We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Canyon

There are lakes, rivers and streams to hike and see. Great way to get out of the smog and get some... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Ray V
,
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Climbing and hiking adventure

Spectacular fall foliage in my outdoor adventure up this magnificent canyon. I encourage you to... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
DerekLarsen
,
Salt Lake City, Utah
via mobile
Read all 1,056 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Salt Lake City
from US$99.00
More Info
from US$63.16
More Info
Old Town Tour
2 Reviews
from US$20.00
More Info
from US$41.96
More Info
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveller rating
870
170
11
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
870
170
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver lake park city beautiful drive donut falls guardsman pass silver fork lodge brighton ski resort rock climbing lake mary solitude and brighton twin lakes lake solitude hiking trails fall colors great hiking beautiful scenery natural beauty
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 1,056 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Big Cottonwood Canyon has many attractions for all kinds of people. Get in the outdoors, go for a drive, have a nice hike, look at the excellent scenery, go skiing in the winter....plenty to do!

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank Cam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We enjoyed visiting and hiking in Big Cottonwood Canyon over Fourth of July weekend 2017.

There was still snow on the mountain tops.

We enjoyed our drive through very scenic Big Cottonwood Canyon.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Amazing hike, about 4.5 miles up and 4.5 down. We were told 3 miles by a couple that looked like professional hikers. It's NOT! 2/2.5 hours to get up and 1.5 hours back. We're not avid hikers but I would highly recommend to come prepared. 2 litters of water per person, hiking shoes, hat and sunglasses a must. Mosquitos near the lake and at dusk. Parking is easy, just drive up until you see Mill B South trail and park. I'll be back to Utah for another great hike!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank tropicalvikingspete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Not just a winter ski get away. The Spruces Campground is a cool pine tree oasis with crystal clear Big Cottonwood Creek flowing through. We also love attending the Brighton Branch for church on Sundays - the only LDS chapel I know of that has view windows inside the chapel (that face the impressive mountains).

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Had some time to kill in the area when I came out for a job interview and this scenic byway blew me away! You could hike for weeks here and still not do the same one. Even without the hikes, you still get the beautiful views.!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Mitch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews