We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Motel”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed at Glenfern for one night while we visited the Franz Josef Glacier, the rooms were excellent, clean and with a private area outside at which we could eat in peace.

The views from the hotel are stunning and the service from the staff exceptional nothing was too much trouble and the advice provided was excellent.

If we ever return we will definitely book into Glenfern.

Room Tip: Further back from the road has better views and slightly less noise, but it's not a busy road at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reded46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    176
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
128
306
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We paid $322 for one night for a two room villa that had only one bathroom. It would be OK for a small family but inconvenient for two couples. It was clean and the owner/mgr very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerrydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights while we explored the Franz Josef area. The room was exceptionally clean and the villa itself was very spacious for a one bedroom. You can see why this is one of the best places in Franz Josef to stay.

Cesar at reception was very friendly and helpful, organising our glacier tour and throwing in some free wifi as well. The area is so beautiful and from the villa you can get extraordinary views of the mountains. It is about a 5 minute drive out of town so make sure you get a car!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We arrived early evening in Franz Josef without having booked any accommodation in advance and were very lucky to get in on a cancellation. Although a little more expensive than we would usually pay it was worth it. We stayed in Villa No. 5 with cooking facilities, eating area, sitting area, a double bedroom downstairs and 3 single beds upstairs. The bathroom was large and luxurious. I totally endorse other reviews - the accommodation was spacious, spotlessly clean, beautifully designed and decorated. The attention to detail in every respect did not go unnoticed.
What a wonderful genuine welcome from the gentleman at reception. We were treated like royalty. He was so very obliging, helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Because we liked this place so much we wanted to extend our stay, sadly the complex was completely book out. We were grateful for a very late check-out the next day at no extra charge. Our daughter was also grateful for the free Wi-Fi.
A car would be recommended as this beautiful quiet complex is well out of Franz Joseph.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Well appointed, spacious cabins furnished to a high standard. We stayed two nights (orginally booking one night via the i-site and decided to stay a second night). Owner very friendly and helpful. Onsite laundry was very useful after a few days in the mountains!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.1 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,117 reviews
2.3 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,325 reviews
2.3 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
329 reviews
2.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.4 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Property: Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing