We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our visit”

Cape Breton Miners' Museum
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Glace Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Great museum. The tour is very interesting, led by a retired miner. It was eye opening to learn what a tough life it was for the miners. Really enjoyed it. Would have been even better to be there when the Men of the Deeps were performing.

Thank dancemom51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Executive Director at Cape Breton Miners' Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear dancemom51,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Museum with TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your mine tour. It really is the crown jewel of the Museum. Yes the experience would have been even better with a Men of the Deeps concert. They are a very special group of men.

Safe Travels,

Mary Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"retired miner"
in 83 reviews
"coal mining"
in 50 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 44 reviews
"cape breton"
in 73 reviews
"first hand"
in 12 reviews
"above ground"
in 8 reviews
"eye opening"
in 10 reviews
"personal stories"
in 9 reviews
"ocean floor"
in 5 reviews
"hard life"
in 10 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 9 reviews
"hard hats"
in 19 reviews
"nova scotia"
in 27 reviews
"low ceilings"
in 10 reviews
"an eye opener"
in 7 reviews
"company store"
in 21 reviews
"these guys"
in 6 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2018

We went on a mine tour with a former miner and what a great experience! Our 11 year old grandson enjoyed it too as we learned about mining, miners, and the history of coal mining in Cape Breton. We were in the mine just shy of an hour. Definitely would recommend this museum and tour!

Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Executive Director at Cape Breton Miners' Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Leanne B,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of our Museum with TripAdvisor. We are very proud of our history and believe our mine guides tell the story very well. I am pleased too that you mentioned both you and your grandson enjoyed the visit. We try to make the experience fit for all ages and levels of knowledge.

Safe travels,

Mary Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

I could say that the journey from B.C. was worth it for this museum alone ( a little exaggeration, but !! ). We had been to the mine tour in Newfoundland at Belle Isle and this was better because of the museum, the miner's houses, and the wealth of information. Our underground tour guide was a retired miner and was able to give us first hand experiences about how "it really was" to be down in the deep. The tour went into lower and lower roof level galleries and I was really glad that I was not a claustrophobic person. There was so much information to absorb and I hope to come back some day and do this again. Quite an amazing experience .....

Thank BCbikeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Executive Director at Cape Breton Miners' Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear BCbikeGuy,

Thank you so much for your great review. It is really wonderful to hear that you fully enjoyed your experience here. We like to think we are doing our best but it is gratifying to know you were impacted by our story.

You don't know how much your words mean to all of the team here at Cape Breton Miners Museum.

Safe Travels,

Mary Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Spent the morning touring the museum, walking the mine with hard hats et.al. getting a great briefing from the retired miner/ guide...what an experience...learned so much. Spent time on the grounds enjoying the ocean front scenery...a must do visit!!

Thank PatM52807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Executive Director at Cape Breton Miners' Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear PatM52807,

Thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We love sharing our story with visitors so we are very glad when someone let's us know that they learned something new.

I think our coastline view is one of the prettiest on the Island.

Safe travels,

Mary Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018

This was extremely interesting, been there several times, great place for visitors and a wealth of knowledge on how coal was mined then and now, what dangers they had to work under.

Thank daryl-49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Executive Director at Cape Breton Miners' Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear daryl-49,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of our Museum with TripAdvisor. We are very glad you had an interesting and educational experience.

Safe travels,
Mary Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Breton Miners' Museum also viewed

 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Cape Breton Miners' Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing