We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
21
8
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
8
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mississippi river bed and breakfast cemetery tug bluff home tour house plantation desk porch
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Weymouth Hall, listed on the National Historic Register, is one of the most impressive Greek Revival mansions in Natchez and the surrounding area. Sitting atop the highest bluff it offers breathtaking views of the Mississippi River to the West and Natchez City Cemetery to the East. The interior rooms are arranged in an H plan with a large central dining room forming the cross bar of the H. The home consists of three stories with a staircase which runs in a continuous flight from the basement to the clerestory room at the peak of the roof.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank karlawmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

My room is in a very old mansion on a bluff overlooking the river. It's a beautiful spot. Great pool, porches, quiet, nice room for a B&B and breakfast is two miles away at a very pricey old plantation. Rates are really reasonable. Short 2 mile drive to downtown restaurants and shops. I highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank robertaT6608SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Weymouth Hall has a beautiful view of the Mississippi River and the house has potential with some much needed maintenance and common courtesy.

We stayed in the Poolside Room for two nights. The rooms are on the bottom floor and the owner lives upstairs. Be prepared to listen to heavy feet, furniture dragging, dogs barking and voices from the upstairs floor late into the night and early in the morning. It rained while we were there and because the cover over the entire porch leaks like a sieve, we were confined to our room while we were on the property. The exhaust fan in the bathroom does not work, the bathroom door does not close, there is a huge hole on the shower wall where the handle is missing, the tub/shower needed some soap scum removal, the toilet seat is broken, bathroom tiles are broken and the shower drain was clogged. A plunger was already in the bathroom so fixing the drain was easy on our part but shouldn't be our responsibility as a paying guest. The thermostat is located in the dining room so the temperature in the room varied. We went to their local Walmart and purchased a small fan for airflow. The coffee pot is a Keurig and there were various coffee choices but the sugar and creamer selection was like someone took whatever was available on the table at a restaurant instead of purchasing supplies. Large cobwebs were on the windows and random items were cluttered on the porch.

The cleaning service (or lack of) is to blame for part of the problems. There was a dirty towel left from the previous guest. Cleaning the shower should also be their responsibility. I do not know who is responsible for the general maintenance and repairs or reporting needed repairs to the owners but these issues have been neglected for a long time. It is very unlikely that everything became an issue on our weekend there.

The house has great potential but staying here was like visiting someone's house unannounced so they didn't get a chance to prepare for their guests. We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring a small fan and an outlet adapter. Few outlets available and not very accessible.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Review is for the Turning Angel room at Weymouth Hall : A lovely location for a quiet vacation, the residence is finer than depicted in the photographs. Within close driving distance to downtown, area attractions, and historical sites, and the hosts provided recommendations for dining and sightseeing. The views of the river and the sunsets are spectacular and a variety of outdoor seating is available. The air conditioning and the WiFi performed admirably. Two problems encountered were no television reception (four days), which the hosts stated was a ongoing concern of the cable company, and the mattress should be replaced to earn a five star review. But a solid four and a half stars for an enjoyable stay, fine people, and the wonderful location and view.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Loved this place. Stayed at the Weymouth Hall residence. The house is absolutely gorgeous and very well maintained..also, the view is to die for!! We arrived and met Christian, the owner's son, who made us very welcome - it seems southern hospitality is in fact a real thing!! I'm from Australia and have never shot a gun (we have strict gun laws) and Christian was kind enough to offer me a beginners lesson so I could strike it off my bucket list. A great end to our trip in the USA and hope I can return Christian's hospitality in Australia some time. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank troupsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews