We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gardeners Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Shipton under Wychwood, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellafran...
San Rafael, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage!”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We just wrapped up a 4 week stay at Gardner's Cottage. We are a family of 6, including four kids ages 10 - 15. It was our first trip to England from the US and we absolutely loved it. The cottage was beautiful, clean, spacious, and the garden was huge and perfect for our kids to enjoy playing outside. It was close to the Wychwood Gardens, where my son loved to walk to and feed the ducks in the evening. We were a five minute drive to the co-op grocery store in Milton, a 5 minute walk to the Wychwood Inn, which has a great pub and Sunday roast. There are also two great parks for kids - one in Milton and one in Shipton - where we spent many evenings with the kids. (We have all concluded that England has the best kid's playgrounds!) The cottage is a 10 minute drive to Charlbury train station, which offered easy connections to Oxford and further connections for exploring England by train. We explored many of the beautiful Cotswold towns, also venturing as far as Brighton, Windsor, and Harry Potter Warner Brothers in Watford by train. We drove easily to the Cotswold Farm Park (highly recommend!), and Stratford upon Avon (another easy drive). The cottage served as a great base for exploring the beautiful countryside - poppy and lavendar fields in bloom were bonuses. The washer/dryer was invaluable for us, since we packed light but stayed for four weeks. The kitchen was well stocked and excellent for preparing meals when we chose to eat in. Overall, I could not have asked for better accommodations for our first trip to England. The owner was very helpful with any questions I had, including traveling to different areas of England and how feasible the trips we wanted to do were. Jigsaw properties helped me figure out my dilemma of having to return my car a day early, but also arrange transport to the airport (Chipping Norton Taxi service was an excellent recommendation - fair price and great owner). In addition, the wifi worked well and was invaluable for my husband being able to work remotely while there, and also for my kids to be able to use their iphones and laptops. Overall, such a great experience - we hope to be able to do it again next year! We highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
1 review
“A most beautiful cottage in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

There are no negative things to say about this cottage. Perfect for a family of five and with two sitting rooms it had the benefit of catering for different tastes on the tv or reading, etc. Easy to locate and very central for many towns/cities. Rent and enjoy!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jevonsp
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“An extremely well-equipped cottage that fully lived up to it's spec.”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We found the kitchen to be extremely well-equipped, there were games and books, x-box with games and books to read. We didn't have need to light the log-burner but it would have been very warm and cosy when the weather was not good. There was a good size garden and outdoor furniture and very comfortable beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, there was plenty of seating and room to move around
Liked least: The stairs were quite steep and no downstairs toilet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$230
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing