We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hale Ho'omana(Makawao)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,824)
Filter reviews
4,824 results
Traveller rating
3,493
879
281
120
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,493
879
281
120
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsko restaurantcafe ciaosuite hotelnick's fish marketcanoe experienceadult poolfour seasonspresident's clubswim up barbreakfast buffetupper poolliving roomour honeymoontwo sinksocean viewwalk in showertop notch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,292 - 3,297 of 4,824 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was our fourth stay at the Kea Lani. We have always adored it. We eat at Nicks, hit the Shops at Wailea and amaze at the beautiful sight of whales in the bay.

Our last trip was great as well but the wear and tear on the rooms is showing. Popcorn ceilings and outdated decore was very evident (probably moreso as our last stay was The Four Seasons).

We were also disappointed in our view. When we first started visiting the Kea Lani, the front desk was great at offering upgrades to better rooms upon availability. This trip I booked a rather high end room to assure whale watching at its best. Our room was ocean view but angled so it was a bit disappointing. The swim up bar being located in the children's pool and not the adult pool has always been an issue for us as well.

The brunch is still terrific, the staff is courteous, and the complimentary bottle of champagne in our room on my husbands birthday was a nice surprise.

Our room wasn't serviced until very late in the afternoons so that wasn't optimal for us. All in all I love The Kea Lani. Compared to The Grand Wailea, it's hands down a better resort, but for pure five star luxury while visiting Maui, the Four Seasons is my choice.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Aloha and thank you for being such a loyal return guest. It’s wonderful to hear that you found the breakfast buffet to be as fantastic as you remembered and were touched by the special amenity your husband received for his birthday. However, we do regret that you were not satisfied with decor of the room and were disappointed by the view from your suite. We do try to upgrade upon availability but have had a busy start to the year. Thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies that your stay fell short. Mahalo and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Fairmont Kea Lani is one of the top 5 resorts on the island. I would put only the Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons ahead of it. Located in quiet Wailea, this property is hard to beat. They are competitive on price and offer as many services as the other properties nearby. Hospitality is good but certainly not 5 star. Rooms are 3 - 5 years removed from updating and are in need of additional refinement. One major drawback here is the lack of a quality spa/gym. Restaurants on property are excellent (Nicks and a new Asian fusion restaurant). Pool is amazing with an upper level swim up bar pool that is rarely crowded. Waterslide is great for kids.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to be on the north side of the hotel with an ocean view, much closer to the water that way.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tboz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Nice hotel, nice clean room, lovely grounds with private beach. Despite all this we feel that somehow it lacked. We got married in Maui and requested a king size bed which unfortunately we did not receive, we received two double beds which seemed little more than a single bed size and very uncomfortable. When explaining to front desk staff we were told it was exactly that, just a request. Only due to us explaining our disappointment and not leaving the desk the disinterested member of staff ( think she was called Ronnie) said she would see what she could do and to come back later. Which we did numerous times on this being our wedding day. Finally we were moved to a room which we were told would be exactly the same view as our original room which was beautiful but oh dear, the disappointment continued.. We were moved to a room right above of a construction/dumping site, which was far from the romantic setting we were after so immediately rejected this room and a member of staff said our room had already been booked to someone else, even though we had only just left. At this point another member of staff got involved and moved us back to our previous room. When asked if we enjoyed our stay on check out we explained to this member of staff, who was very helpful (wish we could remember her name). She said it is standard for the hotel to offer a free bottle of wine and dessert in their restaurant (which we did not receive) and they usually make newly weds feel very special, they've even upgraded people to the honeymoon suite, she then offered us a complementary lunch in red salt restaurant, which was lovely. We're only sorry we didn't see this member of staff before. As it was such an important occasion for us we feel it has left a disappointing scar and would not return to this hotel. Breakfast: little deceiving as we ended up paying the full amount ($75) for two continental breakfasts. There were two prices, the more expensive including a made to order omelette and maybe down to our naivity or things not being quite so clear, we presumed that everything else was at the lower price, it was not. Basically any of the hot buffet items automatically fall into the higher tariff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lovetraveling85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

We sincerely apologize for your recent unfortunate experience. Your wedding celebration should be perfect and should not include the stress that it sounds you went through. We do strive to make newlyweds feel special and it sounds like we fell short in this circumstance. We are truly sorry and hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best wishes and congratulations on your marriage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This was my first time staying at the Kea Lani during a conference in January. The suites are quite large and comfortable. The suite had a separate master bedroom, large bathroom and living room and a small "kitchen" type area with microwave and refrigerator. There were two lanais, one off the bedroom and the other off the living area. Three adults shared the room for the week quite comfortably. At check in, we were upgraded to a "garden view" suite, which was in a quiet part of the hotel (thankfully) with a lovely garden view. The "welcome reception" for the conference was held on the Polo Field down by the water and we witnessed one of many beautiful sunsets. The service, food and setting were perfect.
The three pools were beautiful and well maintained. Abundant towels are available as is complementary sunscreen. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants but did have sandwiches from Caffe Ciao Deli, which were delicious and reasonably priced for the size.
I had decided future trips to Hawaii would be back to the Big Island, but my experience at this resort has me rethinking that decision.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELER540000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Hotel lobby is beautiful and the beach and 3 pools are wonderful, but the room is just OK. Rooms seem outdated for the expensive price. We upgraded for an ocean view but then were stuck with 2 full beds instead of 1 king which was disappointing. The restaurant Kō in the hotel is delicious. Staff was friendly. However I still feel for the price hotel may not be worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarMaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews