We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Carrington Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carrington Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely place..nice views..only downfall is that there isn't any places ( cafe ) where you can sit down and enjoy a coffee..
Does anyone know when there will be cafes or a mini supermarket so people don't have to travel so far to get a few basic things..

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank shelley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrington_ResortNZ, Carrington management team at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Shelley,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Carrington Resort. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest at our resort.

Kind regards,

Carrington management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Carrington Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017

was house hunting in the area and stayed last minute at carringtons.
lovely estate, large gardens , view over the ocean. very calm and peaceful.
was staying in 3 bedroom town house, superbly furnished. lovely staff brought around firewood for open fire place. terrace and balconies towards the ocean- was ready to move in forever.
The only reason I did not give 5 stars is, that the neighbours came hone at 1pm and banged around so much I was basically up all night.
Not soundproof walls, which is a shame.
location, view and rooms fabulous! Staff amazing otherwise.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank estellejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrington_ResortNZ, Carrington Resort Team at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Good morning Estellejulie,

Thank your for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that the noise made you uncomfortable. Your feedback will contribute to help update our current facilities and guest rules. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Carrington Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

After a day of travel in the Northland region of NZ... i decided to treat myself.. Have just eaten most delicious seafood meal of prawn starter and salmon main.. washed down by a very delicate Chardonnay which comes from the local vineyard... wonderfully presented by the staff who were most welcoming.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank PongoPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrington_ResortNZ, Carrington resort team at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear PongoPaul,

I appreciate your positive feedback about Carrington Resort. I am happy that you enjoyed dinning in our restaurant and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest at our resort.

Kind regards,
Carrington Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We were 50/50 about staying as we read some bad reviews, but we liked the response of the hotel and decided to risk it.
Wow the room was great, really good and having travelled the world we love critiquing places. The staff were warm and really friendly.
They had a new chef of 3 weeks and the food was superb almost as good as the wonderful waitress who looked after us with warmth and humour.
We had a night swim in the heated pool and soak in the spa under starlight, a really great private space.
It was great value for our stay and a wild walk to the beach in the morning instead of golf suited us well.
Finished off with a lovely brunch with the sound of laughing and nice staff in the background. Definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms look like they have a good view. It was quiet and tehy gave us a great corner roo...
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrington_ResortNZ, Carrington management at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Good morning,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending Carrington Resort to other travellers. I am sure our entire resort staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again sometime!

Kind regards,
Carrington Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

I have visited Peppers a number of times on various tours and more often than not i have walked away shaking my head wondering how they could get things wrong, the location, the lodge, the golf course are all spot on its just the lack of pride in the place that has been frustrating

The front of house staff quite simply should not be there, they are obviously from places far away and have no idea or understanding of hospitality how things usually happen in Northland, the total lack of empathy and understanding exhibited towards my group and myself was dumbfounding - the staff seemed more interested in trivial details as opposed to fixing the number of issues (afraid there were a few)

The shining light was one of the local girls who was serving in the restaurant, she saw the situation and did what makes northland great, she simply got things done, between her, her sisters and the kitchen staff the experience went from forgettable to unforgettable.

The lodge accommodation is great, very spacious rooms and all the facilities you need, there was something about waking up with the sun streaming through the large windows and looking out over the golf course that made the horror's of dealing with the front desk and front of house management dissipate

I honestly thing that with the right people doing the right jobs this place could be something special, however until they realise this i would say if you are in the area then consider staying beach side at the local holiday park which was a real gem of a find

I still rate the golf course and one of the best kept secrets in New Zealand golf, i only hope the owners keep up with the increased focus they have obviously put into the course as each time i head up it seems to get better and better

Room Tip: The lodge rooms are all equally grand and the Villas are great for groups
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingGolferNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrington_ResortNZ, Carrington management at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Good evening,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our management. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services.

Kind regards,
Carrington management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaitaia hotels
409.7 km away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
104 reviews
408.2 km away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
42 reviews
409.4 km away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
409.2 km away
Wayfarer Motel
Wayfarer Motel
#4 of 10 in Kaitaia
47 reviews
410.4 km away
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kaitaia
48 reviews
409.3 km away
Orana Motor Inn
Orana Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Kaitaia
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Resort

Address: Maitai Bay Road | RD3 Kaitaia - Karikari Penisula, Kaitaia, New Zealand (Formerly Carrington Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Price Range: €112 - €234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carrington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury and charm of Carrington Estate, situated on the beautiful Karikari Peninsula, and relax and explore the Heart of Northland. Carrington Estate sprawls amidst 3000 acres of the most pristine scenery that Northland has to offer, creating the perfect spot from which to explore the wonders of the region. Luxuriate and enjoy your comfortable spacious accommodation, where wonders sit at your doorstep, and a thousand journeys await. Let the stunning surroundings inspire and beckon you to experience the delights and hidden secrets of the local land, people, and culture. With a wealth of activities, including a championship-standard golf course, an award-winning winery, and easy access to the highlights of the region, Carrington Estate has something for everyone. Book your holiday, wedding, or corporate event at Carrington Estate today and discover the stunning Heart of Northland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Kaitaia
Carrington Hotel North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing