and no way it could be cancelled. The manager never came out of her office to deal with disgruntled customers (I was not the only one). Later on, a manager did call our room and said we could apply the unused reservation to a future date next year.

I miss the old management. I think somebody needs to go room by room in this place and fix/replace things that are broken or not working. Also, people in the office need to be proactive with handling guest requests and the manager needs to come out of the office to handle bigger problems and not make the young girl at the desk handle disgruntled customers. If they aren't going to replace things, they need an after-hours maintenance guy to fix things when they break in the evening.

We will give this place one more try next year and see how it goes. If it is still this bad next year we will pay more for a different location in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Casey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed during a long weekend in April with a large HS band group (200+). The condos are fully furnished and all you have to bring is the food for meals. It is a "U" shaped property with the pool located inside the "U". The beach is literally right outside the patio doors thus the location is what you're paying for. Some of the rooms have some a little wear being so close to the salt spray environment but not a deal breaker. Maintenance and housekeeping staff are always present to fix and clean. The office personnel are friendly and helpful. I would recommend this property to individuals, families and groups.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TXflatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have spent the last 4 Feb's here and have no hesitation in recommending it. It has just about everything ( a large and warm pool, daily parties, very friendly people, clean facilities, etc.) The staff are friendly, experienced and quickly respond to any request. Plus their coffee in the morning is free and excellent! So, if you are looking for a day, week or monthly adventure on the Gulf of Mexico step out of your door. You can comb the shore for ocean shells, enjoy delicious sea food overlooking the bay in nearby restaurants, fish, golf or do nothing (my favorite) as the spirit moves you. We love it here. You will too. Tom & Mary Eggleston

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teggie2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Have stayed here for several years for 2 months each year. The property has declined to the point I will not be back next year. One of the two elevators were broken for most of our stay and the other was suspect to the point few people would use it.Most rooms have not been upgraded and there is no way to assure getting a comfortable bed in both bedrooms. Some rooms have upgraded appliances and tv's, some not. Ours did not. On site management is unprofessional and lacking in abilities. It appears they are having problems with covering costs and are allowing the property to become rundown to the point it will be condemed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jack p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CynthiaGM, General Manager at Island House Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hello Jack P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I would like to apologize about the issue you encountered with our elevators. Unfortunately, no matter where people stay, sometimes elevators stop working. We are thankful that our elevator company is very responsive and usually comes out within the hour when this type of thing happens.

I know that you spoke with our front desk manager during your stay regarding your concerns with the comfort of the bed. It was noted on your account that she offered to move you to another room but that you declined to do so. I wanted you to know that since your last visit, that particular unit as well as many others have been updated and renovated.

Also, we are very fortunate to be in business for almost 50 years and we do not have any issues covering costs especially to the point that you are expressing on this review. We are actually very proud of this establishment and the fact that we get very positive feedback on a daily basis. We are also very proud of the fact that many of our guests call Island House their "home away from home".

Thank you again,

Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

PLUS: The interiors are BEAUTIFUL, it's right on the beach, nice pool, awesome views no matter what unit you get, very friendly staff, superior value. We have stayed here 7 times & we will continue to visit each & every summer. FANTASTIC for families with children or teens. Outside grills are a plus but it's first come first serve, so get there early. Ground are kept spotless, never any trash, dead plants, etc. BABY SEA TURTLE hatchlings can be viewed weekly at the Padre Island National Seashore about 15 minutes away. You can get the hatchling hotline by going to their website to get up to the minute "hatchling release" information...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

TIPS: We have never found the sheets to be soft & comfortable so we always bring our own. Master bedroom are king size. Also, if there is any loud music or guests late at night, there is no one at the office to take your call, you have to call the police. This only happened to us once & it was handled well by local authorities. We have stayed here many times & this was an isolated incident. But it's good to know now the office is closed at night.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets, ours are never comfy The view is fantastic no matter which unit you get
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyansMom05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews