We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
181
39
4
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
39
4
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in town place to stay the owner renting boards bed was very comfortable owners are great nice garden rooms are nice minute walk yoga classes main area fresh fruit air conditioning laid back surf hammocks lesson
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2015

I can't emphasize enough how great Balsa Surf Camp is, great food, reasonable prices, fantastic accommodation and amazing people running it. Rusty and his wife Julie are great and all the staff make you feel super welcome. Was planning on staying a couple of days and ended up staying 2 weeks and getting two amazing balsa surfboards!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptombola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

Nice cozy Rooms. Very friendly staff. Tasty Breakfast, good Price,Very nice and quit location next to the Beach and the Surfspot la Punta. Rent a Surfboard at the camp is no problem. Everything was fine.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

If you're looking for a fantastic surf experience/camp, then Balsa Surf Camp is considered one of the more premium places to stay in the surfing/camping town of Montanita. The camp sits about a 5-10 minute walk just outside the busy party noise happening in the center of town. It feels like a gorgeous, secluded island retreat complete with a full-service restaurant (the food is cheap and really tasty), free wi-fi, hammocks and communal resting areas, spa, and jacuzzi! I LOVED this place. It's a 1 minute walk to La Punta (a local surf spot) literally right in front of the hostel. The owner (Cesar "Rasty" Moreira) is actually a famed local surfboard shaper whose specialty is surfboards made from Balsa wood. If you contact him in advance, he can make you a custom board (signficantly cheaper than anything you'll find in the states from wood) and the work is gorgeous. Depending on the board and the size/shape, he mentioned he likes to know ahead of time (about 20 days in advance). If you're going to get a board from him, he highly recommends bringing your own surfboard bag as those are hard to get once you're in Montanita. He rents a variety of boards out if you want to test them. His wife and the staff are really nice people and they also offer surf lessons with local surf champions! It's very local/community based. Because this place is considered more premium than other options in town, it doesn't get as crazy busy during the low surf season but you can always meet people from the other hostels right next door. All in all, an amazing experience. Even if you don't surf, this place was such an awesome place to stay at. If you're interested in a custom Balsa wood board, ask me about the one I had made from Rasty. He was great. Keep in mind, sometimes these guys are slow to respond to emails, so call if you can't get a hold of them.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missnugen226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Balsa Surf Camp is a great place - far enough away from the madness of Montanita but close enough to enjoy it if you wish! Rooms are large and clean, and breakfast is really great. We had a surf lesson during our stay - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Olivia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

My husband and I stayed here one night as a stopping point en-route to Puerto Lopez. We also had dinner at the hotel which was great. I don't remember the name of my dish but it contained shrimp mixed with coconut milk, rice and mashed potatoes. The grounds of the hotel was very interesting and the beach was blissful. My husband and I felt safe enough to walk it at night. Our room was cozy and comfortable. Unfortunately we had to leave pretty early the next morning. This happened to be before they typically prepare breakfast. We had informed them of this the night before and was pleasantly surprised to find out the morning we were to leave that they had prepared us two bags of breakfast items for our journey. Inside the bags we found a hot panini sandwich, a banana, an apple and bottle of water. The only problem we had was with sleeping due to some loud music from another hotel nearby. Just bring some earplugs to be safe.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews