We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,404)
Filter reviews
7,404 results
Traveller rating
4,223
1,641
795
465
280
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,223
1,641
795
465
280
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water elevator napua tower lazy river grand wailea rope swing hibiscus pool bistro molokini chapel wing volcano bar the grand dining room cafe kula spa grande four seasons pool area adult pool per day valet parking
Filter
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 7,404 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This massive, dated hotel charges luxury resort prices but feels more like a crowded, tacky theme park. The bizarre architectural layout means everything is far away from everything else and difficult to find. There are long lines and extra charges for everything. Our rooms, which cost nearly $900 apiece, had great ocean views but other than felt like motel rooms (no minibar, broken shutters, noisy neighbors, cheap furniture, bad art) and were a 10 minute walk and two elevator rides from the pool and beach. The pool areas and beach are super crowded. It's often impossible even to get a pool or beach chair, which require waiting in more lines and getting a new wristband every day. The mediocre restaurants are expensive and poorly run. Every day at breakfast, numerous empty tables sit covered in uncleared dishes while long lines form at the host stand. More long lines await at the only other breakfast option, an in-house coffee shop. Room service generally takes around an hour. Apparently this place has just been sold - hopefully the new owners will bring it up to luxury resort standards and run it much more efficiently.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RoomCharge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Wailea_3850, Director of Operations at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Aloha Adam S,

Mahalo for staying with us at our resort, and I appreciate your candor in your review of your stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations; we have shared your comments with our team. I hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future to demonstrate our commitment to satisfaction in all areas of the guest experience.

Mahalo,
Todd Temperly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a really fantastic time. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, extremely well maintained. Our room was a basic Garden View Room but was spacious and very comfortable. Our only criticism would be that there was no evening entertainment.
Adult pool was very good. First hotel that we have ever stayed in where there is sunscreen available for all in pump dispensers at the towel cabana.
Would certainly love to rerun.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 333Marian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Our family of four (2 adults, 17 yo girl and 15 yo boy) stayed at the GW from 3/22/18 - 3/29/18. Overall we thought the resort was great and really like the location of the resort in Wailea. We found the staff to be really friendly and the resort is beautiful. Our room was a good size, contemporary decorations, clean and had a nice big bathroom, with a separate room for the toilet, which is nice when traveling with the family. The beds were comfortable and plenty of space to store items in the bathroom and sleeping area. We were on 8th floor in the Molokini Bldg and the best part was that our "terrace view" room also had a great view of the ocean if we were out on the deck! That was an unexpected surprise. The room was usually cleaned by noon each day (we were usually out of the room by 8am, so they had good access). We also did not have ant issues with noise from other rooms or the hallway - which was fabulous. My only complaint about the room would be lighting was a bit dim in the main room - I am a light person, the brighter the better.

The hotel grounds are beautiful with lots of flowers, shrubs, waterfalls and koi pools for your viewing pleasure. The pool area was also nice, but extremely crowded during spring break time as you would expect. It is hard to get a chair near the pool unless you want to get in line at 6 am for the 7am pool open. On our second day there we discovered the grassy area in front of the adult pool, which had lots of chairs available and a view of the ocean. We would get chairs there each day and use it as our base as the kids moved between the ocean and pool. If you have young kids, you will probably need to play the pool game, but they do have several areas to the pool where you can find seating. My only real complaint here is the cabanas. They are expensive (I think $600-1200/day!!!) and you need to reserve well over a week in advance. The staff members tend to fawn all over the cabana dwellers and are less attentive to the rest of the guests as a result. On a really hot day last week they brought frozen grapes as a special treat for the Cabana guests. Why not add special touches like that for your other guests as well instead of making the rest of us feel like the "have nots"? I have seen it down on cruises and it builds a lot of good will!

Beverages and food at this resort are expensive, but probably not hugely different than other such resorts. Beer was $8-9, most mixed drinks/wine $15-17 and pop $4.50. Probably my biggest gripe was the frozen virgin dacquiris my kids like - $11 each! Needless to say, the kids only had a few of those during the week.

The Kula Kafe is a great place to get some snacks and informal food options throughout the day. It opens at 5:30 am and is usually really busy with guests buying their premium coffees etc.

We at at the Molokini Bistro our first night there and thought the food was good. We also ordered lunch through the Bistro several days when we were sitting in the grassy chair area. The food was really good. We especially liked the pork tacos and margharitia pizza.

Each day the lobby bar has live music and happy hour. We spent many a happy hour here last week enjoying adult and children beverages and playing cards. The have $5 beer during happy hour and $10 house wine/a few specialty drinks.

Finally, the extra $30 day for the resort fee is a bit annoying (why don't they just bake this into the room rates???) and $30 day for parking and then needing to use valets that you need to tip to get your car. We would rather have the option of self parking. We did know this in advance, so just dealt with it, but hate the feeling of being nickeled and dimed.

Overall though - we did enjoy our stay at the GW. It helps to manage expectations on the issues I noted above. If you do - you will enjoy more. This is not a five star property though given the size of the resport and inability to treat all guests as equals regardless of buying a cabana. Would we stay here again? If we had kids with us, definitely yes. If it was just my husband and I - we would seek someplace smaller and more adult service oriented.

To sum it

Room Tip: Try to get a higher up room if you can.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Very nice resort with an exceptional pool. Think cruise ship crowded at the pool & beach so be prepared for not a relaxing environment. Great for families with young children. Beach chairs and umbrellas as well as pool chairs are gone by 7:30 am.
Adult pool is nice but shallow and the swim up pool bar is not in the adult pool. Tip last pool chairs to fill up are in the lawn area below the Adult pool and were more quiet than the chairs by the pool.
Valet attendants were great! Very little wait if you call down to request your car brought up before you leave your room.
Service poolside was good and food was expensive and not great but convienant.
We found this to be an average resort with average service. You are paying for the pool and location.
Check in was wonderful, courteous and helpful.
Check out could be improved.... a thank you for staying with us and we hoped you enjoyed your stay (and a smile) would have been nice after a guest spends $20,000 at your resort.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Wailea_3850, Director of Operations at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Aloha Joanne T,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our resort. We promise our guests a singular Waldorf luxury experience, and we will use your comments to ensure that we are continually working to achieve that ideal. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and I hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Mahalo,
Todd Temperly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We love this place . Truly a beautiful setting with sweet and service minded staff . Great room and the grounds are stunning.
We bought a package that included breakfast but discovered that it was a disappointing convenience store credit instead of the stellar buffet breakfast available in the main restaurant Because it was our special event stay we elected to enjoy the better meal but it was quite pricey
It is a special place

The extra costs made it a four not the overall experience

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank 57air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews