We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High quality accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Misty Peaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Misty Peaks
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestreshire, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“High quality accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Very well appointed spacious accommodation with ground floor veranda looking across open fields(we were not impressed by the broken ironing board). Dave booked our trip to the glacier and recommended walks. But Fox lives on its glacier's appeal and the magnificent reflections in Lake Matheson. As few people will stay here long we felt that we were treated as just another couple of tourists. Home cooked evening meals were available but at a price.However they appeared to be definitely better than the run of the mill eateries offered in town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    52
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
208
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
india
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Misty peaks, as the name suggests, sits overlooking the misty peaks of the mountains! such splendid view, stayed there during my honeymoon in September, it was the lean season and we were the only guests. Dave invited us for wine and cheese upon arrival, (his family was on vacation then ) and we dont drink wine, but loved the cheese. The best part was we could drive our car all the way upto our room, and park it right outside. While leaving, we were charged 5$ for internet, which was a little unexpected, as it was built in to hotel charges everywhere else, i mean seperating it out made it look a little trivial!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Location. Quiet semi-rural location with fantastic views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman but bit of a walk (1 km) from the village.
Room and Lodge. Large well appointed comfortable room with door leading to a nice outdoor seating area with great mountain views; fantastic shower but fridge a little noisy. Very nice, comfortable, communal lounge/dining area.
B&B experience. Very good - a nice balance between homely hospitality and hotel like service. The hosts, Dave & Lea, were very friendly and the complementary pre-dinner drinks and cheese was a great way to meet them and the other guests in a very relaxed environment. Dinner was very good, with a range of meal and wine choices, served at a large communal table in a professional manner.
Value for money. Despite the quality, overpriced - we paid $325 for the room which compared to other places we stayed was perhaps $125 too much although it was New Year's Eve/Day. Dinner, similarly, was full restaurant price. And this was the only place we stayed that charged for wi-fi access ($5) ...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed one night and it was OK.
The room was clean.
We also had dinner there and it was good (a little expensive though).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We had a lovely stay at Misty Peaks. The house is very well set up, with private external access to each room, and a nice communal area. The room is well appointed with the best shower on the whole of the South Island! The breakfast was delicious and OMG the bacon was the best! Couldn't get enough of it. Evening drinks with the hosts and other guests were pleasant. As one of the other reviewers mentioned, our stand-in hosts Mike and Anne did a fabulous job running Misty Peaks. You could not meet friendlier or more open and generous people.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.1 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.6 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
17.0 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 km away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Peaks

Property: Misty Peaks
Address: 105 Cook Flat Road | Fox Township, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#4 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Peaks 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Peaks is a small Bed and Breakfast/Hotel with only 5 guestrooms.We have beautiful views of Mt Cook and Tasman that cant be seen from the village. A complimentary glass of wine and a New Zealand cheese board is offered at 6.30 PM. Continental and cooked breakfast served in the Dining Room. We look forward to having you stay in our home, Lea Bentley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Misty Peaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Peaks Fox Glacier
Misty Peaks Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing