We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,046)
Filter reviews
5,046 results
Traveller rating
3,663
912
292
125
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,663
912
292
125
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsko restaurantcafe ciaosuite hotelnick's fish marketcanoe experienceadult poolfour seasonspresident's clubswim up barbreakfast buffetupper poolliving roomour honeymoontwo sinksocean viewtop notchwalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
4,452 - 4,457 of 5,046 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2008

Reading a critical review of a hotel I usually take it with a grain of salt and think the writer is a littly cranky or just thinks being hyper critical is being descerning . That said, we hated this hotel. We were there for one night during spring break. Our teenage daughter liked that there were other young people there and she liked the pool. Otherwise, we were disappointed with the hotel and could not risk ruining our hoilday by stay for more than one night. We hated the thought of losing our depost, but were willing to risk it, we wanted out. We did not lose the deposit. The hotel looks lovely, and is sited beautifully, but it is run down, badly worn, and in desperate need of renovation. We stayed in a two bedroom ocean front villa, with a pool, we thought how wonderful and beautiful until we went in. The villa smelled horribly, a musty unclean smell, the furniture was shabby, unfashionable, and worn, we were uncomfortable, and didn't want to sit on the furniture. We paid over $2000.00 a night, it was the absolute worst hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. The beds were lumpy, no one slept well, it was noisy, and the smell made us feel sick, we just wanted to get out of there, so we didn't pay attention to other things. The beach was nice but crowded, people packed very close together, literally you sit almost a foot away from someone else. To close for my comfort and not my idea of a upscale resort atmosphere, nothing here seemed upscale, or worth the price.
I hope if you choose this hotel your stay will be better than ours, we tried to like it but we couldn't. We have stayed at the Four Seasons Maui, many times and love it. During this trip we also stayed at the Ritz Carlton, Maui and found it to be excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

This is a very nice hotel with great service and clean, manicured grounds. We stayed in both the villas and the rooms. The villa was convienient and close to the beach, but I thought the living area in the villa was small. The bedrooms and bathrooms were big, however. The rooms in the hotel were huge and the living area in our room in the hotel was almost bigger than that in the villa!

We had our two sons, 8 and 14 with us and the 8 yr. old had a great time, but the 14 yr. old was bored. I have to say, this hotel was beautiful, great service, great layout, but there is not a lot to do if you like to be active. The beach is cute, but small and there are no waves for surfing, just a little beach break that the little kids play in. So we ended up driving a lot to get to other places to surf, hike, dive, etc. Also, it would have been nice if there were some kind of night life other than just a bar scene, i.e. music or dancing or something! The pool was great, there are all-ages pools, and then an adult pool, which is a nice idea. The water slide was fun. They do nickle and dime you a little with the price of food and other things here, but we just went to the grocery store and got lots of drinks and snacks. I did go to the spa, which was very good. They have a great variety of treatments and are very flexible with schedules and canceling and re-scheduling things at the last minute. The spa area itself is small.

If you want to relax and do nothing, this is a great place!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vino_Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

Went for a week's holiday with my wife, 4 kids age 6,5,3 and 1. We had a great time. The hotel is spectacular, the pools are nicely kept and appeared clean and the beach was lovely. The buffet breakfast was spectacular and good value (for kids at least). Under 6 yrs old do not pay and 6 and over pay half.

My honest assessment of the rooms:
They are a good size, a bit tired, and in need of refurbishment. The sofa beds were uncomfortable and there was a bit of a damp smell. The doors were incredibly heavy and slammed shut.

My honest assessment of the service:
Outstanding, without fault

The food:

Cafe Ciao was good but expensive and room service was excellent, especially the kids menu. The pool side cafe was only average. Nicks Fish Market was very good

The pool:

V nice but became too crowded around Easter weekend. A chronic shortage of shade for us pale-skinned British! It was a real struggle to get an umbrella. One morning I went down to the pool at 7 am and all the umbrellas were taken.

There were some nice activities for the kids and overall we were happy with our stay at the fairmont but feel they should pay attention to the pool (shade) and decorate the rooms

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Just returned from a 6 nite stay at the Kea Lani. I was concerned after reading some of the reviews, and can only say that they were wrong! This property is wonderful. Needless to say, the suites (they are all suites or you can rent a villa) are HUGE! And the lanai (patio) is very roomy! Each has a table with 4 chairs for al-fresco dining, AND a chaise with side table. You can go out on your lanai from the living room and the bedroom. They have screen doors and with the ceiling fan going, you don't need the a/c (it turns off when the lanai doors are open), and you can hear the ocean all nite! Be sure to ask for a high floor for the best views.

Restaurant prices at the resort are VERY high. Spent $70.00 at the poolside grill for a salad, a sandwich, a smoothie and onion rings. But Caffe Ciao is a gourmet deli/market that you can get really good food for less. You can get it "to go" or eat at their tables. They will pack you a picnic lunch and rent you a softside cooler if you want ($20) - which we did when we spent the day driving to Hana.

Whatever we called for - was responded to quickly and thoroughly - extra hangars, extra pillows, extra blankets - everything!

Suites have 1 closet in then entry with a wet bar with fridge and microwave, and storage cabinets.

Living room has desk and 2 chairs, ceiling fan, we ordered a roll away, and it has a curved couch. TV cabinet had plenty of drawers plus there was a metal 2 shelf rack as well.

Bedroom had a tv cabinet with good drawers and each nite stand had 2 drawers and a shelf. Also had TWO closets with fullsize mirrors, one with a wall safe. Hotel has robes, liteup makeup mirror and blowdryer.

Bathroom is HUGE. A shelf runs the entire length of the room above the sinks to hold your toiletries. There are 2 pedestal sinks with towel slots on each side of each sink. A metal shelf unit is on a wall under the towel rack.

The w/c is private within the bathroom. The shower is a walkin - no door or curtains for privacy, and a huge tub.

We took Speedishuttle to the hotel and picked up a rental car nearby at the Marriott (hotel provides a shuttle to all Wailea locales).

Pools are salt-water. They have a water slide the kids liked. There are various acitivities (lei-making, bead necklace making, henna, etc. - all for a fee). The beach is small, but nice, and there is an activity outfitter on the beach. Chaises are free, umbrellas are charged by the hour. Towels are provided.

Refreshment/food service is by the main pool only.

If you must checkout before you need to go to the airport, they keep your luggage for you, and provide a hospitality room where you can freshen up before leaving. We spent our last day taking a kayak tour, then at the Maui Ocean Center, returned to the hotel to change clothes and freshen up, and then went to the airport.

LOTS of less-expensive dining options in nearby Kihei, but you need a car, or take a cab.

I cannot say enough about this resort, and only hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We visited the hotel during Spring Break, and I would say that the staff was a bit overwhelmed with the number of guests. However, this hotel is supposed to be a resort hotel capable of providing 4-5 star service to a huge number of guests, because it really is a huge hotel, and they were definitely not up to the challenge. The staff was very businesslike, but not friendly. We were awakened twice in the middle of the night by the overnight cleaning staff below our ocean view room. Coffee service is provided in the morning, but only until 6:30 AM, when it is removed so that guests can go downstairs to PAY for their coffee. The ocean view path is very nice, but it is very crowded in the morning with hell-bent joggers. A woman actually ran into me jogging while trying to squeeze through the traffic. Beautiful landscaping and view (it is Maui, after all), loud and noisy lobby, salamanders in the motel-like rooms. The Grand Wailea and Four Seasons might be better options based on our visits to those properties.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews