We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Kundalini(Montanita)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balsa Surf Camp(Montanita)
Book now, pay at stay
US$73
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charo's Hostal(Montanita)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Cielo(Montanita)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Sol(Montanita)(Great Value!)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dharma Beach(Montanita)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
50
33
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
33
7
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Just back from 3 weeks up and down the coast of Ecuador and without a doubt this was the best place we stayed on the coast.

Rooms are clean with comfy beds and the location is just far enough away from the party scene that a good night's sleep is easy to have.

The owner - Sylvia - could not be a more gracious host - and her staff is excellent.
The grounds and pool are kept spotless and any issues are addressed promptly (our water heater went bad and they went and bought and installed a new one within hours).

Also very easy to book thru their website and they answer email quickly.

Will definitely stay here again next time in Montanita.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KaribbeanKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

No water to drink or brush teeth. Potable water is extra charge. You have to buy water from him to brush your teeth Restaurant is not open. No coffee. Just got back from a 2 night stay that was booked as part of a whale watching tour. This was not a cheap tour so was not to be any kind of bare bones stay. Maybe this place has changed hands . The man who appears to to be the owner is very un-customer friendly, Never saw the Sylvia that other reviewers referred to. Owner said potable water was not part of his contract with tour agency. Runs out of hot water in shower quickly because they only have one heater unit for each section of several rooms. I am a senior woman traveling alone and paid a single supplement premium. He put me in a room at the end of the long run away from the main section of hotel, dark with no lights outside, I asked to be put in another room because I did not feel safe. He refused even though there was an empty room upstairs at that point. He said that room was more money (even though I had paid a premium). He did not care that I was scared and felt unsafe. Was not in courteous or accommodating in any way. Soap was a tiny sliver (no exaggeration). When asked about it, he said it was because people usually brought their own. If you use up the soap the first day you do not get another one. Only given a hand towel and 1 regular towel. No bathmat on slipper tile floor. If you asked for more towels, it was given only grudgingly. He would not make coffee as a courtesy for our group of 17 people. I would not recommend this place for any traveler especially not a woman traveling alone who is a senior citizen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seniorsolowomantrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swisspoint, Inhaber at Hotel Swisspoint, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Seniorsolowomantrave,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review. I am sorry to learn that you did not feel that Swisspoint lived up to your expectations.

From your comments it appears that when your reservation was made by the local Agent the specific room location inside of Swisspoint, as well as some other expectations you were asking for, were not specified correctly to you. However, on your request for a room change this was not possible since all rooms were booked out by the same local Agent you booked with. Putting this aside, I am however concerned you felt unsafe, since Swisspoint is not accessible from outside. The main entrance is locked by all guests and staff members as from 19:30. The whole area is monitored by our surveillance system 24h/day and a staff member is always on site during the whole night.

I could not agree on the comments regarding water in general as well as Room service. The main Room building works with two heaters for 4 Rooms (ground and upper floor). The Room section you had your room booked, works with an independent heater for 4 Rooms. Water quality in Montañita is very good and without doubt ideal for personal body care. Any guest may feel free to buy bottled water for his own purposes. In each Room - depending the amount of persons- we always place a body towel, foot towel, soap and shampoo. Room service next day exchanges wet towels and if necessary soap, shampoo and cleans the Room.

I am sorry you did not get to experience this and it is particularly unfortunate as so many other contributors on Trip Advisor have described the complete opposite. I have decided to use your comments as an example on what we have to focus on - working in future with local Agents.

Please accept my sincere apologies for this and for any inconvenience that we may have caused.

Sincerely,
Swisspoint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Cute little place with clean, large rooms. The pool was really nice, right in front of the rooms. The location is much better than staying downtown Montanita, where it is crowded and noisy. Swiss Point is still only a 5 minute walk to town and even less to the beach. Nice and quiet at night. Internet may be difficult to hook up to, but that is true in the general area. The breakfasts were good but did not work out well for our schedule since are only served between 9 and 11. Would probably work for most people.

Room Tip: Any room is good in this little place.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Breakfasts are amazing! Location quiet yet close to all the fun. Internet is hit or miss as is in all of Ecuador. This place felt very comfortable and safe. Our eleven-year-old loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We really can't say enough about Swiss Point.... our host Sylvia was "FANTASTIC", she makes
sure your stay is great. The breakfasts are a real gourmet treat!! The rooms are immaculate....
cleaned daily. The beach is walking distance..... and so is the town. We plan to return to Montanita
one day, and we wouldn't stay any where else, so if your "Holiday" plans include Montanita, I would highly recommend Swiss Point.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews