We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see”

Cape Breton Miners' Museum
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Glace Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 14 August 2018

I know several people used the same title for their reviews, but it is the best summary possible. We were here about 20 years ago and enjoyed it. Now the museum has been completely redone and it is excellent. If you have any interest in traditional coal mining, the importance of mining to this area, or the history of the strife between miners and management you need to see the comprehensive exhibits in this museum. An added plus is the opportunity to go down into the mine (now closed, of course) with a retired miner as guide. Next to the museum they have reconstructed examples of miners' homes and a company store, with a very nice restaurant in one of the buildings.

Thank jaymat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Executive Director at Cape Breton Miners' Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear jaymat44,

Thanks you for sharing your experience at Cape Breton Miners Museum. We are very fortunate to be able to find the support to redo our Museum. Our goal is to share the experience of the Cape Breton coal mining industry and the people worked in that industry with our visitors. We really appreciate hearing back that we are "a must see."

Safe Travels,

Mary Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"retired miner"
in 79 reviews
"coal mining"
in 45 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 40 reviews
"cape breton"
in 69 reviews
"above ground"
in 8 reviews
"first hand"
in 12 reviews
"personal stories"
in 8 reviews
"ocean floor"
in 5 reviews
"hard life"
in 9 reviews
"company store"
in 20 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 9 reviews
"hard hats"
in 19 reviews
"eye opening"
in 6 reviews
"nova scotia"
in 24 reviews
"better understanding"
in 5 reviews
"an eye opener"
in 6 reviews
"old days"
in 5 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2018

The miner's museum (which was a very short drive from Sydney) was definitely worth the trip. We learnt so much about the history of coal mining and the lives of the workers - it was very interesting. Unlike other museums that can be a bit dry, the tour down into an old part of the mine and the short film were truly entertaining and eye opening experiences. Our tour guide Eric, was very knowledgeable. He himself was a miner back in the days when the mine was operating which added a very real element of authenticity to the tour. He shared his stories and experiences with us. Highly recommend this stop for anyone's trip!

1  Thank elizabeth122018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Executive Director at Cape Breton Miners' Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear elizabeth122018,

Thank you for sharing your review of Cape Breton Miners Museum with TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you had an interesting experience. Our staff and Mine Guides work very hard to tell the story of Cape Breton's coal mining history using both humour and pathos.

Safe travels,

Mary Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Very authentic as the tour guide was a former miner. It was my first time in a mine. makes you realize how lucky you are that you did not have to work in one. We were on a tight schedule as we had a flight to catch but it worked out. Tour was 75 minutes. There is very good exhibit as well but did not have time to see it.

1  Thank WGG1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Executive Director at Cape Breton Miners' Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear WGG1962,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our Museum with TripAdvisor. It is great that you had the time to experience a mine tour. We believe that tour really tells the story of the Cape Breton miner.

Safe travels,

Mary Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

This is a great place to see. I have seen a number of mines but this one really opened my eyes to what those Nova Scotia underground coal miners went through. We hear of the tough lives they had but until you experience this mine no words can explain it. The tour was guided by a retired miner and he sure knew his stuff. He made it come alive. We are really happy we went through it.

Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Executive Director at Cape Breton Miners' Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Dan P,

Thank you for sharing your impression of our Museum with TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you were able to go underground with a retired miner and get the full experience of what it was like to mine coal in Cape Breton in days gone by.

Safe travels,

Mary Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Although a little frightened and nervous of tight spaces, I wanted to see and get a feel for what the miners lived and breathed. The Miners Museum is absolutely excellent!! I am really glad I went!

It is a guide it underground tour that helps you visualize what the miners and their families lived through. As you go lower under the ground, the height reduces until it is only about 4 1/2 feet high. But that is only for a short distance, then you are upright again.

Go at least an hour before your tour so you can watch the informative video and see/read the various exhibits. They are really excellent.

In addition, before or after your tour, you can visit the company house and the company store. These buildings contain various amazing pieces of history. It is both amazing and heart wrenching at the same time.

Our guide, Sheldon Gouthro, is the BEST!!! He is a retired miner, he put meaning and feelings into his explanations. The man LIVED it. He was thorough and detailed but certainly not dull or dry. The man has an awesome sense of humor!

Hopefully he has your tour guide too!

Keep up the great work Sheldon !!

Thank Lady-Harley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Executive Director at Cape Breton Miners' Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Lady-Harley1,

Thanks you for sharing your review of Cape Breton Miners Museum with TripAdvisor. I will be sure to let Sheldon know how much you appreciated his tour. He is and excellent guide and a wonderful storyteller. It also helps that either he, a member of his family or a buddy he worked with had first hand knowledge of his narrative.

We are especially please that you enjoyed the rest of the Museum. We try to offer our visitors the best experience possible.

Safe Travels,

Mary Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Breton Miners' Museum also viewed

 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Cape Breton Miners' Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing