We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!”
Review of SP Hotel Montanita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SP Hotel Montanita
Ranked #23 of 43 Montanita B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We stayed in an 8 person room altogether and it was fun! Simple, easy, convenient and the staff was awesome. Super welcoming all the time and breakfast was Best part was it was close to the beach!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank npat2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPS, Manager at SP Hotel Montanita, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for you kind words!
Hope you girls have a nice time back at Guayaquil.
And hopefully you will get a chance to come back to Montañita soon.
The sun appeared today and is shining and making it all hot. It looks like we will have a nice week.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2017

It is a beautiful spot, the staff is serious and helpful and the view, from the top floor, is amazing: you get to see the beach, the river and the town from a really privileged place.
The rates are low, and the hotel is actually 3 times better than what I would have thought for the price they ask.
I'd love to come back again!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscarzambranomontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPS, Gerente at SP Hotel Montanita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thanks! We´ll be happy to have you back. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

My partner and I travelled around the majority of South America for 5 months. This was the worst place we stayed on our entire trip for multiple reasons: facilities, distance, hotel under construction + mainly the hotel manager.

We stayed in the sister hotel to the Riviera, situated about a 15 minute walk from the centre of montañita.

Besides the fact that there was no toilet paper, no WiFi (despite advertisement), no hot water (despite advertisement), no window (one pane was just removed for no reason) and a broken door handle, we hated our stay here for one reason: The Abusive Manager.

When I asked about the lack of the above ^, the manager who was still drunk at 11am proceeded to become aggressive to the point of being physically threatening. He shouted at me to "sue him" if I didn't enjoy my stay and to leave Ecuador. My partner and I were very scared, as he had other men joining in in the abuse. We left quickly and took some time to reflect.

There are many great places to stay in Montañita, but this one should be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPS, Gerente at SP Hotel Montanita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Ross,
Thanks for your review.
We apologize for all the inconveniences you suffered because of our bad services and crazy manager. We are very sorry for that experience you went trough and sincerely wish you the best.
We are trying to improve in all areas.
Sorry again, Ross.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

slept for 3 nights in a 4 bed dorms, you can definitely find a better place with a nicer atmosphere than here. 2 young couples, should have slept in chichi Babylon which is much more lively. the hotel itself is clean and tidy though.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Itay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPS, Manager at SP Hotel Montanita, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

We are very sorry for the inconveniences. We are trying to improve and offer the best service.
Next time you come to Montañita pass by and visit us!
Riviera Pacific

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

My husband and I were meeting friends in Montanita. They had already made reservations at RPSH and so we opted to make reservations there too. I called the hotel. I was told they had availability and they took my information. I was told I needed to make a 50% deposit into their bank account to hold the reservation (they did not accept credit cards), so I asked for their bank information. I was told if I "liked" their Facebook page they would send me the info. Although I thought that was a pretty sneaky way to get a like, I did as they asked. I was never sent any info so a couple of days later I called back. They said they still had my reservation and would send me the deposit information. I followed that call up with an email. Later that evening I checked my email to see if I received the deposit info from them. What I did receive was a message telling me that since I did not make the deposit they re-sold the room and there was no longer any availability, so I made a reservation at a neighbouring hotel. Upon arrival in Montanita we walked past this hotel and were thankful our reservation did not go through. You can see the pool area from the street. The pool is the size of a large hot tub. The area is surrounded by artificial turf that is in need of trimming. The bamboo railings were partly painted and partly natural, all in need of attention. To get to the upper floors you have to take a rickety bamboo circular staircase. Our friends stated that they were not happy with their room on the 4th floor or the lack of service. They spent most of their free time over at our hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPS, Manager at SP Hotel Montanita, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

We are very sorry for the inconveniences. We have been trying to improve a lot and we think that right now we offer a much better service than 8 months ago.

Next time you come to Montañita please visit us. We hope we will surprise you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.2 km away
Olympus Hotel
Olympus Hotel
#4 of 9 in Montanita
53 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#5 of 9 in Montanita
210 reviews
0.3 km away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Nativa Bambu Ecolodge
Nativa Bambu Ecolodge
#3 of 99 in Montanita
119 reviews
7.6 km away
Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa
Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa
#13 of 99 in Montanita
93 reviews
0 km away
Tiki Limbo
Tiki Limbo
#4 of 43 in Montanita
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SP Hotel Montanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SP Hotel Montanita

Address: Avda. Malecon del Rio S/N, Montanita 240111, Ecuador (Formerly Riviera Pacific Suites Hotel)
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Montanita
Price Range: €56 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SP Hotel Montanita 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the center of Montañita, the SP Hotel Montanita is the essence of fun, quality and great moments. All our rooms enjoy a stunning ocean view; equipped with double-glazed windows to allow you to sleep in peace (if you want to). Rates include: WiFi, complimentary cocktail, A/C, hot shower, pool, security & breakfast (which you can enjoy on our Ibiza-style Roof Terrace Bar). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your SP Hotel Montanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing