We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Battle Creek Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookside Motel(Keystone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Keystone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roosevelt Inn(Keystone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
K Bar S Lodge(Keystone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
216
52
14
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
52
14
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pittammy cinehomemade breakfastblack hillsoutdoor spaceother guestssmall hotelfrench toastcuster state parksouth dakota and wyomingchain hotelsa great place to staypicked this placecute placefresh fruitentire areaevery morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We actually enjoyed our 2 night stay here - although it started off a little frustrating. We felt misled after deciding to stay here based on trip advisor reviews. We were expecting a hot tub and a patio by a creek. Neither of these were true. There was no hot tub which we needed for someone in our party with a bad back. And the creek was across the street and not really a creek.
Beyond that - here are our pros and cons. Cons first: The lobby closes at 8 pm so if you want ice (that's where it is) you can't get it after that time. The TV was difficult to work and had few channels. Obviously the no hot tub was a big con but after seeing how upset we were - the owner called someone at another hotel and got us permission to use their hot tub if we wanted. We really appreciated the effort to accomodate us on that.
For the pros: everyone we dealt with was friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. The breakfasts were quite nice. In fact, on the second morning I mentioned wishing there was still watermelon like the morning before and she went and got me some! The rooms were very clean and it was cute and quaint.
We had the corner room upstairs and although it was somewhat crowded for 4 adults - it was adorable. We were a bit unhappy to have a queen bed and a full bed instead of 2 queens! We did have a wicker couch and chairs outside our room which kinda seemed to be our own private balcony - - it turned out to be nice to relax on late in the evenings.
We did enjoy our stay here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruckusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyominglady, Manager at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Thank you for staying with us! Again, we are sorry about the hot tub being out of service. We are thankful to have a new gas fire pit to take it's place and wish you had the opportunity to enjoy it while you were here. Lastly, although we usually lock the Lobby door between 8-9 p.m. (for safety issues)our guests are welcome to ring the door bell or call us anytime they need anything. It is our goal to take care of our guests to the best of our ability--and we appreciate you and your feedback and will use it where we find it helpful! Thanks for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I have been travelling throught the states on our way to Canada to visit family. We drove from Ontario all the way to B.C. and back. My four kids and I ALL agreed that this was the nicest place we had stayed.
The rooms were very clean, and homey.
My children all sat in the lobby talking with the owner while I checked in with a phonecall to my husband back in Ontario.
The full breakfast was very impressive. We came down to have breakfast and saw the owner in the kitchen,stirring up a batch of batter for the waffle iron...by hand !!. There were a variety of fresh fruits, breads, yogurts, hot and cold cereals.
I told her how impressed we were and that I was going to be back for sure ! Now I just have to book the trip, no kids, just me and hubby this time !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shandicharette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This is basically a small motel but the friendliness of the staff, location and comfortable bed make it a gem worth checking out. It is located in Keystone SD, a great jumping off spot for the various attractions. Mount Rushmore is minutes away. Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park, and numerous little towns are all within a short distance. It is located close enough to the “strip” for walking but removed enough for privacy. We had a king room which had a small bath and two sitting chairs. Each morning breakfast was provide in the lobby – cereals, breads, fruits, hard boiled eggs, and a different “daily special” – waffles, french toast, eggs, sausage, hot bums, etc. It was not fancy but served our purpose – a clean place for a good night’s sleep after a day of sightseeing. The area is so beautiful you don’t want to spend time inside and the Battle Creek Lodge is a good place, at a decent price, for those hours you rest!
Some tips: Rent the audio tour at Mount Rushmore. It is only $5 and provides you a “personal” tour guide sharing great information and history. The Borglum Historical Center in Keystone is a real gem. Custer State Park is beautiful and the bison and burros found along the Wildlife Loop are a must see (you can’t miss them as they’ll come up to your car window to see you!). The Firehouse Brewing Co in Rapid City is a great place for a good beer and good food.

Room Tip: Call and talk with Tammy, mention AAA and AARP.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelkidPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here for one night to visit mount rushmore. The people that run it were very nice to talk to on the phone and very helpful while we were there. We didn't arrive until late at night at the owners had to be somewhere so they called us and left our key taped to the front door with a note on how to reach them if we needed anything. They also went up and turned a light on for us. The room was cute, like a cottage and very clean. The location was easy to find and only a 10 minute drive to Mount Rushmore. Breakfast was your typical continental but there were plenty of options. All in all it was a great value. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 days. The staff were great, very accomodating, friendly and had great breakfast. The rooms were large, lots of room for extra stuff. The sheets were clean and bed was comfortable. It is close to the 'strip' and restaurants. The only complaint is that there are no side walks to walk on but that isn't the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews