We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality at a Great Price”
Review of Battle Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Battle Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Clemmons NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality at a Great Price”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The Lodge was perfect for our hiking vacation in the Black Hills of South Dakota. The extra-continental breakfast was tasty, the rooms comfortable and clean, the convenient location to Mt. Rushmore, the Black Hills, and Custer State Park, and above all, the innkeeper, Tammy's hospitality, made for a very enjoyable stay. If we return to the area, this is where we plan to stay. Thank you Tammy!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    46
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
102
108
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We actually enjoyed our 2 night stay here - although it started off a little frustrating. We felt misled after deciding to stay here based on trip advisor reviews. We were expecting a hot tub and a patio by a creek. Neither of these were true. There was no hot tub which we needed for someone in our party with a bad back. And the creek was across the street and not really a creek.
Beyond that - here are our pros and cons. Cons first: The lobby closes at 8 pm so if you want ice (that's where it is) you can't get it after that time. The TV was difficult to work and had few channels. Obviously the no hot tub was a big con but after seeing how upset we were - the owner called someone at another hotel and got us permission to use their hot tub if we wanted. We really appreciated the effort to accomodate us on that.
For the pros: everyone we dealt with was friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. The breakfasts were quite nice. In fact, on the second morning I mentioned wishing there was still watermelon like the morning before and she went and got me some! The rooms were very clean and it was cute and quaint.
We had the corner room upstairs and although it was somewhat crowded for 4 adults - it was adorable. We were a bit unhappy to have a queen bed and a full bed instead of 2 queens! We did have a wicker couch and chairs outside our room which kinda seemed to be our own private balcony - - it turned out to be nice to relax on late in the evenings.
We did enjoy our stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruckusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyominglady, Manager at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you for staying with us! Again, we are sorry about the hot tub being out of service. We are thankful to have a new gas fire pit to take it's place and wish you had the opportunity to enjoy it while you were here. Lastly, although we usually lock the Lobby door between 8-9 p.m. (for safety issues)our guests are welcome to ring the door bell or call us anytime they need anything. It is our goal to take care of our guests to the best of our ability--and we appreciate you and your feedback and will use it where we find it helpful! Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I have been travelling throught the states on our way to Canada to visit family. We drove from Ontario all the way to B.C. and back. My four kids and I ALL agreed that this was the nicest place we had stayed.
The rooms were very clean, and homey.
My children all sat in the lobby talking with the owner while I checked in with a phonecall to my husband back in Ontario.
The full breakfast was very impressive. We came down to have breakfast and saw the owner in the kitchen,stirring up a batch of batter for the waffle iron...by hand !!. There were a variety of fresh fruits, breads, yogurts, hot and cold cereals.
I told her how impressed we were and that I was going to be back for sure ! Now I just have to book the trip, no kids, just me and hubby this time !!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shandicharette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City Ut
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This is basically a small motel but the friendliness of the staff, location and comfortable bed make it a gem worth checking out. It is located in Keystone SD, a great jumping off spot for the various attractions. Mount Rushmore is minutes away. Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park, and numerous little towns are all within a short distance. It is located close enough to the “strip” for walking but removed enough for privacy. We had a king room which had a small bath and two sitting chairs. Each morning breakfast was provide in the lobby – cereals, breads, fruits, hard boiled eggs, and a different “daily special” – waffles, french toast, eggs, sausage, hot bums, etc. It was not fancy but served our purpose – a clean place for a good night’s sleep after a day of sightseeing. The area is so beautiful you don’t want to spend time inside and the Battle Creek Lodge is a good place, at a decent price, for those hours you rest!
Some tips: Rent the audio tour at Mount Rushmore. It is only $5 and provides you a “personal” tour guide sharing great information and history. The Borglum Historical Center in Keystone is a real gem. Custer State Park is beautiful and the bison and burros found along the Wildlife Loop are a must see (you can’t miss them as they’ll come up to your car window to see you!). The Firehouse Brewing Co in Rapid City is a great place for a good beer and good food.

Room Tip: Call and talk with Tammy, mention AAA and AARP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkidPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here for one night to visit mount rushmore. The people that run it were very nice to talk to on the phone and very helpful while we were there. We didn't arrive until late at night at the owners had to be somewhere so they called us and left our key taped to the front door with a note on how to reach them if we needed anything. They also went up and turned a light on for us. The room was cute, like a cottage and very clean. The location was easy to find and only a 10 minute drive to Mount Rushmore. Breakfast was your typical continental but there were plenty of options. All in all it was a great value. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.8 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.8 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
39 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
1.1 km away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
908 reviews
0.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battle Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battle Creek Lodge

Property: Battle Creek Lodge
Address: 404 Reed St, Keystone, SD 57751-4101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battle Creek Lodge is a quaint Lodge located just minutes away from Mt Rushmore, in the beautiful and Historic Keystone South Dakota. Just blocks away from the Keystone "strip"' Battle Creek provides you the benefit of being within walking distance to all of the local attractions, restaurants, and bars- without the noise and chaos to keep you awake at night. A gas fire pit to enjoy on the cool evenings and a Breakfast that will jump start your vacation though the hills are just a few of the things Battle Creek has to offer. Owned and operated by locals, you are sure to get an insiders guide on what to see and do during your stay, by people who REALLY care about your vacation and are committed to making your time in the Black Hills enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Battle Creek Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing