We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
30
19
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
19
8
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2019

The owners were very helpful and friendly. We were late coming from Tobermory and the restaurant was supposed to be closed. But they were considerate enough to keep the kitchen open for an extra 15 minutes to feed a group of hungry travelers. Food was a bit expensive, but was tasty and the portions were sufficient. Rooms were clean and spacious, but could use a few more lights! The rooms had access to a big backyard with a firepit and picnic tables (too bad we could not make use of them). The breakfast was standard fare, but sufficient, with several types of bread, cereal and muffins, and coffee, tea and juice. Overall, dare I say that it was better than expected and well worth the price. Definitely recommend for a stay. They also have decent supply of camping and outdoor activity gear onsite. Keep up the good work, Owners!

Room tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mz1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2019 via mobile

Friendly owners but the rooms are a bit too rustic for a motel. Fairly clean but in need of much repair. Continental breakfast was adequate. Good coffee! If you like authentic Indian food then you will enjoy the restaurant. Vegan. Price point was ok but felt like we were camping not in a motel.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank kw714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2019

Very bad experience. Not Recommended. There was no 0 Star and had to give 1 star to write this review.

Caution to other customers: Please take photos of the room as you check-in to prevent from disputes.

The owner, calls after 2 1'2 hours after checkout (personal checkout, I went and dropped key in office in person), that there were 2 custom pillows (motels having custom pillows?) missing and we took them and they are going to put a fine and very rude. Absolutely ridiculous, and what am we going to do with those (We are well settled, living in GTA for quite long time). Please check room pictures on their hotel website/google some room has, and some doesn't.

We (Myself, wife and 2 kids) stayed here for the past 2 days (hardly used it for night sleeping). Paid a premium price (due to availability issues) for a Motel. This Motel was far below Motel standards, room highly un-tidy, leaky shower/faucelts, bugs, smell, bumpy sheet tiles in washroom, dusty towels. Hardly there was no-refill of soaps.

Questions to management:
1) How does the customer knows what's inside a room. We just simply follow the rules of leaving whatever is not ours leave it in the room. What protection does customer has and how can we trust the owner on what's inside the room before check-in.
2) What's prevents the owner doing a personal checkin-checkout, walking with us to show what's inside.
3) Any idea what customer service really means?

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raj_venugopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2019

We stayed here and found the new owners to be very sweet and hard working. We would suggest offering more food choices for meals since not everyone likes curry and offering gluten free meal options for guests.

Many of the brochures and information sharing activities offered in their guest space of their check in area were outdated or expired in 2018.

The room we stayed in was very dirty and had a broken lamp and missing lightbulbs in the light fixture on the ceiling. My husband cut his finger on the broken lamp.

All the appliances were unplugged and didn’t work well. The toilet constantly ran and the sink was leaking water out of the bottom pedestal. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable. The decor was old and dated. The table in the room was covered with crumbs and dirt. The shower curtain was dirty and there was hair and dirt all over the place. We both wore our socks or shoes in the room since the floor was so filthy. Both of us were coughing and sneezing throughout our stay. It just needs a thorough cleaning and updated furniture, appliances, and decor.

We just took it to be that they are new owners and still getting the rooms fixed and set up how they would like them. We also saw that they had a job posting for a new cleaning person. We both believe that is an excellent idea! We think in time with making some changes it can be a very nice roadside place to stay while visiting the area.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelingGirl0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019 via mobile

We have occasionally stayed at the Spirit Rock motel over the past 20 years and it had become really run down. So happy to see it's been renovated quite stylishly by the new owners. Pretty gas fireplace added, fresh finishes and very comfy beds. Good rate too. Look for the bright green doors at the top of the hill at the north end of the main street. Fishing tackle also available!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank loism151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews