We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Like the Kea Lani”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 April 2008

Just returned from a Spring Break vacation in Maui, kids aged 11, 9, 7. We stayed at the Kea Lani two years ago (in the villas) and loved it. This time we also stayed in the villas and still enjoyed it very much...

POSITIVES:
location - we prefer Wailea to the other areas of Maui
size - the resort is not a mega hotel and doesn't feel too overwhelmingly crowded even during holiday times
cabanas - you have the option of renting cabannas at the pool or umbrellas at the beach if you don't want to worry about getting up to save a spot
food - restaurants/food are on site if you choose not to cook as opposed to condos
accommodation - villas offer excellent size accomodation for a bigger family and the plunge pool/patio is hours of fun for the kids
layout - villas are close to the beach and very convenient to get in and out of, front and back door right onto hotel grounds, no elevator hassels
resort layout - excellent, lobby, grounds, beach
staff - mostly friendly and accomodating (not all but most)
family friendly

NEGATIVES:
-cafe ciao restaurant..average food/service-high prices
-pool loungers are getting very tired, and uncomfortable, feeling the metal through the pads.
-hotel seemed more crowded this time as opposed to spring break two years ago, still not unbearable, but busy - wailea in general is feeling more touristy than it did two years ago - to be expected i guess.
-breakfast restaurant did seem a bit nutty at times and the staff there seemed to take forever to serve us even though it was buffet - all they had to do was drinks?? we often went elsewhere.
-villa kitchen cabinets could use an update and no the living area is not huge, it's quite narrow, but we tend to be spread out between the patio/pool and three tvs..so it doesn't bother us...our utility room/laundry room, was extremely noisy - i.e. sounded like there was always loud laundry going even when there wasn't, we had a water back up of some sort in there they had to come clean up on an evening when we had company so there was maintenance traipsing through with clean up vac and towels etc during our BBQ. It bothers me to think they are just neglecting these minor things because they can (quite frankly) and they know the tourists will keep on coming.

Overall we do love the Kea Lani VILLAS and will continue to stay there because we haven't found anything to match the experience in terms of space, plunge pool and convenience, but if i were booking a regular room or two and wanted a pampered overall experience I would give the four seasons next door a try. We went there for dinner twice and remembered why the four seasons always stands out so much compared to most hotels...they just take everything up a notch in terms of service...they have a kids menu, a teens menu, an adult menu, oh let us bring your kids something to nibble on before dinner is served, they must be hungry, it's too long for them to wait..impeccable service both times and this was their casual restaurant..as i said if it weren't for the villas...I'd be steppin out on the Kea Lani just to see if the grass is greener on the other side.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank noname36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,112 - 4,116 of 4,700 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2008

Reading a critical review of a hotel I usually take it with a grain of salt and think the writer is a littly cranky or just thinks being hyper critical is being descerning . That said, we hated this hotel. We were there for one night during spring break. Our teenage daughter liked that there were other young people there and she liked the pool. Otherwise, we were disappointed with the hotel and could not risk ruining our hoilday by stay for more than one night. We hated the thought of losing our depost, but were willing to risk it, we wanted out. We did not lose the deposit. The hotel looks lovely, and is sited beautifully, but it is run down, badly worn, and in desperate need of renovation. We stayed in a two bedroom ocean front villa, with a pool, we thought how wonderful and beautiful until we went in. The villa smelled horribly, a musty unclean smell, the furniture was shabby, unfashionable, and worn, we were uncomfortable, and didn't want to sit on the furniture. We paid over $2000.00 a night, it was the absolute worst hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. The beds were lumpy, no one slept well, it was noisy, and the smell made us feel sick, we just wanted to get out of there, so we didn't pay attention to other things. The beach was nice but crowded, people packed very close together, literally you sit almost a foot away from someone else. To close for my comfort and not my idea of a upscale resort atmosphere, nothing here seemed upscale, or worth the price.
I hope if you choose this hotel your stay will be better than ours, we tried to like it but we couldn't. We have stayed at the Four Seasons Maui, many times and love it. During this trip we also stayed at the Ritz Carlton, Maui and found it to be excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

This is a very nice hotel with great service and clean, manicured grounds. We stayed in both the villas and the rooms. The villa was convienient and close to the beach, but I thought the living area in the villa was small. The bedrooms and bathrooms were big, however. The rooms in the hotel were huge and the living area in our room in the hotel was almost bigger than that in the villa!

We had our two sons, 8 and 14 with us and the 8 yr. old had a great time, but the 14 yr. old was bored. I have to say, this hotel was beautiful, great service, great layout, but there is not a lot to do if you like to be active. The beach is cute, but small and there are no waves for surfing, just a little beach break that the little kids play in. So we ended up driving a lot to get to other places to surf, hike, dive, etc. Also, it would have been nice if there were some kind of night life other than just a bar scene, i.e. music or dancing or something! The pool was great, there are all-ages pools, and then an adult pool, which is a nice idea. The water slide was fun. They do nickle and dime you a little with the price of food and other things here, but we just went to the grocery store and got lots of drinks and snacks. I did go to the spa, which was very good. They have a great variety of treatments and are very flexible with schedules and canceling and re-scheduling things at the last minute. The spa area itself is small.

If you want to relax and do nothing, this is a great place!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Horseymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

Went for a week's holiday with my wife, 4 kids age 6,5,3 and 1. We had a great time. The hotel is spectacular, the pools are nicely kept and appeared clean and the beach was lovely. The buffet breakfast was spectacular and good value (for kids at least). Under 6 yrs old do not pay and 6 and over pay half.

My honest assessment of the rooms:
They are a good size, a bit tired, and in need of refurbishment. The sofa beds were uncomfortable and there was a bit of a damp smell. The doors were incredibly heavy and slammed shut.

My honest assessment of the service:
Outstanding, without fault

The food:

Cafe Ciao was good but expensive and room service was excellent, especially the kids menu. The pool side cafe was only average. Nicks Fish Market was very good

The pool:

V nice but became too crowded around Easter weekend. A chronic shortage of shade for us pale-skinned British! It was a real struggle to get an umbrella. One morning I went down to the pool at 7 am and all the umbrellas were taken.

There were some nice activities for the kids and overall we were happy with our stay at the fairmont but feel they should pay attention to the pool (shade) and decorate the rooms

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Just returned from a 6 nite stay at the Kea Lani. I was concerned after reading some of the reviews, and can only say that they were wrong! This property is wonderful. Needless to say, the suites (they are all suites or you can rent a villa) are HUGE! And the lanai (patio) is very roomy! Each has a table with 4 chairs for al-fresco dining, AND a chaise with side table. You can go out on your lanai from the living room and the bedroom. They have screen doors and with the ceiling fan going, you don't need the a/c (it turns off when the lanai doors are open), and you can hear the ocean all nite! Be sure to ask for a high floor for the best views.

Restaurant prices at the resort are VERY high. Spent $70.00 at the poolside grill for a salad, a sandwich, a smoothie and onion rings. But Caffe Ciao is a gourmet deli/market that you can get really good food for less. You can get it "to go" or eat at their tables. They will pack you a picnic lunch and rent you a softside cooler if you want ($20) - which we did when we spent the day driving to Hana.

Whatever we called for - was responded to quickly and thoroughly - extra hangars, extra pillows, extra blankets - everything!

Suites have 1 closet in then entry with a wet bar with fridge and microwave, and storage cabinets.

Living room has desk and 2 chairs, ceiling fan, we ordered a roll away, and it has a curved couch. TV cabinet had plenty of drawers plus there was a metal 2 shelf rack as well.

Bedroom had a tv cabinet with good drawers and each nite stand had 2 drawers and a shelf. Also had TWO closets with fullsize mirrors, one with a wall safe. Hotel has robes, liteup makeup mirror and blowdryer.

Bathroom is HUGE. A shelf runs the entire length of the room above the sinks to hold your toiletries. There are 2 pedestal sinks with towel slots on each side of each sink. A metal shelf unit is on a wall under the towel rack.

The w/c is private within the bathroom. The shower is a walkin - no door or curtains for privacy, and a huge tub.

We took Speedishuttle to the hotel and picked up a rental car nearby at the Marriott (hotel provides a shuttle to all Wailea locales).

Pools are salt-water. They have a water slide the kids liked. There are various acitivities (lei-making, bead necklace making, henna, etc. - all for a fee). The beach is small, but nice, and there is an activity outfitter on the beach. Chaises are free, umbrellas are charged by the hour. Towels are provided.

Refreshment/food service is by the main pool only.

If you must checkout before you need to go to the airport, they keep your luggage for you, and provide a hospitality room where you can freshen up before leaving. We spent our last day taking a kayak tour, then at the Maui Ocean Center, returned to the hotel to change clothes and freshen up, and then went to the airport.

LOTS of less-expensive dining options in nearby Kihei, but you need a car, or take a cab.

I cannot say enough about this resort, and only hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
43.2 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
516 reviews
1.9 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.4 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
1 km away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1 km away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui

Address: 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wailea
#2 Business Hotel in Wailea
#2 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#3 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: €439 - €1,167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the essence of Maui at Fairmont Kea Lani, Hawaii's only all-suite and villa luxury resort. Nestled on the golden sands of Wailea's Polo Beach, this award-winning oceanfront paradise redefines luxury with a state-of-the-art spa, island inspired cuisine and authentic cultural experiences. Fairmont Kea Lani is the ideal island getaway with four unique restaurants, three swimming pools including an adult-only pool, a comprehensive fitness and wellness program and unrivaled access to the best adventures across the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Hotel Wailea
Fairmont Maui
Fairmont Wailea
Wailea Fairmont
The Fairmont Kea Lani
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing