We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near downtown.”
Review of Metropolitan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropolitan Inn
Ranked #51 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Basic hotel with nice room. We had to change rooms as door keys would not work and they were very helpful. Not the best location but safe enough. Looks a bit rundown and could use some work. Great mattress. We walked downtown to catch the free train in less than 10 minutes. Basic continental breakfast and reasonable price for room.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rags12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harshy P, Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thank you for your feed back . we have worked on the door issues to make it easy on the guest , about the safety of the location , even though we are in the heart of downtown we are in a very secure area , we have surveillance around the building which is monitor 24/7 not because its not a safe area but because we want to re-assure our guest comfort, our parking is well lit for the commodity of the guest and visitors , our location close to restaurants and transportation . we hope to be an option in the future for your traveling needs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Salt Lake and although from the outside it did look a bit rundown and could do with a facelift, we found our room to be very clean and tidy, Wifi worked well in the room. There was a small lift to carry cases up to the first floor which was handy. There seems to be a lot of complaints about the breakfast and although it was basic we found it to be fine, especially the waffles you could make yourself with the waffle machine! It was in a good location with a few restaurants nearby, Temple Square and the main area was only a good 20/30 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Di-Roth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harshy P, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hello Dear,

Thank you for your feedback and review. We apologize if any inconvenience during your visit. We do hope you will consider visiting again.

Best Regards,

Harshy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The only good thing about his hotel is that it's centrally located in the downtown area. The staff (were they part-time?) did not know where the most recognized sites were located. They did not even offer to "look up" or have a local map? Never, ever have we had such bad service to include the breakfast - UGH! We learned our lesson, BIG mistake should have read the reviews prior to booking.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank inclusion-equity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harshy P, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hello Dear

Thank you for your feedback and review. We apologize that we were unable to meet the needed standards during your visit. We do hope you will consider visiting again.

Best Regards,

Harshy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for one night before traveling as a part of our 1 month trip.
Great stay, good location. The room was clean with excellent facilities. Great value for money.
Only the breakfast was disapointing.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Boris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harshy P, Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hello Dear

Thank you for your feedback and review. We apologize that we were unable to meet the needed standards during your visit. We do hope you will consider visiting again.

Best Regards,

Harshy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Be Aware! Photos are from years ago! I'm not sure if it's under new management or what, but this place does not look well maintained at all! If we weren't so tired from traveling all day, we would have stayed somewhere else. A hotel has never made more of a terrible impression on us. Staff seemed friendly enough I guess, though there was hardly any interaction. I can get past out dated rooms, but stains on walls, carpet and ironing board had me questioning the whole place. Don't waste your time and money. For the extra $20 you could stay somewhere with 4-5 stars that far exceeds this place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harshy P, Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Hi Dear
Thanks for write reviews. I really appreciate for your business. Sorry for any inconvenience happened. We will address issues directly.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
4 km away
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temple
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temp...
#60 of 75 in Salt Lake City
491 reviews
0.4 km away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#45 of 75 in Salt Lake City
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
984 reviews
10.9 km away
Rodeway Inn Salt Lake City Airport
Rodeway Inn Salt Lake City Airpo...
#48 of 75 in Salt Lake City
296 reviews
15.3 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Inn

Address: 524 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2318
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range: €52 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful little Gem of a hotel among the many giants of big box hotels is perfectly nestled in downtown Salt Lake City just 12 minutes walk to the Salt Palace Convention Center, add another minute to that and you are at Temple Square, City Creek Center Shopping Mall, one block away from a "trax" free zone Utah's public transportation (UTA). Dozens of of restaurants, cafes, and bars walking distance availability. If you dont want to walk, cycle cabs are a phone call away, and make regular passes by our front entrance for convenience. 5.7 Miles from Salt Lake City International Airport (7-10 minute drive). A 4 minute drive or 15 minute walk to The Venue (1.2 Miles). Free daily Continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, Cable t.v. in every room. Metropolitan Inn is the ONLY hotel in Utah with America's Most Recommended Mattress, Tempur-Pedic Mattresses! Sleep in Health and Luxury at the Metropolitan Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Metropolitan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Salt Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing