We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience and no waiting”

Rush Mountain Adventure Park
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Rush Mountain Adventure Park, you will find fun on all levels! Rush Mountain is the home of famous Rushmore Cave. Come and explore the stalactite-filled caverns of this amazing natural wonder on a fun and educational cave tour. Spend the day enjoying great amusement rides. You can soar through the sky on the Soaring Eagle Zipline Ride or try your skill at the Gunslinger 7-D Interactive Ride. Feel the rush as speed down the hill on the area's only coaster, the Rushmore Mountain Coaster. You are sure to have a great time, full of affordable family fun. It's a total must-do attraction for anyone coming to the Black Hills. Cave and attractions are open daily May-October and weekends in March and April. Check website for hours and admission prices.
Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great experience and no waiting”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

During our last visit to the Black Hills I wanted to show my wife one of the caves. We stopped at Wind Cave and found there was an hour and a half wait for the next cave tour and it was one that lasted two hours. We didn't want to invest 3 and a half hours so we drove on. After spending the night in Custer we then tried Jewel Cave (another National Monument) early the next morning only to find we had to make a reservation for the afternoon so we left again. Later that day we stopped at Rushmore Cave near Keystone. This is a privately owned cave but still under strict federal control. We waited 15 minutes for an hour long tour led by an enthusiastic young guide and had a wonderful time. There's a nice gift shop and also a zip line that's a lot of fun. Most of the crowd had children with them who seemed to also be enjoying themselves. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    116
    49
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Refeshing and educational”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I was fortunate to get an off-season tour from "Carter," one of the cave experts who loves caving so much he even got married there! It wasn't too crowded so we could "rush less" (sorry). This cave is long and has a huge variety of narrow passages and wider areas and the famous "big room." We got both the scientific explanation and the sociological explanation about how people's attitudes toward caves and conservation have changed over time. Carter made comparisons to other Black Hills caves also. Even if you think you are not interested in caves, this is a cool and refreshing break, and you can skip your daily Stairmaster since there's lots of stairs. If there is one thing I would change in the cave it would be to nix the garbage cans. All in all though, it's a nice way to spend the afternoon.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An interesting tourist site on a blistering hot day”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Rushmore Caves gave us a unique experience of seeing geology beneath the grounds we walk on. It's amazing the caverns that are located here and that it goes on & on. It also was a nice break from the heat of the day -- going from 104 outside to mid-50's in the cave was a pleasant relief.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank RalTar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
314 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Not a good value and abrupt, annoying tour guide”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The tour guide ruined our visit here. She didn't want to answer questions and seemed visibly annoyed when a question was asked. If you want to see a cave while in the Black Hills area, I highly recommend driving the extra distance south to Wind Cave National Park. Much better value and they actually like to teach their customers.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 2462skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keystone, South Dakota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fun and value!”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Again, as a local...this is one of my top choices as fas as tourist attractions in the area. It is a very well maintained, staffed, and thought out tour. From the moment you are on the grounds, you can tell these people care about you and their business! The tour guides are great and do a fantastic job at meeting you at your skill level. The Zip Ride is a great value! I think many people are expecting a zip line, which it is not....but for a fun, fast, thrill at the end of the tour for a very small amount of money..it is well worth it!

Helpful?
2 Thank TammyInKeystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rush Mountain Adventure Park also viewed

 

Been to Rush Mountain Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing