We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Romantic, and Luxurious!”
Review of Hotel Wailea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Wailea
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Hotel Wailea is the best hotel we have ever been to! The property was absolutely gorgeous. Every detail was precise and exquisite. The landscape was breathtaking, stunning ocean views, and plenty of little nooks on the property to enjoy private moments in paradise with a loved one. The staff was amazing, kind and helpful. We took the private shuttle to and from the private beach which was a few minutes away every day. The best dinner of my life took place at the hotel's restaurant. The presentation, quality, and service provided for all meals was spectacular. The suite we stayed in had outstanding views of the ocean and was filled with the most tasteful, comfortable furniture and accoutrements. We will definitely be returning here on a regular basis and highly recommend this hotel if you're visiting Maui. It's private, romantic and luxurious. A paradise in paradise!

I've stayed in some incredible places in my life, but HW is at the very, very top of my list. It all starts with the people—kind, thoughtful, and generous. The energy that emanates from this property is so unique and warm, and it shows in the vibrant aura of every detail of every thing on the property. What a treat—the highlight of our trip, and the (secret) crown jewel of Maui!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Meghan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusSchale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and thank you for the excellent review. I am especially honored by your mention of our attentive staff. This is the highest priority for us, and I am so glad that you took advantage of everything we have to offer you. We look forward to welcoming you both back for your next romantic escape!

Warm regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 277 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed at the Hotel Wailea in March of 2017 - everything about the hotel is just beautiful. I joined the morning yoga class, swam at the pool, worked out in the gym, and had dinner at the restaurant, all wonderful experiences staffed by friendly and warm people. I have no complaints at all. You will not be disappointed with a stay at this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sharonfD369OV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

When planning our honeymoon my wife and I were trying to figure out which resort would allow us both private time and access to enough excursions to still have fun. The Hotel Wailea provided both. Nestled away in Wailea you are away from all the tourism of the West shore and it's even away from the golf resorts so that you can really experience seclusion and luxury in the privacy of your own resort. We were there during off-season so the pool was always empty and quiet and the hotel-provided shuttle was only 5min away max.

The hotel staff was incredibly nice and helpful with any questions and service. The pool had many cabanas for free use with a pool side bar with happy hour daily. The turn down service was a pleasant surprise as was all the gifts they gave us as newlyweds.

From the hotel we went to the beach and had great snorkeling (we saw turtles) and were going to do surfing or paddle boarding if we had more time since the guides were so nice. We also used it as a base to go to Mount Haleakala in the morning to beat the traffic and watch the amazing sunrise.

Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer in this paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bminouye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The Hotel Wailea is an outstanding private resort -- quiet, tranquil and accommodating. I highly recommend it. The suite was comfortable, the meals and service were excellent, and the views were stunning.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CoopnMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

I can not rave enough about our experience at Hotel Wailea. I actually came here with my mom and it could not have been a better choice. At first I wasn't sure that I wanted to stay at a quiet hotel and wow, did that become one of the main reasons I will return here over large hotels. Total relaxation on our lanai that had a gorgeous view of the ocean and we both felt personally welcome by each staff member. Yes the grounds are immaculately gorgeous, yes you can swim every night under the stars without a pool curfew, but the real reasons we'll be back? John, Chelsea, and the entire valet staff. There is a reason this place has such wonderful reviews. It's the little things that make you feel special and this staff has that down. Also, the pictures don't do the pool area justice, it's very nice in person and the cabanas are open to everyone at no extra charge.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Francesca_PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
43.6 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
524 reviews
1 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.8 km away
Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui
1.4 km away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wailea

Address: 555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-5469
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Business Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: €449 - €888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Wailea 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii's only Relais & Chateaux, Hotel Wailea extends across 15 ultra private acres overlooking the sea, with 72 luxury one bedroom suites-each reminiscent of a chic private beach house with large ocean-facing lanais. The epitome of a romantic sanctuary, Hotel Wailea is designed for couples seeking relaxation away from the beachfront crowds, celebrating a special event with award-winning food and wine, or simply escaping to enjoy the beauty of Maui. Voted "#1 Hotel in Hawaii" in the 2017 Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Awards and voted “#1 Hotel in Maui” by the 2017 Travel+Leisure World's Best Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Wailea
Hotel Wailea Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing