We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Peaceful and unspolit”

Porthgwarra Cove Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in St Levan
Certificate of Excellence
Description: The Café serves a selection of refreshments including fresh pasties, traditional cream teas, ice cream, cold drinks, coffee and tea, and delicious cakes baked on the premises.
Restaurant details
Description: The Café serves a selection of refreshments including fresh pasties, traditional cream teas, ice cream, cold drinks, coffee and tea, and delicious cakes baked on the premises.
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Famous from the Poldark series and one of regular used scenes. Having visited it I can see why it is so ideal. There is a small step approach down to the beach which had incredible sand and big cliffs that look like the have been built by giants with big boulders.
There is a lovely café just down from the small car park which provided excellent refreshments.
This is one of those few locations when you find a little corner on the beach and just sit in the sand or on a boulder and watch time pass by as you dream away the day. It is certainly off the beaten track but if you have the time a feel like laving the world behind you give it a go.
Very narrow lanes with passing places, take care when driving there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin6117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry B, Manager at Porthgwarra Cove Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

What lovely comments about this little Cove. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We all feel so lucky to work in such a magical place.
I do hope we see you again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

My brother-in-law and I walked from Penzance to Lands End recently through a number of really interesting coves. Porthgwarra is about 2/3rd along the route and was a very welcome stopping point. The café was friendly and served a nice cup of tea and very nice cake. Couldn't have been better.

Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry B, Manager at Porthgwarra Cove Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Porthgwarra Cove is great pit stop for people enjoying the coastal walks.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

No better location. Perfect. Big pot of tea, decent pasties and cream teas, home made cakes. What Cornwall is all about. Parking close by in fact you pay for the parking in the cafe. Beautiful outside seating. Ideal for dogs, children & a break from walking the coast path. You may even see Poldark! The lane down to Porthgwarra will test your driving! Very narrow.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charminsharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry B, Manager at Porthgwarra Cove Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

What a brilliant review thank you so much.
Porthgwarra is a very special place we are so lucky to work here.
The lane can be challenging but so worth the drive.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Nice little cafe, outside seating only, but in a lovely enclosed gardrn area. Great views. We had cream teas,excellent. Limited menu as very small. Friendly staff. Even sold us bottles of water after the 1600 closing time. Nice touch.

Thank 732MichaelW732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry B, Manager at Porthgwarra Cove Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
So pleased you enjoyed your cream teas in our garden.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

fantastic location, ring the bell for attention and on a sunny day sit out in the lovely garden full of picnic tables.... it's just one of the loveliest, quirkiest cafes we've been to.

Unfortunately the day we were walking that stretch of the coastal path it was raining.... not a sitting outside having tea and cake day at all - so we bought hot, delicious pasties and carried on stomping with warm hands and warm bellies.

Thanks for being there Porthgwarra cafe.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eclecticchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry B, Manager at Porthgwarra Cove Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments.
The sun did come out late afternoon after a very wet start to the day.
Hope to see you again soon hopefully the weather will be better for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porthgwarra Cove Cafe also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
Sennen Cove, Cornwall
 

Been to Porthgwarra Cove Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing