We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
211
370
165
45
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
370
165
45
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar la union colonial hotel swimming pool lovely hotel one night the main square breakfast was buffet style pretty hotel great pool half board centre of town great cocktails thomas cook eggs cooked to order central location the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

We have spent 3 days at Union Hotel in Cienfuegos.There was also a nice open air bar on the roof terrace. The food was delicious in a la carte restaurants and breakfast in the buffet. Lots of choice of fresh food. The grounds were well kept and everything was spotless. This hotel is the cleanest place that we have ever visited in Cuba.There was also a quiet pool for peaceful reading or relaxing.The service everywhere was super. All the staff were helpful and pleasant. They really worked hard to please you.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PMarcus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando J, Community Manager at Hotel La Union Managed by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you very much PMarcus72, your opinion matters to us, for it helps us improving our service and to raise our quality standards as well. Have a beautiful evening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely old French colonial hotel. It has been nicely restored with beautiful courtyards, a nice pool and spacious rooms but......
The food was pretty strange. A mixed salad was a bit of shredded cabbage with tinned vegetables and no dressing. The main meal was bland with a bit of rice and more tinned veggies and an utterly tasteless dessert. Breakfasts offered a wide range of rather incompatible items including tinned fruit - seriously everywhere else in Cuba you can get wonderful fresh fruit. The omelettes were OK.
The room flooded during a heavy downpour with water coming under the door from the balcony.
Some staff could not have been nicer, others were totally rude and unhelpful.
This place could be amazing but it needs work.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando J, Community Manager at Hotel La Union Managed by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hola chewat, we appreciate your comment. Meliá Group is working on a very serious project that we assure you, will raise the quality standards of our Hotel. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

You have to carry your bags yoursef to your room. The rooms facing the street are noisy because there is no insulation and the balcony doors and windows are loose. Reception ushered us to such a room when there was plenty of free rooms at the location. A/C is noisy. Wifi available by the pool and the 4.floor bar against prepaid card. The pool in the courtyard did not look inviting as its water was pretty opaque. Bathroom amenities looked OK but you had to run the bath water for a few minutes to clear the rusty water.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliyalcin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando J, Community Manager at Hotel La Union Managed by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi aliyalcin2014, we appreciate your comment. Meliá Group is working on a very serious project that we assure you, will raise the quality standards of our Hotel. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

The Hotel has a brilliant location in the centre of town. The building itself is a little tired. The staff make up for any shortfalls. The breakfast was good. The pool is pleasant but you cannot get an early morning swim as it doesn’t open until 10. The massage is excellent and good value.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank IanG762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando J, Community Manager at Hotel La Union Managed by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thanks Ian G, your opinion matters to us, for it helps us improving our service and to raise the quality standards as well. Have a beautiful evening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

As far as hotels go this was very average. The rooms were quite monastic in decor, but livable. Again carry your own water to your room. After being in Cuba for several days, mostly in Habana, I was not expecting much from this hotel, and ... didn't find it. So I was not disappointed. Cuba is digging out of a deep deep hole. The pride it there but the $$ are not to restore most of the places you visit. Our group ate breakfast there, which was very average too. We spent two nights. Spent time during the day visiting the area. The history is quite interesting but nothing overwhelming.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Buddiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando J, Community Manager at Hotel La Union Managed by Melia Hotels International, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hola, we appreciate your comment. It is very important for us the satisfaction of those who visit us, opinions like yours help us improve our service. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews