We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great except for the birds”

Kea Lani Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 50 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$37
Cuisines: American
Description: The Kea Lani Restaurant is an open-air dining area offering a daily bountiful breakfast buffet and an exceptional a la carte menu service. The buffet contains fresh fruit including local seasonal favorites such as guava, mountain apples, rambutans and papayas as well as pastries and breads such as mango and banana nut bread that are freshly baked in the resort's pastry shop. The buffet also features an omelet station and rotating choices of hot and cold items including pancakes, waffles, link sausage, and smoked bacon as well as authentic Asian style breakfast foods including miso soup.
Restaurant details
Description: The Kea Lani Restaurant is an open-air dining area offering a daily bountiful breakfast buffet and an exceptional a la carte menu service. The buffet contains fresh fruit including local seasonal favorites such as guava, mountain apples, rambutans and papayas as well as pastries and breads such as mango and banana nut bread that are freshly baked in the resort's pastry shop. The buffet also features an omelet station and rotating choices of hot and cold items including pancakes, waffles, link sausage, and smoked bacon as well as authentic Asian style breakfast foods including miso soup.
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Great food and nice views in this open air breakfast restaurant. The only problem was the hundreds of birds scavenging food. The restaurant is trying with some colored laser lights, but it only seemed to annoy the people and not the birds. Other restaurants at the Fairmont did not seem to have this problem.

Thank brucebX3575RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Guest Relations Manager at Kea Lani Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for your honest review, brucebX3575RO. It’s wonderful that you enjoyed the cuisine and views from the restaurant. However we’re very sorry to learn that your experience was disappointing due to the birds. Please be assured that the hotel has taken measures to manage their presence. While we realize the birds are a nuisance, we’re hoping to avoid netting in the restaurant to maintain the open-air dining experience by using other methods. We apologize for any displeasure this may have caused. Your feedback is extremely valuable and will be shared. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with an outstanding experience in the future. Best wishes and mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

The breakfast buffet was the highlight of my day. The variety suited all palates. The staff was very accommodating and genuinely engaging. The food was phenomenal and even pleased my picky husband.

Thank jshelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Guest Relations Manager at Kea Lani Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Aloha jshelvin and thank you for joining us at Kea Lani Restaurant! It brings us great pleasure to read that you found the food and service to be great - being the highlight of your trip says it all! Your kind comments will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you both back again very soon. Best wishes and aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Stayed at Fairmont Kea Lani Hotel for four days. And we always looked forward to our brunch at Kea Lani Restaurant. Delicious variety of brunch menu and wonderful service.

Thank Lsamoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Guest Relations Manager at Kea Lani Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Mahalo Lsamoy for sharing your 5 star review. We are so pleased you look forward to our fresh breakfast buffet as well as the friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Mahalo and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We came here for breakfast and the buffet was delicious. It's not as big as a Vegas buffet, but still a pretty good selection. There's an omelette station, which was tasty. My husband ordered off the a la carte menu and his corned beef hash meal was good. 4 stars for the food.

Service was excellent. Very attentive and friendly staff. 5 star service.

There were A LOT of birds and the restaurant did what they could to deter them, but they were very bold and several came up to the table to grab our food. They also didn't scare easily, as it took 2-3 times to shove them off our tables and chairs. 4 stars due to the birds.

It's basically outdoor dining, as half the tables were on the patio and due to the open concept, the other "inside" tables felt like they were outside. It's a nice restaurant with good food and nice family atmosphere. 5 stars for the location.

Overall, 4.5 stars for Kea Lani.

Thank gemonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Guest Relations Manager at Kea Lani Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Aloha and thank you joining us for breakfast, gemonthego. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed Kea Lani Restaurant’s cuisine and the friendly service from our staff! We also recognize that the birds can be a nuisance. Please be assured that we take every effort to manage their presence so as not to distract from the dining experience. Your comments will be shared with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best wishes and warmest aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

No surprises, the Kea Lani always has great food and service. The employees are always accommodating and cheerful, the food wonderful.

Thank felinesStockton_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Guest Relations Manager at Kea Lani Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Aloha felinesStockton_CA and thank you for your amazing review! We are so happy that we delievered the exact experience you anticipated from our food to service. Your kind words will be shared with the staff and and Chef Pang! Warmest aloha and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kea Lani Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kea Lani Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing