We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Complaining”
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Garden Inn
Ranked #66 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Stop Complaining”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel is just perfect!

King size bed for a King. The room was big.

It's location is just as perfect. Right off the highway. It's not luxury but it's just right. The prices are ridiculously low. Continental breakfast sucked but then again who gives a fkuc, go to Denny's right around the corner, stop being cheap.

I would CERTAINLY stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorerStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    40
    80
    65
    123
See reviews for
67
81
42
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2012

1. People awake at all hours of the night making noise, "domestic disputes" in the hallways at 1am, walls thin as paper above and to the sides.
2. Water never warmer than luke warm.
3. Paper towels would dry your body better than the towels provided by the hotel.
4. What am I a jailbird in prison and cannot be trusted with at least 2 ply toilet paper?
5. Tv had literally 15 channels and not even good ones. They included the food channel, tlc, the hallmark channel. Come on? What happened to a little hbo?
6. Tv set was a 19" tv. Please, the tv set was like 15 years old, isn't there a rule to replace tv's after a certain amount of time?
7. I swear the shampoo/conditioner was dish soap.
8. Closet was broken

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvfresh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Great Falls, MT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The front desk attendant looked like some guy off the bus stop. Not only did he look very unprofessional (He was wearing jeans and a faded hoodie) but was also rude. When I first came into ask how much the rooms were, he said $79. I come back after grabbing dinner and he tells me $90. I'm not sure if hotels typically raise prices out of the blue like this but it seemed like he was trying to pocket the extra cash. Anyway, I reminded him that he already told me $79 so he honored that price.

As I walking up the stairs to my room, I saw 2 homeless people in the dumpster having sex. I know that's not really the hotels fault but definitely gave me the creeps. Plus, from what I'm reading from other reviews, it seems like homeless people have been a reoccurring problem here.

The room itself was definitely not worthy of a tripadvisor's average rating. It's just like any motel-8 or a truck stop motel. Stains on the walls, bathroom ceilings falling off, oddly-scented linen, squeaking floors, old 70's decor.

Bottom line: I would not pay over $50... MAYBE $60 for this place. Pay $20 more and go to a place where you don't feel like you need to disinfect every part of your body

Room Tip: Stay close to the lobby. Further away you get, the more shady it gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skimmilk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usa, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Needed a last-minute bed to sleep in so I booked this place. At first I mistakenly went to the Hilton Garden Inn and thought WOW how nice for what I'm paying. But no, they directed me to the ROYAL Garden Inn.

Well, it royally...sucked. To clarify, it's not like there was hair all over the bathroom. The woman at the front desk was super nice. There was edible food at the continental breakfast. However, there was an awesome blood-like stain on the carpet that greeted me upon arrival...mmmm. The bed comfort was meh with rock pillows.

Here's the thing: It's like it got redone in 1976 and never touched again. I really should have ponied up the $40 extra and stayed somewhere nicer to avoid depression. I have enough problems in life as it is.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koln K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed at the Royal Garden Inn for a conference in Feb 2012. Good points first - they offer a free shuttle service to/from the airport, the room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the location was great for getting to the conference at Salt Palace Convention Centre. Another bonus was the free WiFi. However, there were some bad points. The room was a bit dated with the wallpaper peeling off the walls in some places. Also the advertised cable/satellite TV didn't work and there were scorch marks up the wall on one of the power sockets. I could also hear the people in the room above me as they walked about though I was so tired most nights that it didn't stop me getting to sleep. Then, on the last day I woke up to water dripping through the ceiling of the bathroom from the room above me. It stopped after 15 mins so I guess it was related to the shower being used upstairs. I was glad it was my last night as it definitely put me off staying in the room. It seems it wasn't only my room with a water problem as when I checked out I heard another guest complaining of the same thing! One final point is that the included breakfast was not that great. There was never any members of staff about and when items ran out they were not topped up. It would also have been nice to see some fresh fruit. Overall, you get what you pay for. If you want something thats cheap thats convenient for downtown and you only need the basics then this hotel is fine. However, the water through the ceiling issue definitely raises some safety issues!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 km away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#50 of 75 in Salt Lake City
231 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
246 reviews
0.3 km away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City...
#45 of 75 in Salt Lake City
169 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake C...
#57 of 75 in Salt Lake City
842 reviews
0.1 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Inn

Property: Royal Garden Inn
Address: 154 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2701
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Hotel Salt Lake City
Hotel Royal Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing