We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Spot in Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 October 2015

We always stay here after landing in Maui for a few days before checking into a condo. The rooms are all suites, we usually get 2 queens and a pull out couch and that is big enough to accommodate us for a few days. Great Service and facilities. Some of the cheaper rooms are dated, but great value for Maui.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamvab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,611 - 1,615 of 4,689 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2015

great service and staff, room and place are very clean lots of amenities with pool for adult and pool for kids and close to the beach. Great restaurant.
I will recommend this hotel to my friend and relative.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ramon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontKeaLani, Director of Operations at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2015

Aloha Ramon, thank you for your review of your recent stay and mahalo for recommending us to your family and friends! I'm delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the amenities and service at Fairmont Kea Lani so much. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Aloha and warm regards,
Younes Atallah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Second time here in as many years and we still think it's the best hotel in Wialea. Great beach, great property. We were disappointed with Nick's Fish Market (not affiliated) due to poor service but Kō and the Kea Lani restaurant were perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank 552gregj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We just returned from an eight night trip to the Farimont Kea Lani. We had stayed there several years ago, but had stayed at the Honua Kai and Hyatt after that trip and decided to return to Wailea and the Fairmont. I will try to not repeat what other reviewers have said, but will focus on a few other items.

Overall, the trip was wonderful. As everyone seems to mention, the service is top notch. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. We woke up one more to a very strong cigar smell that just kept getting stronger. I called the front desk as it was super strong (as if there were a few people in our room smoking them). They said that they would send a "patrol" by our room. It was 7 in the morning but they must have done something because we never smelled it again.

Many have mentioned that the breakfast buffet is good, but pricey. Honestly, this is the best buffet I have ever had. It was one of the reasons we actually wanted to return. The buffet didn't disappoint - there wasn't one thing that wasn't available. The food was awesome, too. The birds that people mention have actually improved over the years. One of the servers said that they are trying these green and red lights (you'll see them all over the breakfast area) but the birds have learned the light patterns so they are now testing bird feeders on the roof that release food during the breakfast times to encourage the birds to leave.

Caffe Ciao was also very handy. We had a pizza from there one night and it was great. You can also print off your boarding passes in there as computers are set up in the front of the cafe (I don't think that this is mentioned anywhere).

We were going to use the spa but I have a teenage daughter and they would not allow her in the "relaxation rooms" in case people were in a state of undress. The spa is pretty pricey but we thought it might be fun. I didn't talk to anyone that used their services so I don't have much to add about it.

We spent quite a bit of time at the pool and the beach. Loved the ability to get free umbrellas and chairs at the beach. The man that sets them up is something else - that's hard work! They still had some available during the day so don't get discouraged if they look full in the morning. The attendants at the beach were very nice and helpful. As someone else said, we were unable to rent snorkel gear or boogie boards throughout the trip as the red flag was up, but plenty of people were bringing their own and using them. Apparently, the area just to the north of the hotel is a great snorkeling spot. We had reserved the canoe ride for one morning and were glad that we did it. It was fun - don't worry, it's not a ton of work. The two guys that are on the boat with you do all of the work! They are very informative and friendly. Another guest just walked up and asked about it and they let her on the boat but from what I understand, that's rare and you should really try to reserve your spots well in advance.

We did use the shuttle service several times. Super nice drivers and very easy and fast service. We weren't going far, but it was nice not to have to worry about parking at the hotel (the spots are very small), etc. By the way, we figured out that a lot of the parking spots are being taken up by rental cars that the hotel rents out. We always found a spot to park, but it was definitely a busy lot. Overall, the hotel did not seem full so if it was busier, I might be concerned about parking spot availability.

The only suggestion that I would make is for the Fairmont to re-think their cabana situation by the pool. I'm sure that they make money off of them ($150/day, $100 after 12 pm) but most every day that we were there, the majority of them were empty and other seats were hard to come by. Cabanas by far are the focus of the seating. The slide was used by both kids and adults alike. We really liked the pool up by the swim up bar just as it was a little calmer. The adult pool - forget about trying to find a seat at that pool. You would need to get out there very early to get a seat or reserve a cabana. We did use it one evening and it was terrific.

Two quick notes - the rooms have a safe that is quite big. We were able to get a laptop, a couple of iPads, wallets, etc. in there with no problem. The hotel also provides you with two water bottles a day. During the turn down service, they will provide you with a couple of additional bottles if you ask. We drink a lot of water so this was really nice for us.

It appears that many guests go to the local Safeway to buy some additional supplies (we did), but there is a new Island Market at the Wailea Shops that we probably would have gone to instead as it's closer and the prices are a little better, too.

Last, but not least, the hotel had an Island Painting Party company come in one day. You could learn to paint a Maui sunset for $10 and take home the painting. My daughter and I did it and loved it. It was set up by the pool under covered tents and the company that did it was very friendly and made it fun plus we now have some paintings for souvenirs.

Overall, I would recommend staying at the Fairmont. We walked over to the Grand Wailea and the Four Seasons. The Grand Wailea was a big disappointment as it appears to be under some major construction. Their pool did seem nice, but the hotel is huge and the construction would drive me crazy. Apparently, it is now owned by Hilton. The Four Seasons was beautiful, but had a different vibe. We really loved the roominess of the Fairmont suite and I'm not sure if we could get a similar size room with an ocean view for a similar price at the Four Seasons.

Room Tip: Ocean View is totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KareninColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontKeaLani, Director of Operations at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Aloha Karen and thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! It sounds like you and your daughter had a fantastic vacation. I am so pleased to read your kind compliments about the top notch service at our resort, our breakfast buffet, pools & beach, Hawaiian Canoe experience and the Island Painting Party. We truly appreciate your constructive comments about the cabanas and I will review this with our leadership team. Thank you for choosing Fairmont Kea Lani and we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Aloha and best regards,
Younes Atallah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Our family had a great stay at this resort, I would recommend the pool side suites for families with young kids. Our 2 and 3yrs old had a blast and the location was perfect for many back and fourths to the room and pool

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank jasonhW725TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontKeaLani, Director of Operations at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Aloha Jason and thank you for your kind review and recommendation of Fairmont Kea Lani for your recent family vacation. Our Poolside Suites are very popular with young families, wonderful to hear that this location contributed to your family fun at the pools!

Mahalo and best regards,
Younes Atallah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
43.2 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
515 reviews
1.4 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 km away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1 km away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1 km away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: €442 - €1,169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing