We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$98
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Kundalini(Montanita)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dharma Beach(Montanita)
US$150
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Balsa Surf Camp(Montanita)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Esperanto Hostel(Montanita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hostal Mamacucha(Montanita)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Casa del Sol(Montanita)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Cielo(Montanita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
17
9
11
3
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
9
11
3
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2017

It is a beautiful spot, the staff is serious and helpful and the view, from the top floor, is amazing: you get to see the beach, the river and the town from a really privileged place.
The rates are low, and the hotel is actually 3 times better than what I would have thought for the price they ask.
I'd love to come back again!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscarzambranomontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPS, Gerente at SP Hotel Montanita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thanks! We´ll be happy to have you back. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

My partner and I travelled around the majority of South America for 5 months. This was the worst place we stayed on our entire trip for multiple reasons: facilities, distance, hotel under construction + mainly the hotel manager.

We stayed in the sister hotel to the Riviera, situated about a 15 minute walk from the centre of montañita.

Besides the fact that there was no toilet paper, no WiFi (despite advertisement), no hot water (despite advertisement), no window (one pane was just removed for no reason) and a broken door handle, we hated our stay here for one reason: The Abusive Manager.

When I asked about the lack of the above ^, the manager who was still drunk at 11am proceeded to become aggressive to the point of being physically threatening. He shouted at me to "sue him" if I didn't enjoy my stay and to leave Ecuador. My partner and I were very scared, as he had other men joining in in the abuse. We left quickly and took some time to reflect.

There are many great places to stay in Montañita, but this one should be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPS, Gerente at SP Hotel Montanita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Ross,
Thanks for your review.
We apologize for all the inconveniences you suffered because of our bad services and crazy manager. We are very sorry for that experience you went trough and sincerely wish you the best.
We are trying to improve in all areas.
Sorry again, Ross.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

slept for 3 nights in a 4 bed dorms, you can definitely find a better place with a nicer atmosphere than here. 2 young couples, should have slept in chichi Babylon which is much more lively. the hotel itself is clean and tidy though.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Itay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPS, Manager at SP Hotel Montanita, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

We are very sorry for the inconveniences. We are trying to improve and offer the best service.
Next time you come to Montañita pass by and visit us!
Riviera Pacific

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

My husband and I were meeting friends in Montanita. They had already made reservations at RPSH and so we opted to make reservations there too. I called the hotel. I was told they had availability and they took my information. I was told I needed to make a 50% deposit into their bank account to hold the reservation (they did not accept credit cards), so I asked for their bank information. I was told if I "liked" their Facebook page they would send me the info. Although I thought that was a pretty sneaky way to get a like, I did as they asked. I was never sent any info so a couple of days later I called back. They said they still had my reservation and would send me the deposit information. I followed that call up with an email. Later that evening I checked my email to see if I received the deposit info from them. What I did receive was a message telling me that since I did not make the deposit they re-sold the room and there was no longer any availability, so I made a reservation at a neighbouring hotel. Upon arrival in Montanita we walked past this hotel and were thankful our reservation did not go through. You can see the pool area from the street. The pool is the size of a large hot tub. The area is surrounded by artificial turf that is in need of trimming. The bamboo railings were partly painted and partly natural, all in need of attention. To get to the upper floors you have to take a rickety bamboo circular staircase. Our friends stated that they were not happy with their room on the 4th floor or the lack of service. They spent most of their free time over at our hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPS, Manager at SP Hotel Montanita, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

We are very sorry for the inconveniences. We have been trying to improve a lot and we think that right now we offer a much better service than 8 months ago.

Next time you come to Montañita please visit us. We hope we will surprise you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

i stayed in montanita on 4 different occasions
total around 4 months and i stayed in many hostels but in this one i spent the most time. its a perfect place to feel really good at after being outside all day in the sun and sand, i would come to a clean room AC great bed and overall comfort.
Also this place is perfect for girls. i didnt mind cold showers and dirty floors at other hostels but my GF loved that their bathrooms are huge and shower is hot :)

Room Tip: first floor rooms are the best, also if you feel like chilling at a big pool ask the staff about it.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Slava L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPS, Manager at SP Hotel Montanita, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you so much, Slava, for your kind words and excellent recommendation. We hope to have you with us again soon enough!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews