We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island House Condominiums
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed during a long weekend in April with a large HS band group (200+). The condos are fully furnished and all you have to bring is the food for meals. It is a "U" shaped property with the pool located inside the "U". The beach is literally right outside the patio doors thus the location is what you're paying for. Some of the rooms have some a little wear being so close to the salt spray environment but not a deal breaker. Maintenance and housekeeping staff are always present to fix and clean. The office personnel are friendly and helpful. I would recommend this property to individuals, families and groups.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TXflatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have spent the last 4 Feb's here and have no hesitation in recommending it. It has just about everything ( a large and warm pool, daily parties, very friendly people, clean facilities, etc.) The staff are friendly, experienced and quickly respond to any request. Plus their coffee in the morning is free and excellent! So, if you are looking for a day, week or monthly adventure on the Gulf of Mexico step out of your door. You can comb the shore for ocean shells, enjoy delicious sea food overlooking the bay in nearby restaurants, fish, golf or do nothing (my favorite) as the spirit moves you. We love it here. You will too. Tom & Mary Eggleston

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teggie2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Have stayed here for several years for 2 months each year. The property has declined to the point I will not be back next year. One of the two elevators were broken for most of our stay and the other was suspect to the point few people would use it.Most rooms have not been upgraded and there is no way to assure getting a comfortable bed in both bedrooms. Some rooms have upgraded appliances and tv's, some not. Ours did not. On site management is unprofessional and lacking in abilities. It appears they are having problems with covering costs and are allowing the property to become rundown to the point it will be condemed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jack p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CynthiaGM, General Manager at Island House Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hello Jack P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I would like to apologize about the issue you encountered with our elevators. Unfortunately, no matter where people stay, sometimes elevators stop working. We are thankful that our elevator company is very responsive and usually comes out within the hour when this type of thing happens.

I know that you spoke with our front desk manager during your stay regarding your concerns with the comfort of the bed. It was noted on your account that she offered to move you to another room but that you declined to do so. I wanted you to know that since your last visit, that particular unit as well as many others have been updated and renovated.

Also, we are very fortunate to be in business for almost 50 years and we do not have any issues covering costs especially to the point that you are expressing on this review. We are actually very proud of this establishment and the fact that we get very positive feedback on a daily basis. We are also very proud of the fact that many of our guests call Island House their "home away from home".

Thank you again,

Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

PLUS: The interiors are BEAUTIFUL, it's right on the beach, nice pool, awesome views no matter what unit you get, very friendly staff, superior value. We have stayed here 7 times & we will continue to visit each & every summer. FANTASTIC for families with children or teens. Outside grills are a plus but it's first come first serve, so get there early. Ground are kept spotless, never any trash, dead plants, etc. BABY SEA TURTLE hatchlings can be viewed weekly at the Padre Island National Seashore about 15 minutes away. You can get the hatchling hotline by going to their website to get up to the minute "hatchling release" information...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

TIPS: We have never found the sheets to be soft & comfortable so we always bring our own. Master bedroom are king size. Also, if there is any loud music or guests late at night, there is no one at the office to take your call, you have to call the police. This only happened to us once & it was handled well by local authorities. We have stayed here many times & this was an isolated incident. But it's good to know now the office is closed at night.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets, ours are never comfy The view is fantastic no matter which unit you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyansMom05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Travelling from Europe we didn't realize Texas was as stunning like this. We had a condo on the third floor vieuw on the beach/ocean. Condo was very comfortable and no complains about service. I would definitly recommend this place.

There was construction / renovation going on but this did not disturb us

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingDutchman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
28.6 km away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 79 in Corpus Christi
3,096 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cor...
#38 of 79 in Corpus Christi
240 reviews
32.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi I-37 - Navigation Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Best Western Padre Island
Best Western Padre Island
#5 of 79 in Corpus Christi
330 reviews
0.7 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi Padre IS
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#17 of 79 in Corpus Christi
552 reviews
27.1 km away
Emerald Beach Hotel
Emerald Beach Hotel
#43 of 79 in Corpus Christi
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Condominiums

Address: 15340 Leeward Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78418-8021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Corpus Christi
Price Range: €173 - €205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 1,2 and 3 bedroom Beachfront Condominiums for rent nightly, weekly and monthly(Winter Texan Rates). Our property is located just steps away from the sand and ocean. We are the the only Condominiums that offer a "pedestrian only" beach on North Padre Island! All of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens, dining and living room areas with their own private balcony or patio that overlook the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Island House Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island House Hotel Corpus Christi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing