We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST VIEWS OF THE BAY! ”
Review of Mountain Home Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mill Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Home Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Mill Valley B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Magical place with incredible location. Comfortable beds and linens. The service is improving and Selvin and Sevriano are exceptional. The housemade potato chips are delicious! The outside deck has incredible views to the East.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We booked one night here because we had our horses staying at the Oceanriders' stable and needed some place near by. It was our misfortune to plan our trip during one of the hottest weekends in recorded history for the Bay Area with temperatures in triple digits. This place has no air conditioning and it appears that most businesses and homes in this area have no air conditioning because it is so rare for the temperatures to get much over 80.

So, it was 103 degrees in our room with no air conditioning. Staff provided us with an electric fan, but as you can imagine, it barely helped. I suffered from mild heat stroke, taking some ibuprofen, a cold shower,and using cold compresses. My husband and I were pretty miserable.

The room was beautiful, with a lovely bed, flat screen TV, a private balcony overlooking the forest. It was quiet and peaceful.

Breakfast is included. Breakfast was served outside on the patio. It was so hot, but it was actually cooler outside than inside, because at least there was a light breeze. By 8 am, temps were already approaching 90 degrees. So imagine sitting outside with no shade umbrella in 90 degree temperatures and trying to enjoy breakfast while recovering from heat stroke.

Some of the heat issue might have been our age because we are seniors and the millennials did not seem to be suffering as much.

You are provided a breakfast menu and may choose between four or five different entrees. My husband had the vegetarian omelette and I had the pancakes. The breakfast was HUGE. His breakfast included breakfast potatoes and toast. My breakfast included fresh fruit and sausage. I overheard several other clients customizing their orders and the wait staff appeared to be extremely accommodating trying to please everyone. I was very impressed with that level of service.

I would like to give this place another try when the area is back to normal temperatures.

Room Tip: All the rooms look to be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadagility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Stayed for the weekend despite some concerns based on the reviews posted on Trip Advisor. My husband and I travel regularly, do not consider ourselves overly fussy about accommodations, and try to appreciate the positive anywhere we go. That said here is a summary of our experience.

PRO: as been said many times, the location of this inn is incredible. Right across the street from several amazing trials on Mt. Tam. We stayed in room 3 which is advertised as the smallest room. We found the room size to be very comfortable. The bathroom was large and the room has a nice sized deck with incredible Bay views. The sunrise and sunset viewing from the bed and deck are awe inspiring. The staff at the inn are the hardest working, nicest, and most committed hospitality staff I've encountered. The place seems understaffed which is easy to understand given that the inn is located a 15 minute windy drive up from Mill Valley. Bed was comfortable with pristine linens. We did sleep really well. The place is quiet and rooms get really dark.

CONS- mountain home inn is not operating to its full potential. The place needs to be updated minimally to replace the very dirty carpeting throughout the inn. I didn't find the place dusty or grimy other than the really disgusting, probably unhealthy carpeting. The restaurant is large with indoor and outdoor seating. The food is average to below average. Given the wealth of high quality ingredients available in Marin this is puzzling. Other than equator coffee there doesn't seem to be much attention to Marin's bountiful food and ag resources. The food is extremely expensive relative to quality. The best part of the restaurant is the views from the deck. This is a place to have a drink and then head down to mill valley for much better dining options.

Bottomline is this place operates as if the owners are tired of running this business but continue to hang on because they're riding on the wave of location, proximity to great trails and amazing views.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cupcakefeb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Once a year we would go hiking up in the Mt. Tamalpais area and we do not want to stay anywhere else but at Mountain Home Inn. It is a boutique inn situate up in the mountain and away from almost everything. The place is quite old but VERY cozy and charming. The staff is exceptional. The dining patio overlook the mountain and valley is breath taking. We always to stay in different room every time, each room has its own unique characters and accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi-Cristien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We had dinner - or tried to have dinner there. The food was terrible and there was chewing gum underneath all of the tables. The bathroom was in terrible condition and the place looks as it has not been dusted in years. My husband ordered a steak and it looked horrible, kids chicken tenders were clearly microwaved from a bag! Never go there again

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lorena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
5.8 km away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
562 reviews
6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
10.3 km away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
901 reviews
11.2 km away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,561 reviews
10.5 km away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Inn

Address: 810 Panoramic Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1765
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Valley
Price Range: €148 - €246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing