We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below usual standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #65 of 77 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

It's ok, but it's not as good as other econolodges. Bathroom was particularly unpleasant. It's close to the TRAX station so it was acceptable for one night, but every other econolodge of stayed in was nicer. It had everything you needed, but furniture was knackered and it was just a bit dingy

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jarvo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

My parents and I stayed here for an overnight on a drive from Oregon to Colorado. The hotel is well located, near the highway and transport, and across the street from the excellent Red Iguana.

The WiFi was free and pretty fast, A/C functioned perfectly and my bed was surprisingly comfortable.

Unfortunately, this didn't really make up for the fact that the hotel was otherwise in pretty disgusting shape. Highlights included: A/C unit covered in dust, hairs (not mine!) on the floor of the bathroom and shower, plug sockets without covers, a broken TV, chipped paint and scuffed carpet throughout. In my parents' room next door, the refrigerator had been left unplugged and smelled so bad it was unusable. I decided it was safer not to take a close look at the sheets on the bed before climbing in.

We didn't experience any of the safety concerns that others have raised and I managed to have a pretty good night's sleep in the end. It was just all a bit... gross.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

If you are someone that it's not that worry about cleanness this place will work for you!! It has and excellent location walking distance from few places to eat and downtown. Fair amount of parking space. It's a good place to just sleep for few hrs. It's priced for what you get. Pictures are not always updated on web sites.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pinketa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

This place is the worst. Was there for a motorcycle rally with five friends. Drug dealers and prostitutes trolling the place. Finally had to go to the office and complain about the guy smoking crack outside the door. When I did complain the front desk guy said what do I expect in downtown Salt Lake.
Filthy floors in the kitchen area where they have morning breakfast.
Filthy outside (heroin bag outside my door). My friend had an expensive bag stolen off his bike. As a tourism industry consultant I am stunned how Choice hotels can franchise this place. It speaks volumes to their low standards and as a result I will always avoid Choice hotels in the future.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

When we checked in late, the manager had to let us in because the door was locked. He was very professional and helpful and made check in very easy! Thank you! He provided the information for my stay without asking. We had free wi-fi, breakfast and parking. I did have to ask for a hair dryer and soap because the room did not have them. The water was very hot, so be careful. Breakfast was continental and had several tables to eat at if you miss the rush. We did ask for an extra pillow and wash clothes and the manager delivered. Great stay and very nice people all around.

Room Tip: Economic Stay for One Night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdeniker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
2.2 km away
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temple
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temp...
#60 of 77 in Salt Lake City
504 reviews
9.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Salt Lake City
Quality Inn & Suites Salt Lake C...
#53 of 77 in Salt Lake City
161 reviews
2 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#46 of 77 in Salt Lake City
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Airport Inn Hotel
Airport Inn Hotel
#56 of 77 in Salt Lake City
471 reviews
2.1 km away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#51 of 77 in Salt Lake City
246 reviews
6.3 km away
Ramada Salt Lake City
Ramada Salt Lake City
#54 of 77 in Salt Lake City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 715 W North Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84116-3351
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 77 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range: €35 - €54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing